Weekend special ..

In many desi households , they have a family special dish that they always make on the weekend .. like for example biryani … or carrot halwa etc ..

Do you have any such tradition in your family? or would you like to have one?

Re: Weekend special ..

we cook on the weekends and that's special because rest of the week is leftovers and take out!

In pakistan, it used to be biryani on Friday!!! sighhhh

It used to be something like , poola-o biryani sheermaal and qorma , nihari back home. Not anymore , we eat out over the weekends sometime which is special for family.

we have lunch together...and thats our tradition and we usually have decent meal...especially on sunday :)

well at my parents when we were all together and unmarried , it used to be rice and mutton with gravy plus raita at lunch .ohh i miss that and that tasted so good , cant get that taste anymore. we used to have lunch right after my father comes back from jumah prayer.

Ohhh yeah when I was with my parents , we used to have halwa poori every friday … waaah what a taste it was :hayaa:

Ohhh…CB…kiya yaad dilaadiya!!.That was brekkie on Sundays in the summer and parathas in the winter…:smiley:

The kids love haleem,so I tend to make that on Sundays…hmmm,not today tho’,we are having pulao and raita.

pulao and raita

:@: ... I love the weekend special tradition in families .. it really does leave some cherished memories later in time ...

My dad often makes either nihari, baked chicken with mushrooms, or chicken biryani on the weekends.

Saturday morning breakfasts are made at home

Sunday we do brunch outside somewhere

for all those missing the homeland....we have halwa puri or paratha at weekends,alhumdolilah!:)

But my homeland is england so i,m missing fish n chips and the upcoming christmas festivities..:(

so for all you guppies in western hemisphere...remember some guppies in eastern hemisphere are away from home too...

But all guppies....maa kay haath ka khana....waa!

Pilau rice, aloo tikkis and daal. That's my sunday dinner. Now we have a little one Inshallah we'll concentrate more on weekend dinners and make more of an effort.

In the week-ends: Hava khao aur jaan banao... :D

We dont have a specific dish, but usually on weekend, the dinner is a complete feast meal :p

Sunday morning parathay - aloo or gobi or methi or mooli. Today was aloo.

^ yummmmm thats like a proper start to a weekend :lifey: