Re: Wedding traditions in South East Asia

oh :omg: bechara dulha shaadi se pehlay hi haath lag jata hai :wink:

Kuchh nahi hoga sab thik hoga Inshallah

me.gif

treeswing.gif

Ninja what is that 'Pag Phera' Rasm shown Indian dramas? Is it same as Chouthi?

I dont know what chauthi is bhai............:(

but those feras are limited to some castes of north india.....from where i belong hindu community does not have fere rasm.....

they hold a cotton cloth between bride and groom and wedding takes place........

during ceremony they throw rice on bride and groom...........:D

:nono: phera is visit

**Pag Phere
As a part of Phera Dalna ritual, the newly wedded couple visits the bride’s house on the next day after marriage. Usually, the girl’s brother comes to take them back to his home. The bride’s parents prepare a special lunch. Also, the newly weds are given lots of gifts and sweets. This is actually a formal introduction of groom to the bride’s family.

dude, i have seen the shajra (the family tree) of my family, the lineage which goes back to the 7th imam Mosa al-kazim a.s
yes, sadly, there are fake syed out there, who just attach syed to their name, mostly youll find this in Indo-Pak
but fake syed wont have shajrah to prove they are true syeds. also being a syed does not mean one is above all and more special than others, infact it comes with alot of reponsibility.

and im sure your knowledge is pretty limited on this topic and also im not here to prove you anything, so kindly get back to the topic :)

We have a "dhood pilai." rasm. The sister of the bride brings a glass of milk and presents it to the groom to drink. The milk could either be plain, filled with nuts, or have rooh-afza in it. In return the sister of the bride gets money.

Didn't read the whole thread but in the first few posts the "ungli pakarna" caught my eye. Is it just me or is that the most chichora thing to do ever? How is it even appropriate?

:hehe: cdg nice point. let someone explain logic behind that. There is also a rasm in Sindh called ā€˜Dhaawan’ (not Daa’in) where grom raise his arm as he can and bride’s sister tries to wrap his finger with a thread / dhaaga (normally a black reshmi dhaga). Its fun in cases, where dulha is lamboo and bride’s sister is chutki :smiley:

Maybe I am too conservative because I don't think its appropriate for me to hold my brother in laws finger. Funny thing is people would be all 'haw haye' if the bride herself held the grooms hand or finger. I'm not saying anything is wrong with that though.

Both are different, Chouthi in Northern India is, on fourth day after marriage, Brother of the bride comes back with gifts to the groom's house and there is another feast there, later brother takes sister along with himself back to the home for some days and Bhabhi's ask some very intriguing question after bride lands back in the home:D

:omg: lol at curious bhabhis.

I remember before my sister got married we took her footprint on a piece of white cloth. Dipped her legs in the red kumkum paste and made her stand on a white cloth. The cloth then remains in her maternal home. Kinda like even though she is gonna get married and go away, she's still there.

In Gujarati weddings , on arrival of the groom, he is welcomed by his mother-in-law at the entrance. After she performs the welcoming aarti and she has to playfully try and grab the groom's nose. This tradition reminds the groom that he has come rubbing his nose at their door asking for their daughter’s hand in marriage. And usually the groom's brother or friend will place a handkerchief over the groom's nose so that the MIL cant pinch it.

Then during the wedding, seven married ladies from the bride's side come and whisper blessing into the couple's ears.

Also during the wedding the bride's mother passes and the groom holds on the anchal of her sari. He does not let go till he receives a gift from the MIL.

[FONT='Trebuchet MS', Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]
After the wedding

The couple will then often play a game called Aeki Beki in which a tray of water is mixed with milk and sindoor (vermilion). In this tray are placed several coins and a ring. It is believed that the person who finds the ring four out of seven times will rule the household.

How about Bengali weddings.. what does that covering bride’s face with banana leaves mean? :hmmm:

dulha dulhan kaa raat tak sir ghoom jata ho gaa :omg: becharay :omg:

Nahin.. thodi boht bachat ho jati hai thanks to Sindhi Topi, which works as a cushion. :D

And dulhan ki bachat dupattay se ho jaati hai still :omg:

Yes to some extent.. BTW, what is that Kala Doria all about.

The bride will cover her eyes with Pan leaves, brothers would carry the bride and she would open her eyes and would see her husband as first person in wedding. They cook wonderful dishes especially sweets:)

UPwallhas are the best baraat dancers as they can even dance on Kabootar ja ja and teri meri prem kahani hai mushkil (bodyguard) type of songs as well:D

Sar kiska phoota, Zardari ka ki Benazir ka:D

You are modest girl then, Sayyid in India means muslim with some higher status than others, at least they made me believe so:)