Wedding season is upon us again and no doubt we shall all get invited to zillions of desi weddings this summer, even though we may never have actually met the families concerned!
My question is:
What is deemed to be an acceptable amount to give as a present as many invites mention the word “no boxed gifts”.
Always concerns me as I never know how much to give!
Also same question relating to someone you know quite well - how much is an acceptable amount here in the UK
Neely...:)
i assume you are a new member ...so welcome here :)
ummm....not sure about your question though ....!!!
I really have no idea about amount etc. but why don't you just do it how you like ....i mean deciding about amount is different for everyone ....you know best how much can you afford ...n how much your affilioation with this inviting family is ....???
personally i don't follow any rules ......to me it depends on my relation with second party n also on my means etc.
its the sincerity n love that counts n not the material worth :) (to me at least):)
well people these days do register. However if they don't that means you have to give money, I think a $100 is good for someone who is not a family member or a good friend. At times you only give a gift to there house, if they don't want gifts at the wedding.
great thread, im invited to my best friends sister's wedding, im a student and i also have no idea about the amonut of money i should give as a present.
i havent got the invititation yet just a verbal invite, but im assuming that the card will say "no boxed gifts please",
so wat do u think, im from the UK and im thinking around £30-50?
*Originally posted by aysha: *
great thread, im invited to my best friends sister's wedding, im a student and i also have no idea about the amonut of money i should give as a present.
i havent got the invititation yet just a verbal invite, but im assuming that the card will say "no boxed gifts please",
$50 is better. No one these days give anything under $50
You're probably better off giving the person a gift in the $50-60 range if he/she isn't close to you. If the person is a close family friend or family member, consider money or heavy jewelry.
hmm I think that for weddings a present should be atleast around $80....if its relatives and other close family members then more.Personally I think the best things to give are not just jewlery but also things that the newly weds can use around the house.Like dinner ware etc.
First get married yourself, see how much they give you and then give same amount back on their wedding. :)
Seriously, I actually know a lady who keeps a register to note down what and how much did everyone's gift was on each of the birthdays of the kids which she received. Whenever she is invited to another's party, she takes out the register and figures out how expensive a gift she will be giving in return. I thought the whole register thing is quite over the top.
Anyway, it totally depends on your social circle and what is the cash gifts they exchange in the weddings. Best option will be to check with another invitee to the wedding and adjust the amount depending on your closeness with the person, and the sort of gifts you have exchanged before.
In Pakistan, I know some very well-to-do people who insist on giving Rs 101 as salaami (wedding gift to the bride/groom). They deem it some kinda hadith-backed amount, which I have never been able to figure out. A decent amount for a wedding gift in Pakistan, in my opinion should range from Rs 500 to Rs 1,000 and above. It should atleast cover the cost of food (or tea) which is laid out for you. Aik sau aik ropay mein tau daarh bhi geeli nahi hotee
*Originally posted by aysha: *
that should be ok, i guess for best friend 's sister in uk.
for the friend herself you can go higher. but there is no limit ;)