What is a reasonable amount of time to plan a wedding? I’m looking at 3-6 months max. Is that possible to do? People are telling me it isn’t but we don’t really have any other choice. If we wait, we’re looking at 3 years later at this point.
I live in the States if that helps.
I’m also considering hiring a wedding planner to help us since it’ll be so last minute. I’m mostly worried about booking a MUA and venue. I want to do a (small) mayoun/milad, mehndi, shaadi, walima.
What do you think? What’s the shortest “prep time” that you’ve seen? Was the event able to be pulled off successfully?
What is a reasonable amount of time to plan a wedding? I'm looking at 3-6 months max. Is that possible to do? People are telling me it isn't but we don't really have any other choice. If we wait, we're looking at 3 years later at this point.
I live in the States if that helps.
I'm also considering hiring a wedding planner to help us since it'll be so last minute. I'm mostly worried about booking a MUA and venue. I want to do a (small) mayoun/milad, mehndi, shaadi, walima.
What do you think? What's the shortest "prep time" that you've seen? Was the event able to be pulled off successfully?
thank you!
My in laws have organized our wedding in 6 months (couple of weeks left!!!). This is a wedding with 1000 guests and every single detail imaginable. To be fair though the wedding is in Pakistan and hubby and I are only arriving a few days before but with work etc that's just how it worked out. I think 3-6 months is do-able in your case. Be prepared to leave a lot of planning to family members and I have found it to be such a stress free experience where they simply send me links and pics and I say yes or no and in the meantime I have just been focusing on ME.
3-6 months is plenty of time! You just have to be organised and get moving asap!
really? phew! How early do venues typically get booked? We're looking at around Xmas time atm.
My wedding prep time was almost 2 months. Nothing is impossible if you have the will to make it happen.
Ooo no way! are you in the US? how the heck did you pull that off?! quite impressive
I'm in the US, I had my engagement in august and my wedding in November...just 2 1/2 months later. Like lusi said, anything is possible if you have the will, make practical decisions and keep an open mind
ok, you girls are giving me hope! Most people I know had 9+ months so I didn't know if it was do-able! phew!!!!
I'm in the US, I had my engagement in august and my wedding in November...just 2 1/2 months later. Like lusi said, anything is possible if you have the will, make practical decisions and keep an open mind
ok, you girls are giving me hope! Most people I know had 9+ months so I didn't know if it was do-able! phew!!!!
ooo okay! Are you getting a wedding planner?
No hon, I've been married for almost 16 years! I had a relative in Pakistan whom I trusted make my clothes/wedding dress...I bought my jewelry here, my mom and my sister took
care of most of the arrangements...even though it was thanksgiving long weekend, I was still able to get a hotel by having the nikkah and combined reception on a Sunday night. Mehndi was Saturday. Mayoun was the Wednesday before thanksgiving day.
I think getting a wedding planner will be a good idea.
No hon, I've been married for almost 16 years! I had a relative in Pakistan whom I trusted make my clothes/wedding dress...I bought my jewelry here, my mom and my sister took
care of most of the arrangements...even though it was thanksgiving long weekend, I was still able to get a hotel by having the nikkah and combined reception on a Sunday night. Mehndi was Saturday. Mayoun was the Wednesday before thanksgiving day.
I think getting a wedding planner will be a good idea.
oh okay! yeah I'm hoping for Xmas weekend since most goray log won't get married then but we'll see. We have a little more leeway with dates since we'll have 2 weekends we can do it in. and it looks like a wedding planner is probably going to have to happen!
Youl be suprised how many ppl do get married on xmas weekend! Gorre and all lol! Its a busy time as alot of ppl are off so venues do get booked up! If i were you get the venue booked first and then everything else will fall in place. Everyone will have to pull together itl be fine inshallah! Just prioritise and dont let days go to waste start ordering clothes now etc if theyre made to measure. Book the small details so u dnt have to worry in the run up to the wedding
Also you're competing with businesses having their big holiday parties around the same time so don't assume anything. Hire a planner and find a venue. And are you getting your clothes from Pakistan or the US? Most Pakistani dress designers take 3-5 months to get a trousseau ready.
