Wedding Programs Please

Mehndi day programs are soooooo easy…even if you dont have a program people just kind of know what to do. Rasms, dhol, songs, dancing, etc.

The wedding day is very formal and I would like to see a program come about that day…like an agenda of some sort.

Ideas guys…I dont want there to be a boring lull during the evening.

Re: Wedding Programs Please

Do you want Baraat entertainment ideas?

What's a program? Do you want to print some kind of a list for the quests?

Yes, mahi!

Entertainment ideas for the Baraat day. Basically keep the evening going and make sure everyone has a great time.

I dont want to have a printed program per se...but an outline of things to do for the evening that I can follow.

the usual:

• arrival of the groom and family

• appetizers

• bride's entrance

• nikkah ceremony

• dinner/dessert

• slideshow

• dance/open floor

Okay, we're not doing the open dance floor on the day of the wedding. The nikah is already done so I gotta fill the evening with other things!

• a live band

• someone singing

• someone playing an intrument. i went to a wedding once and they had a live tabla guy and a flute guy. it was nice.

• have a slide show showing pics from the events before (mehndi/mayoon, engagement, etc) just keep playing it..no need to make it fancy shamcy..something light so its constantly playing during dinner

• speeches from the parents, friends, married couple

• oh yeah, the rukhsati

• dhood pillai

• first dance

• family entrance

I'm glad you posted this!! I could also use some ideas, since my nikah is already done and and there may or may not be dancing, my family is all pretty shy. I might try and push them though to get on the floor at the end of the night.

So far this is what I have gotten. This just a short summary for gupshup, but I wrote it down to the exact timings and so far a program schedule.

Guest Arrival
Baraat Entrance - Introduction of the Grooms family
Bride Entrance,
Opening words by my cousins, reading of a dua by my cousin to start the night.
Program start, Introduction
Cake Cutting
Short Speeches from the brides side.
Dinner
Jhoota Chupai / Cousins asking for money on stage.
Slide show during dessert
Short speeches by the grooms side..
Shehra reading
Manqabaat Readings
Pictures
Dancing if it happenz
Ruksati...

Now the only thing, what to include in the program start. What would be a good way to start of your night? Obviously jumping into speeches is really boring for everybody. Any ideas?? I could really use the help as well! Thanks for posting Groovey Chick. And we always do cake cutting in the beggining, otherwise, cutting the cake all the way the end serves no purpose because people have already eaten dinner and dessert.

Any other unique program ideas?? But please no first dance ideas or things like that, we don't do those in my family. I'm thinking more along the lines of what should be said by the MCs? Examples of weddings you guys have been too??

Ok, these have a few ideas:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/392079-wedding-day-baraat-entertainment.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/404567-entertainment.html

Ok, these have a few ideas:

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/392079-wedding-day-baraat-entertainment.html

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/wedding/404567-entertainment.html

Reha how about getting a singer or a band for the wedding day? A professional dance group would be nice too.

how about having some games with the bride and the grooom...u take 2 chairs and make the groom and bride have their backs agaisnt each other..

and play a game..by asking them both questions... and whoever answers wrong gets to eat a jawbreaker candy?

and get the gurls and guys family involved

for example the MC will ask who will be the one waking up for fajr? bride or the groom.......stuff like tht

at my friends reception...they had 10 questions that were asked to the bride about the groom...and 10 questions asked about the bride to the groom
it was fun!

^ do u by any chance know what the questions were? lol

well since your nikkah is already done - perhaps make some video highlights from your nikkah and engagement and mendhi ?

if your family isn't into dancing - then perhaps have video messages sent by your family & friends overseas who couldn't make it and show it through the projector? we did it for a friend's wedding here - and it looks so lovely =)

i came across this....

Another one is to seat the bride and groom with their backs to each other so they can't see each other. Then they are posed with a set of yes-no questions to which they should either nod or shake their heads. The questions are things like "Are you going to be the boss of the household?", "You're going to make your spouse take out the trash, right?" Seeing them both nod yes, or both shake their heads, is very funny!

and another....

Wedding Couple Trivia: This is a great way to pass the time between music sets or while your guests are seated and waiting for the meal to be served. Have questions about you and your new spouse written down ahead of time on cards. (These can be fun, serious or even racy, but be sure to keep in mind the tolerance level of all your guests when thinking up questions.) Each question should pertain to you, your spouse or both of you: Where you met, which of you had braces as a child, etc.

Have your DJ, master of ceremonies, or one of your parents stand at the microphone and select a guest to answer the first question. If the guest answers correctly, he or she then steps up to the microphone to call on the next guest, and so on. This wedding reception game is perfect for a bridal shower, too.

and another....

Roman Hands and Russian Fingers: This game is guaranteed to get the men in the audience chuckling. The bride is blindfolded while the best man places three small clips somewhere on the groom's person. These should be in difficult-to-find places, such as the groom's shoelaces or the back of his hair. The blindfolded bride must then find each of the clips with her hands. To make this game even more interactive and fun, allow guests to call out "warmer!" or "colder!" as the bride's fumbling hands get closer to or farther away from a clip.

Ummm...she's not going to have an open dance floor at her wedding, but you think she's going to be comfortable publicly groping her husband on stage in front of 400 aunties and uncles? I can just hear the mortified comments now.

Reha - it sounds like your reception is going to be very formal. I wouldn't play any of these games - they're going to take away from the elegance and formality of your wedding. I would do whatever ceremonies are traditional in your family, hire some sort of a live musician to provide atmosphere, and let the evening proceed on its own. I think your guests would much rather have a chance to catch up with that old friend who they haven't seen in years than watch you and your husband answer stupid questions about eachother on stage.

wow janab e ali

relax your nerves my friend, suggestions can lead to modified ideas...its okay, just take a breath, and it will all be alright my friend :)

aah! it was 3 yrs ago,cant remember much... but like one of the guppans mentioned below..

like who willl go the garbage, who will wake up for fajr?
who will vacuum the house and u ask the crowd to give answers and you give a paper to the bride and another one to the groom and they write their answer and after the crowd is done screaming ..you see the bride and grooms answers

( i just made up the paper part - its got more suspense and keeps the party alive)
and im doing this for my friends valima inshallah

Not gonna happen!!.. no bride is going to let anyone touch her perfectly-made-up-false-eye-lashed eyes , blindfold tou bari duuur ki baat hai :D