Weeding Out

Being a student trying to get my feet into something long term is pretty hard these days. Applying to positions which I know, I’m qualified for day to day going through countless websites, walk-ins and telephones.

There is dignity in what I do now but with aspirations, I have higher goals which I want to reach and am able.

Its driving me to insanity deriving theories which could possibly be true.

They won’t let us
They’re avoiding us
Equal oppurtunity is out the window
They’re discriminating
They’re going to drive us to the streets
We’ll be thrown to the level of stealing in the time of poverty
Ya Allah whats happening . . .

Is there any hope?

Re: Weeding Out

*Originally posted by CocoNut: *
Being a student trying to get my feet into something long term is pretty hard these days. Applying to positions which I know, I'm qualified for day to day going through countless websites, walk-ins and telephones.

There is dignity in what I do now but with aspirations, I have higher goals which I want to reach and am able.

Its driving me to insanity deriving theories which could possibly be true.

They won't let us
They're avoiding us
Equal oppurtunity is out the window
They're discriminating
They're going to drive us to the streets
We'll be thrown to the level of stealing in the time of poverty
Ya Allah whats happening . . .

Is there any hope?

Dont worry brother.. just pray and have faith in God.. Its Allah who gives Rizk.. not them... just pray and have faith

coconut, job market is messed up unlike anything i have ever seen. although it is showing signs of improvment its pretty bad. and some of us who are used to the glory days of late 90's..they will never come back..

the jobs that are being filled are being filled through internal recommendations more and more. Nteworking is the once single best way to get your foot in the door. unless you have some vey specific skills which the employer just cant find they have a huge selection of candidates to pick from.

Let me give you 2 examples. back in the 99 when i was looking for a job i posted my resume on th enet and my email and voicemail was packed with msgs from top companies spaient, scient, viant, Cap geini, accenture, KPMG, IBM, Andersen, Perot. U name it..last year.. nothing. the companies that showed interest..were not offering what i was looking for. I applied for a position at a former client company, no response..I decided to write a targetted cover letter explaing my work there as a cnsultant and with some of their leadership. Not only did I not get the call back, but for an unadvertised position which was at a higher level. other major companies like Abbott and baxter, i talked to a former boss who had contacts there..the same companies which had not responded to my resume, once i got to their execs, there were multiple grous and multiple openings I could fit in.

My brother, a fresh graduate with a masters..6 months with no luck..sending resumes, calling places etc etc. went to a conference met teh CEO of one company schmoozed with him, CEO knew my bros academic advisors, they out in a good word. same time another rpof of him recommends him to another company. the seciond company interviews him wants him to come in for a final interview and were going to fly him in. My bro called company A, told the HR, hey I knew I said i can fly for an interview anytime, but next week mon-wed I wont be available since i am flying for an interview on those dates, they asked which compnay is he interviewing with, he told them. a few hours later HR from company A calls him back with a job offer.

start talking, friends, family, professors, commuinity members..I dont think my network is as strong as it can be, but it has helped me and as time goes by i see the importance of maintainign a good network even more.

thanks for the great advice Mr fraudia....these kind of personal experiences help us a lot.

Fraudia - Does your network build on a desi or american network? Is one better then the other?

Coconut, here is a news story that may explain what is going on, basically after a workers market in late 90’s, the best boom of our lifetime, now its an employers market because supply of candidates exceeds the demand.

long article so i took out some key sentences for you to read here

The American economy has fallen into its worst hiring slump in almost 20 years, and many business executives say they remain unsure when it will end.

In December, the number of help-wanted advertisements in newspapers across the country fell to the lowest level in almost 40 years, according to the Conference Board (news - web sites), a research group in New York.

The labor market began this recession tighter than it had been in 30 years, with the unemployment rate falling below 4 percent in late 2000. Even at 6 percent its level in December, the most recent reading the jobless rate remains lower than it was during the aftermath of most recent recessions.

But companies’ reluctance to hire is causing pain in ways that the jobless rate does not measure.

An unusually large number of today’s unemployed have been out of work for months,.

“I went out and pounded the pavement faithfully,” said Theresa H. Washington, who lost her $60,000-a-year electrician’s job more than a year ago at a Cleveland steel mill closed by the LTV Corporation. “I did the whole nine yards in terms of looking for work, and I never had an interview.”

