wedding outfit is discolouring!

Hi guys,

I have a majooooooooooooooor issue!!!

Ok basically, I bought my outfits in March this year for my wedding in Noember, however the wedding has been postponed until February 2011 which is 5-6 months away now. Throughtout this time i have put my lengha’s away in storage in a suitcase, with them both in their original covering. I have seperated the dupatta’s and blouses. The have folded the dupatte inside out so the work is facing inwards and then have popped thin paper in the middle so not to damage the kaam.

However, today I decided to take out my valima outfit dupatta (I was trying to select a jewellery set and it was the nearest piece of garment of that outfit that was to hand) and noticed their is a dissolouration patch on the middle edge of the dupatta! I can’t understand how it’s happened as their is protective paper to avoid this!! Its not in any sun light whatsoever.. and I don’t remember it beign there when I bought it as I specifically made a point of checking the whole outfit bit by bit!

I am little upset about it, and worried more patches might occur! I don’t understand why and how it happened. The discolouration is the size of my palm, and is not overlllly noticable but its definetly there.

Anything I can do in order for me to prevent another stupid patch appearing!!!??

Any help would be so helpful!!

Ps. I have a feeling it may have come about because of the steel hanger it was resting against - do you think it could be this!? :o:O

Re: wedding outfit is discolouring!

wow 79 views but no reply?

I was going to say it might be there but u didn’t notice. But as u said, u did a complete check when u bought it… I really have no idea..
May be u can pin up in a way hiding the patch.. im sorry dunno really what to do :bummer:
All the best, hope u find a way out…

Is there any humidity near your clothes? You know those sachets of silica ( i think it is) that you get in shoe boxes? If you can find something like that to keep near your clothes to take out the moisture that would be good. And also any humidity plus a steel hanger will more than likely discolor clothes.

why dont you call the retailer you purchased it from and ask them what could cause the discoloration and if there is a way to fix the issue...

What color is your dupatta? Maybe you can take it back to where you got it from and they can dye it or give you a new one. If that's not possible, try to get your own dye. I hope the discoloring is not in a highly-noticeable area.

It doesn't sound like it from what you said but make sure you haven't wrapped the outfit in any kind of plastic.

I think it may have been there originally. My phabi's lengha is pristine condition since she wore it. Just make sure you fold it neatly and put thin paper inbetween it to prevent the kaam rubbing. clothes dont generally discolour unless the dye job is really cheap which i doubt any would do on a bridal lengha!

cheapest dyes are direct dyes laikun wo bhi fade nahi hoteen. lagta hai yeh bachaun wali colouring say rang kia ho gha jissay water colours kehtay hain. best thing is go to retailer and complain about it and to rectify it.

ok you are covered by consumer rights .you could visit CAB as well to seek further advice just in case if retailer refuses to rectify. act quickly before it is too late because there is some time restrictions in legal matters

Try vinegar (dilute it a bit) and rub on a spot to get off the discoloration. It's a weak acid so it should help...

DO NOT TRY VINEGAR. First speak to the retailer about it, because it shouldnt discolour.. regardless.. if they insist on not sorting thr problem, threaten to sue them... because considering, you've not worn the item, had it safely stored, that shouldn't have happened.

What from a boutique in Lahore, Pakistan? I don't think I will get far guys. Tbh it's not hugely noticeable but if you were to look at it properly then yeah you would notice it, but deffo not at a glance. I think it might be hidden well when worn.. as in, it is on the dupatta on the edge of the dupatta on the back (which no one will see). Its just gone a slightly lighter colour, but not ridiculously lighter. But still... pretty bummed about it. I have a feeling it could be because of the humidity and copper kaam rubbing against the steel hanger it was resting on, as the bit that is concerned was in direct contact with the hanger.

Any other suggestions of storing would be highly appreciated. I have changed the hanger to a proper wooden hanger. I hope it doesn't happen again! Mum is making me check them on a weekly basis haha :p

what color is your dupatta.. usually turquoise or green are raw dyes.... color can fade

keep your outfit wrapped in a malmal ka kapra ... it keeps moisture out.

Its a seagreen!! Which would explain alot I guesss! :O

What is malmal kapra? I don't know if that is obtainable in the UK!?

^cotton

LOL okay thank you so much guys!

Do you think it would be best that I lay cotton kapre on either side then fold and put away in a plastic bag AND THEN pop in a drawer rather than on a hanger??

Oh one more question, will viscose doooo??? Please respond as soon as poss! :)

and is it best to place PLAIN WHITE cotton/viscose?