wedding Vs. marriage

I saw “love, wedding and Marriage” and it was basically about a couple falling in love, having a wedding and then treading through their new marriage. Weddings and marriages are obviously not the same thing but in the recent years, couples are consumed by putting the perfect wedding together. They go through great lengths to have the wedding of their dreams and also in the recent years, the divorce rate has gone up. Do you think people, I won’t say just women put more effort into their wedding than they would in their marriage. I do notice that couples are ready to throw in the towel at the first obstacle that comes their way. I do think that people put more effort in creating the perfect wedding and going to great lengths to show their guest a great time but they don’t put in that much effort in a marriage. The most ridiculous reason i heard a girl got a divorce was because her husband wasn’t demanding enough. Unless, one of the partner in the marriage is abusive or can’t stand up to the abuse that their spouse is suffering from at the hands of their in-laws, no one should try to break KIM K’s marriage’s record. It is sacred and insanely difficult and it deserves a fair shot at being fought for harder than a centerpiece. Thoughts?

p.s I don’t know if this belongs in wedding or life :slight_smile:

Re: wedding Vs. marriage

^It belongs in the Cafe forum....since marriages are not taken seriously these days.

wedding = chaar din ki chaandni
marriage= phir andheri raat

I think it all started when Wedding Forum was introduced. I knew it was going to end the world, I did!

I cant agree with the OP more. People seem to plan their wedding with more passion than they plan their marriage.

If we're talking about Muslims, then yes, it's a shame. We have the best examples in the life of the Prophet SAW and his marriages. Alhamdulillah.

But, really, what do you expect when you spend few lakhs on a wedding that's filled with all the haram things, like music, dancing, wasting food, wasting money, guys and girls freely interacting with each other, people missing their fard prayers, imitating hinduism and other religions, etc.

We start a new life with this much disobedience to Allah, and then you want a successful marriage. Instead of having a simple Sunnah wedding that has blessing of Allah, we earn the anger of Allah on the first day. Allah ki laanat aye gi aisi weddings may.

As for the marriage it self, people seem to have a dreamy, Bollywood-ish, idea of marriage. "And they lived happily ever after..." Actually, real life begins after marriage. Many of us are so deluded that we give up over little things. Instead of trying to fix the marriage, it's divorce!

If only we started following the example of the Prophet SAW our lives as a whole, not just marriage, would be a million times better. Everything begins with obedience to Allah and it goes on from there. Islam is a way of life, so if you discard that, then inevitably you're going to fail.

May Allah guide us all.

Ab yehi tou ek khusi ka waqt hai na...

Look at the ads, dramas, movies.. most of them surround the wedding ceremony.

Brother, our happiness is in making Allah happy.

How can we be happy by disobeying Allah and His Rasul SAW?

Wow...seriously?

I pray none of you ever go through a tough time in your marriage or get divorced--marital discord doesn't really discriminate between those who had lavish or simple weddings.

Might not seem like to us, but when you start a new life by piling up on sins, then what can you expect?

But, khair, my post was geared towards Muslims, I'm sure they'd understand.

Okay yea you're the only good Muslim left.....rest of us are kafirs.

Not sure why you're getting offended. You said you were agnostic, right?

Every time I bring up Islam, it seems someone get's ticked off. And, we're all Muslims (almost), too...

Nope I never said I was agnostic...u must have me mistaken for someone else.

oh. =/ Sorry. Forgive me, InshaAllah.

Kaaf, the older I get...the more I feel that judgement is so complex that it's best left to Allah. Yes, He has given us the Quran and we have the sunnah and the ahadith....yes some rules are very clear-cut. But Allah alone knows what is in our hearts....and so we can't really decide who is "almost" a Muslim...or a "complete" Muslim. We can't speak for everyone....we do not have that level of insight. Word choice is important in guidance....it can make the difference between inspiring someone, encouraging reflection, or turning them off.

By almost I meant some people are non-Muslims on here (I definitely read someone said they were agnostic).

I didn't mean some Muslims are almost Muslim.

Okay. Thanks for clearing up that up. My apologies.

I was being sarcastic. But that's ok. :)

Kaaf, the older I get...the more I feel that judgement is so complex that it's best left to Allah. Yes, He has given us the Quran and we have the sunnah and the ahadith....yes some rules are very clear-cut. But Allah alone knows what is in our hearts....and so we can't really decide who is "almost" a Muslim...or a "complete" Muslim. We can't speak for everyone....we do not have that level of insight. Word choice is important in guidance....it can make the difference between inspiring someone, encouraging reflection, or turning them off.

I couldn't agree more!! I think sometimes muslims judge others harder than Allah would when it cones to fulfilling our religious duties.

↑That was just a misunderstanding...=/