Wedding traditions in South East Asia

Re: Wedding traditions in South East Asia

Do they still have that tradition of Kaal Ratri, where the couple is kept apart for some days before Suhaag Raat :smiley: Just knew that through Prerna-Anuraag story :hehe:

Benazir ka muqaddar phoota :frowning: She was not ready to marry him in first instance.. I don’t know whether they followed this Laon rasm in Benazir’s wedding. Will have to read thsoe chapters from her biography ‘Daughter of East’, where she did mentioned distribution of Kheer.

[quote=“muqawwee123, post:3, topic:256556”]

Kasauti Zindagi Kay, I also saw this serial most noticeable was slaps of Prerna on the face of Anurag and their never growing age despite growth of age of their children:)

Yes Kaal Ratri is still part of bengali wedding.

UP wallahs have very unique dress sense as well, like that of Dabangg movie, Kurta-payjama with 15 Rupaye ka chashma on the eyes and would drive moped as if he is driving Harley-Davidson:D, In Baraat one besura male singer will sing “Mere haathon mein nau nau chooriyan hain” and the crowd would dance on it dressed in above mentioned style:D

Zardari was okay to look at but Benazir was extremely beautiful, never looked like sindhi but looked like persian:)

I hated watching these Ekta Kapoor’s soaps, but do add to my knowledge of different cultures and Hindu religion.

hahaha.. Mere hathon main nau chooryan :hayaa:

Benazir was the copy of her mother Nusrat Isfahani, a Persian :smiley:

I opened similar thread here but very less members visited :hmmm:

:hehe: koi baat nahi, aap apne experience yahan share karlen.

K. :lifey:

though I used to watch earlier, now I watch few, it brought out “Shringar” (decoration) part of Hinduism and further glamorized it hence making Hinduism attractive for younger generation:)

And even “Laal dupatta udd gaya re mera hawa ke jhonkein se:D”, the singer would use same tone for all songs, and people with various instrument will simply blow it continuously. Same people will dance in Muslim wedding in afternoon and then join up for Hindu wedding in night:D

So this was the secret of her beauty and hat-ke accent of Urdu :slight_smile:

Yes that Bindi, Sardhi and full make-up in kitchen and even at wake-up time in morning, make it glamourised.

And even "Laal dupatta udd gaya re mera hawa ke jhonkein se:D", the singer would use same tone for all songs, and people with various instrument will simply blow it continuously. Same people will dance in Muslim wedding in afternoon and then join up for Hindu wedding in night:D

It really funny. You seem to be a keen observer of UP Wallas :D

So this was the secret of her beauty and hat-ke accent of Urdu :)

Her Sindhi was more subject of laughter for public.. but people really loved her.

Unlike sikhi or Islam, Hinduism believes in make-up where as others believe in simplicity:D

My bhabhi is from Mathura, she is hindustani and I lived in Kanpur for two years:k:
UP wallah’s are biggest tobacco chewers,they can spit in any direction at any time, Unlike punjabis who dance on every occasion like haldi, mehndi etc, UP waali ladies will sing in chorus in most untrained manner but Braj/Awadhi has its natural beauty. And are generally very conservative in their life and things like wedding. Baarati have no concern regarding wedding, they come to eat chicken,drinks and dancing in their unique way in most inappropriate songs

yes, she always carried herself with grace:k:

But I think songs like 'Kahay ko Biyahi Bides' also used in Umrao Jaan were originated from UP. Don't they now sing such modest songs in their weddings.

Interesting thread.

In our village, the bride slaps (yes literally) anyone of her unmarried cousin or friends. It's believed that the one gets slapped will get married soon afterwards.

I personally think it's a hilarious idea, like associating wedding with slap? How appropriate;-))

:omg: slap for getting another slap (shadi)

I like the tradition where a woman is sent by the family of bride or groom. She takes rusks to every house and gives 2-3 rusks to everyone and tells them that so and so's son/ daughter is getting married. The recipient gives some money etc. to this lady, who is called a 'nayan'. It's a sort of wedding invitation, old fashioned way. and though people now publish cards,, they still follow this tradition.

Then all the families who received the invitation come one by one, and give rice and or sugar to the family. It's a way of contributing towards the feast/food during the wedding. I think it's a cute, and useful tradition. Much better than bringing fazool mithai waghaira.

Lovely tradition. Is it followed in Kashmir.. We have a similar tradition in Sindh, where women goes to different home for giving invitation and telling schedule of events.. Its called Saddh in Sindhi meaning call, but there is no giving of rusks or in return rice, etc.

Nayan is called Hajjaman in Sindhi.. and when a baby is born in a family, she is appointed to distribute mithai in the neighbor and all the people getting mithai give her some money as her gift for knowing them the good news.

Well, actually my village is in Narowal:-) I don't know if they brought this tradition with them from Kashmir.

We also call it saddah.

They have all songs for occasions which are particularly attended by Naate/Rishtedar, Baraat dancers comes in all shape and size to dance on "Yeh desh hai veer jawano ka, and Naagin tunes:D

:omg: Main teri dushman dushman to mera… but there used to Good wedding songs from Hindi movies like ‘ShaadMani ho.. ShaadMani’.

yeh wala song?

Ji yehi walaach :D

mere yaar ki shadi hai...

Daler mehndis song............:D