“There is no job market right now,” Ms. Washington, 47, added. She estimated that she had applied to more than 50 companies.

Qualcomm Inc., the technology company based in San Diego, receives 200 resumés a day, up almost 25 percent from a year ago, and the applicants are generally more qualified than in the past, said Daniel Sullivan, executive vice president for human resources.

hmcq

really depends, the most help i received was from two american colleagues, one a former boss who put me in touch with C level execs at abbott and baxter last year, and the other was a colleague who got me in touch with senior managers and principals from companies like sapient, Scient, CGEY etc a few years back. right after that the most help I got was from 2 Desi contacts at IBM and another guy at KPMG who landed me interviews at their companies.

aside from job search, but from a knowledge sharing and all perspective both groups have been stellar.

Kami bro: well and thoroghly explained! My sentiments exactly. Last year was one of the brutal ones ever in my life. After graduating last year in applied information and management, I couldn't land a fulltime job. The market is saturated with talent from the recent layoffs in the hitech sector, and companies have a lot of choices scooping the best of the best. However, I am determined to fight on. The time I invested heavily in learning new technologies and tools are now beginning to payoff in one way or another, and this year has started on a more positive note. I believe one of the factors is determination, that no matter what happens, you will work in the field you feel passionate about, and by doing such, I took some gambles and risks, although, I managed to get by as a free-lance web developer.

I have always believed that people will require solutions to the problems no matter how gloomy is the economic outlook. First, there was one project at a time- enabled me to gain value added experience and in a sense paid me for learning. and now it's to the point where I have to code three different projects at a time, and I have been pulling like sixteen - seventeen hours days. Feeling of contentment definitely that I am getting to meet more people in the industry; working with some cutting age technologies which will be required in the next generation of internet applications; and just paying for livelihood from what I really dig doing. From the mid of this month, inshallah we'll be moving into our new downtown office. Feeling of gratitude; that no matter how tough it has been, it's becoming better week by week. If there were no companies willing to hire me, I just kept at it. It's a sweet feeling.

outlaw it is good to hear a positive outcome after some trials. Its harder for ppl in their early 20's who have really only seen the job market bonanza of the late 90's. Back in early-mid nineties the job market had tanked if you remember, so those of us who are older remember that as well.

coconut, there are so many guppies here, part of the reason for career section was to allow people to network. There are some good people here who will help you out. Dont look at networking as a one shot activity in order to get a job, keep the network alive, stay in touch with the contacts.

as a matter of fact, i just paused in the middle of this post and shot out an email to a former boss just saying hello and asking him to meet up for lunch. Today I am introducing 2 of my former managers to each other, since they introduce me to their contacts, i am doing the same, thats kinda how it works.

back when i was in b-school, the MBA association was designing a t-shirt.
my entry said

"you are networking or not working" its not quite that extreme out there, but close nuff.

I have to agree with Fraudia.. with my personal experience and many of my friends in these tight days as far as jobs are concerned personal networking is the leading job getter.. last year i was looking forward for ajob in a big telecommunications company thru networking.. I almost got a job but as the job was pure programming one I referred it to another friends of mine who got it.. We Pakistanis are always shy of building effective networks..

coconut let me know if i can help, enlist others here, Faisal is a good resource so are ppl like Ghalib (missing in action), hmcq and degas.

I can tell you of one company that is hiring right now. Bank One, hiring ppl in chicago as well as columbus. look it up.

An in case any one needed a shot in the arm, the employment numbers came out yesterday and show improvement. lets hope that continues. Though it does make me wonder how many of those are reservists?

Thank you guys and Fraudia sahib. I'll keep y'all updated. I'm currently working on a few prospects right now. Hmm... career centre sounds all too familiar but networking how could that work starting from scratch?

How could network start from scratch..

see you are not starting from scratch, u know ppl who know ppl, professors, friends, family friends, alumni association events, diff associations and clubs on campus, diff special interest groups in the city.
There may be alumni who have volunteered to serve as mentors, how about your seniors who have recently graduated and you are in touch with them, or can get in touch with them.

even gupsters here, plenty of ppl in your field. dont ask for jobs, ask for advise, insights, tell them to keep u in mind when they find out about opportunities in their industry etc etc. that will lead to job opportunities.