I live in the US and my wife lives in Islamabad (for now). We were married but didn’t have time to do the Mehndi and Walima. We will do these when I return in December. Her parent’s home is not spacious enough for a Mehndi of about 35 people and her sisters live out of the country.
My question is: does anyone have a suggestion for an alternative space for a casual Mehndi, such as at a hotel specifically for a Mehndi for about 35 people?
In other words, something more casual and more like a living room with either sofas or pillows on the floor rather than renting a small empty ballroom. Are there places in Islamabad that have something like “Walimah” rooms? Or might it be better to hire those people who set up tents?
I think if you book any of the small halls at a hotel for either mehndi or Walimah...and hire some decorators....like Hanif rajput...they will take care of the decor and food however u like....
Thanks. But what I am wondering is if there are spaces in Islamabad that are alternative to basically bare hotel halls and more like iving rooms with either sofas or pillows for about 35 people? I wonder if there is something more like living rooms that you can rent?
^^ what u want might require a grand search cuz i have neve heard of such places but if u can get a large room on rent hanif rajput can setup sofas n pillows etc n other thing is i dun think hotels let u have a mehendi function for just 35 ppl thts my guess cuz we were having problem getting a hall for less then 100 ppl as the hotel was charging extra money fer ppl less then 35
Thanks. If these rental companies can provide some type of seating arrangement like rugs and pillows and possibly catering, then I think we can have a nice mehndi in a tent. That sounds like a good idea. I will contact Hanif Rajput and see what they can provide. Thanks stylobabe.
Know anyone who got married in Islamabad club or in Naval/Air force mess?
How about at the new hotel in pir sohawa?
If so, do you have any idea on costs? Which place is nicer? Do you have to have your own catering for all of these?
i got married at margalla hotel and it was really nice and food was also good...i also told them i am from us and hate spicy food so they gave me pasta chicken and stuff like that...they were flexible and hall was nice.
Hey, there’s also the Serena hotel in Islamabad and theres a Marriot…i’m sure they both have halls. umm I dont think you’d want to go to pirsawawa because its prettyyyy high up =)…theres also Miraj wedding hall..there was a garden but i forgot it’s name u can google it i guess. good luck
i like margalla over the serena and marriott both were overrpriced i though and margalla was just as nice. food was good i think although i didnt get to eat w. people! but i think people liked it. i ate the food from the buffet (more teh american food and it was delicious!) they had soups, pasta, chicken roast, roasted potatoes anything ud get in arestaurant here. go before ur wedding and ask the manager if u can try the food before we had the entire lunch buffet for free cuz i told htem i was really scared about getting sick and eating spicy food and i didnt trust it till i tried it cuz i was coming from america....do thatn and ull get a free taste!
You are most welcome–just let me know when is the hall etc required.
Since I will not encourage you to provide your contact nos..neither will I
provide Aqib’s the best recourse here is that you or someone male from your family contacts Aqib at MARGALLA with my reference (Raju Jamil-Karachi)…
and I will contact him tonite on his cell and request him to assist.
I am sure this forum’s policy is not to provide personal email addresses or cell
phone numbers–which should be respected…by us all.
You are most welcome--just let me know when is the hall etc required.
Since I will not encourage you to provide your contact nos..neither will I
provide Aqib's the best recourse here is that you or someone male from your family contacts Aqib at MARGALLA with my reference (Raju Jamil-Karachi)....
and I will contact him tonite on his cell and request him to assist.
I am sure this forum's policy is not to provide personal email addresses or cell
phone numbers--which should be respected...by us all.
Khush Rahein........
-Raju Uncle
thats really sweet uncle, will definately get in touch with u for this purpose :D
i got married at margalla hotel and it was really nice and food was also good...i also told them i am from us and hate spicy food so they gave me pasta chicken and stuff like that...they were flexible and hall was nice.
if u dont mind queenbee, i wana know about the parlour u choose for ur wedding in islamabad. and how much they charge u.:)
Sheal...my bhabi runs a parlor at Islamabad. It's at F-10 by the name of "LOOKS" you can contact her with my reference. There'll be an appreciable discount besides good work.
great Raju uncle ap to pooray islamabad main chay hoay hain :)
vaisay abhi to mujhay zaroorat nahi hai just for information i was asking .....:) kabhi hoi inshallah to ap ko PM ker doon gi :)
Most welcome bachhay...any time.
BTW Islamabad is 2nd home to me as my younger brother--an Archietect nd my first cousin (phoppizaad) live in Islamabad and officially I visit the Capital at least twice amonth.
I have attended over 10 weddings/ valimas at Margalla and although the location is excellent, the facilities are poor in comparison to Serena/ Mariott/ Pearl/ Holiday Inn/ Best Western. Margalla is also not known for its food.
There BBQ is dry, Tikkay become rubber after 5 minutes and seekh kebabs are also very dry and hard. Salads are pathetic. There salans are too watery.
Here is my rating venue wise
Serena
Marriott
PC
Holiday Inn
Best Western
Food wise
Mariott
PC
Holiday Inn
Serena
Blue Lagoon