True...hadn't thought of that. I'd be getting my clothes in Pakistan, most likely, since we don't have very much in terms of desi stores/clothes around here. My other major concern WAS getting my outfit made in time; I don't know how long it'd take someone. I've always wanted a suit from HSY but I don't know if that's even plausible. I've heard Bunto gets booked super fast so that probably wouldn't happen. I"m looking at Elan as an alternative and if nothing else, then I'll just have to go to one of the zari houses in lahore and pick something up. Not ideal but the alternative is waiting till God knows when to get married and I don't want that either.
It's do-able. My wedding took place in 6 months time too. Hectic but definitely do-able. I think first is to make sure you have the venue you want for the main event. Then fix dates around that venue availability date. And also if it is Xmas time, you can even choose a Sunday night for shadi.
Also, order the wedding dress ASAP. Most good designers are already pre-booked like crazy. For Mayoun, Mehndi dresses a good tailor or a "newer" designer is fine too (as long as you know what style / color combination you want). Or you could even do vintage like wear your mom's bridal for mehndi - it works out nicely.
Everything has to be done simultaneously in the beginning, like if you have a ballpark idea of the wedding dates, start calling planners / decorators / photographers / hair & makeup artists to check their availability. Once you have agreed on the venue, confirm everything else. It is quite stressful in the beginning and close to the wedding but it should be fine.
It's do-able. My wedding took place in 6 months time too. Hectic but definitely do-able. I think first is to make sure you have the venue you want for the main event. Then fix dates around that venue availability date. And also if it is Xmas time, you can even choose a Sunday night for shadi.
Also, order the wedding dress ASAP. Most good designers are already pre-booked like crazy. For Mayoun, Mehndi dresses a good tailor or a "newer" designer is fine too (as long as you know what style / color combination you want). Or you could even do vintage like wear your mom's bridal for mehndi - it works out nicely.
Everything has to be done simultaneously in the beginning, like if you have a ballpark idea of the wedding dates, start calling planners / decorators / photographers / hair & makeup artists to check their availability. Once you have agreed on the venue, confirm everything else. It is quite stressful in the beginning and close to the wedding but it should be fine.
XMas is on a Wed/Thursday so if we can get a hall for that day for the mehndi/shaad that would be perfect. If that way I have the weekend for the walima across the country where the fiance's fam lives.
I only know some of the better known ones because they're all everyone talks about so I'm going to have to do my research about the newer ones.
Does anyone know how long HSY takes? or even Elan?
XMas is on a Wed/Thursday so if we can get a hall for that day for the mehndi/shaad that would be perfect. If that way I have the weekend for the walima across the country where the fiance's fam lives.
I only know some of the better known ones because they're all everyone talks about so I'm going to have to do my research about the newer ones.
Does anyone know how long HSY takes? or even Elan?
Keep in mind that in Pakistan, December is peak wedding season. So contact HSY and Elan right away. They may say that they are booked, but try your best to persuade them otherwise (politely of course). In most cases they do accomodate their customers' schedule.
I meant if you are going with HSY for bridal, you could go with Nida Azwer for your Mehndi outfit. The main is your wedding dress. Also key point for weddings in N. America, try to keep within the budget. Things are not as easily or cheaply available as they are in Pak so prioritize on where to spend the most. Just budget it out.
Keep in mind that in Pakistan, December is peak wedding season. So contact HSY and Elan right away. They may say that they are booked, but try your best to persuade them otherwise (politely of course). In most cases they do accomodate their customers' schedule.
I meant if you are going with HSY for bridal, you could go with Nida Azwer for your Mehndi outfit. The main is your wedding dress. Also key point for weddings in N. America, try to keep within the budget. Things are not as easily or cheaply available as they are in Pak so prioritize on where to spend the most. Just budget it out.
Yeah there's just a few kinks in the way of fully starting planning but iA i can start doing that soon. I may have to ask you or other guppans for other lesser known designers that might be more easily accessible.
thanks so much for your help! You're making me feel a LOT better!