Weekly Halaqa on GS - Good idea or?

I dont know if this already takes place on GS or not.

The idea is the following.

A person is chosen to go the week of September 8 - 12 (Mon - Fri). They can choose to either write down their speech, or offer as an audio or video file. If its written, to keep it more interesting and readable, they can post short paragraphs each day of the week. I’ve noticed people arent too keen on long paragraphs. If its audio, they can choose either to put it at the beginning of the week or whenever in the week, as long as its put there for that week.

The title of the threads can be something like: Halaqa for week of Sept. 8 to 12 Part 1…etc…

How do we choose people? Based on whomever signs up. If nobody signs up, someone who has done it before can do it again. Otherwise it will be people who havent ever done it that get first try.

Okay so like is this a bad idea or will anyone even be willing to participate? If you will be, leave a comment.

The topic can be on anything relevent to a greater understanding of Islam. Everyone has different writing styles, so that wont matter as long as no vulgarity is used. Then people can leave comments and have a discussion on the topic or they dont have to.

It will be cool if people can quote sources when giving hadith or even if no specific hadith book is given as a source, a book that the hadith was quoted from should be given. So people can know the source.

What do you guppies think?

I will post this in my blog too.

Re: Weekly Halaqa on GS - Good idea or?

nice...i am up for it.

but ppl dont praise us guppies...cuz we are not perfect (Alim-Imam).

like people paise Alim/Imaam :hehe:

^ yes chachu...ppl take the words of Alim-Imam as pather per lakeer...khud to koe research ya diagnose kerta he nahi hai.

we all are slackers...bus muft main info mill jayea!

Mufti stands for the one who gives information in muft :konfused:

Okay so zobia is in, what about you TLK? grin

To address the question posted in my blog:

I think most people on GS will call themselves sunni for example. Plus, religion forum already has so many schools of thoughts posting other types of threads. The reason for putting the references is so people can have some idea of the source or madhab. And if people want, they can state if they are of a certain madhab, or whatever. It's upto the person posting. The point is, we already get so much info from a variety of madhabs/views/paths.

Inshallah Munni :)

Yay, we have four people so far. Me, zobia, Niksik and TLK. Insha'Allah. Anyone else? And who wants to go for the week of Sept. 8 thru 12th?

We used to have actual chat halaqas, but it gets hectic due to people's schedule and timing differences.

I can participate for Sept 8-12. Inshallah. I just dont want to impose anything beyond my own level of Imaan, and I am definitely not a scholar, but If its something short and would allow us to rekindle our Imaan, I'll do something then InshAllah.

Cool, so we have 5 people so far to cover 5 weeks and I think atleast one more is willing as well. This will cover the entire month of Ramadan and maybe more people will volunteer once it starts. And yeah, this wont lead to time constraints since its simply posted and nobody has to be on at the same time. And yeah, I'm not a scholar either but we will use references for what we say so insha'Allah it will be of benefit.

Anyone else want to participate? Just PM me or leave a msg here.

nice effort , keep it up
i'm quiet busy otherwise would've participated ( next time inshallah)