Wedding planning checklist

This is going to be the first wedding in my family. So i am not sure where to start and how. I had been procrastinating but its starting to hit me recently that i better start now!

Any how there are the things I plan on doing. If i am missing anything Please let me know.
My Stuff
**- His mom is taking care of the wedding valima dress.

• I plan on taking some heavy clothes with me
    • Heavy Sarri
    • 4-5 Medium (shalwarkameez/churridar)
    • 10 normal cotton plain shalwar kaamez to wear at home(i have none)

**His stuff **

• Sherwani/suite (still deciding)
  • 4-5 nice kurta shalwar*
    What else do you get for a groom?

His Family

• Mom- 1-2 shalwar kameez
  • Brother- Kurta shalwar
  • mamo- *Any ideas?

Then-

Book the venues!!
Invitation Cards
find a Makeup and henna artist

What else am i missing out on??***:chai:

Help!!** please!

Re: Wedding planning checklist

Centerpieces, gift bags (the little bags with almonds, and other stuff), bharat outfit, mehndi outfit, jewelry, stage decorator...

caterers for food, dj, photographer, videographer, other entertainment, wedding cake, rings, jewelry, waxing, facials, manicure, pedicure,

** to your stuff**
add a sweater or formal/casual shawl
shoes & bags matching or a silver /black single elegant to go with most of the outfits
basic personal checklist grooming stuff
*yes above all *
*bedsheets/bed covers/cushioncovers rather complete bed sets are must i think *

For the guy, people also usually get him a watch (and if you havent already, a ring). Each family has their own norm, but our family generally gets the guy a suitcase that has his sherwani, a suit, a watch, cologne, and a pair of pajamas in it. We're also getting him cufflinks and some toiletry type things. What you get him is up to you, there isn't a standard.

I have made an excel spreadsheet outlining what I need to plan, what will be my expense and what will be his expense....I will upload it on sendspace and provide the link to you

it's the first wedding for girl in my family too so I took the initiative to plan since I'm the stressed out bride hehe. Anyways here's what we got my hubby for the nikkah. In fact abhi rishta pakka hi huwa tha toh we gave him all the stuff since nikkah was only 9 days after rishta became pakka lolz

*things for him

• 8 pairs of dress pants
  • 8 dress shirts
  • cologne
  • watch
  • ring
  • cufflinks
  • tie pin
  • ties
  • wallet
  • toiletries (i.e. shaving kit)
  • I also got him body wahs after shave wageyra (unhone iss pe bohot mazaak kiya tha...k abhi nikkah bhi nahin huwa and already you think I smell bad) lolz

that's it, we're not planning on getting anything more than this for rukhsati and such since we have already given everything. But for rukhsati I will be taking a watch and ring for him cuz i don't like the ring we gave him before

now here's my planning, some of the things he should be arranging I will have to arrange for him because mehndi and rukhsati are in lahore (my hometown) and valeema is in karachi (his hometown)

• arrange photographer/videographer
  • arrange makeup artist
  • arrange henna artist
  • arrange facial
  • arrange waxing/bleaching
  • arrange mani/pedi
  • arrange DJ
  • arrange wedding band
  • arrange venue and catering for mehndi
  • arrange venue and catering for rukhsati
  • arrange hotel room for wedding night
  • arrange for mehndi dress and jewellery
  • arrange rukhsati dress and jewellery
  • arrange for flowers for hair
  • arrange for wedding invites
  • have party clothes made
  • purses
  • shoes
  • take night clothes with me
  • take 5-6 normal salwar kameez with me
  • have the blouses for the saris my mom is giving me stitched
  • take some of my gold jewellery given by my mom to me with me
  • take/buy makeup
  • take waxing kit/hair removal kit with me
  • take lotions with me
  • take hair pins/ clips with me
  • undergarments
  • some of my artificial jewellery
  • my watch (the good one lol)
  • go with hubby to arrange valeema dress and clothes for bury
  • go with hubby to arrange wedding cake and wedding favors

we are not doing shawls or sweaters or even bedsets and such since hubby is coming back to usa with me (insha'allah) and I have bundles of that stuff here, also already bought a suit for him for valeema. He is arranging his sherwani for rukhsati and his mehndi dress on his own. He has also arranged shoes and salwar kameez on his own, but we paid for it so keep that in mind too. We didn't get anything for his two brothers but we got clothes for nikkah and rukhsati for his mom and sisters and his mamu and mai who arranged our rishta and one khaala and khaalu who made all the arrangements for the nikkah

nice smart shirts with cufflinks
nice suit
tie
aftershaves/ perfumes etc
watch

Yep, even i won't be getting bedsheets, furniture etc etc...... Since i'll be going to USA with hubby to be InshAllah..
but yes loads of other stuff to get.

Yep, even i won't be getting bedsheets, furniture etc etc...... Since i'll be going to USA with hubby to be InshAllah..
but yes loads of other stuff to get.

Thank you all for being so helpful!!
My checklist was way smaller then what it is now after all of your suggestions.
I think perfume and shirts is a great idea for him and i guess PJ's and all.
For his mamo- i will get a shirt as well.

I will add the bed sets and other things you all suggested.

Well quick question- How many clothes should i make for my self? (other then bridal-valeema dress cuz that will be part of the 11 dresses from his side)
I am going to be living in same city as i am in right now- plus he doesnt have any extended family here that i will have dawats to afterwards. Other then maybe 1-2 family friends.
I am really on a tight budget since i want to pay for as much as i can!!!

I was planing on 3-4 party dresses in which 1 will be for Chohti(4th day)
1-2 sarri's(since i love it so much)
and 10 cotton plain shalwarkameez for home

Plus do i really need a Decorator, centerpiece Dj??

yaar humne socha to yahi hai k hum 5 jorro se zyada nahi karenge cuz hubby's family is wanting to make atleast 11 jorras and since we're gonna be in USA 16 jorre bhi zyada hi lagte hain...unhe bhi humne bola hai k 11 se decrese karke 3 pe aajayein cuz its just gonna be waste so i will have 8-16 jorras of which only 5 will be from my mom's side

you probably don't need a decorator, but probably should have a DJ for mehndi.... par mehndi ka kharcha waise bhi larrke waale larrki vaale half half share karte hain

centrepiece wod be covered in decorations i suppose

here’s my spreadsheet

spreadsheet of expenses_edit.xls

and this is one my mamu made for my cousin-sis wedding

wedding expenses and arrangements.zip

the one my mamu made is very universal type

mine is kind fo specific to my situation since some of our events are in Lahore and some in Karachi

[quote="llxxll"]

things for him

• 8 pairs of dress pants
  • 8 dress shirts

thats alot of shirts and pants, is that normal, is that how many everybody gives.????

^^ lol I think it isn't normal but that's what we did

Thank you so Much!! you have been so helpful.
and yea sahi kerahi ho app. We really do not need 15 jorray. Although i do have a huge family here but still dont need it.
so I guess couple should be fine.

When is your big day By the way!!

hi everyone i have some qts., is the ring for the groom expected, if so what kind of ring is it normally? also im getting married in lahore iA but only planning on staying there like 2 weeks, do you guys think i should bring a bedsheet set?

salaams,

for groom's ring:

I got him a titanum wedding band with a single diamond in it. some people just get simple silver,white gold or platinum or titanium band

it isn't expected if you give him a good watch

we just did both

as for the bedsheet set,

if you are planning to settle in lahore permanently then please do get bedsheet set, but if you are planning only temporary stay even if the stay is for 6 months...I dont see a point for bedsheet set :) hope this helps

I’m happy I could help you :hugz:

my big day is insha’allah 3rd week of november