Wedding list

Hey girls!

Hope you are all well. In these blessed days of Hajj, I pray that

• those of you who have yet to find their hubby, do so quickly, who is nice, caring and decent
  • those who like me are nearing their decision, are blessed with nice inlaws, and find the process of moving to a new land, new family, new life, easy and full of happiness
  • those who are married, are kept happy and content in their marriages
  • and if i ve missed out a dua for someone, may Allah grant you your innermost desires

(Ameen)

Right, am in panic mode (for several reasons), though i havent got a final date for the wedding (few more hurdles to go-make dua), I couldnt resist the temptation to go into the storage part of our house and see what my late mother (may Allah bless her in Jannah insha Allah) had kept for me, and wow, she had saved up a lot. Now my dilemma is what things do I need to get for myself, him and his family? I have no sisters so dont know rasaime, etc. HELP. Esp now that the Xmas sales are coming, what should I buy? As I have a feeling that this time next year, your sister will be married (happily!) so not much time left! (I know its a year but still!!!)

Does someone have a excel spreadsheet that i can copy?

HELPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP!!!

Re: Wedding list

Hey, CONGRATS, may allah give u a happy marriage and dont worry everything thing will be okay.

all items below defo get in sale: ( will be handy for your barri )

perfumes (for you)
aftershaves/perfume(for him)
sandals/shoes
bedding
selective house items ie; dinner set, tea set etc

cant think of anything else at mo...

oh and lots of clothes for you and clutch bags (to wear after shaadi). your barri is something that your parents give you (everything mentioned above) to take with you to your inlaws, dont forget clothes for your hubby immediate family as a gift from your side.

good luck and congrats again! :)

Heey!
Congrats for your upcoming wedding, and thank you for your duas. :) Here’s my list.. I’m going to do some of the shopping from Pakistan as well. I’ve got an list for that too.. do you want me to post it as well?

• perfume set for yourself
  • perfume set for him
  • Make-up (if you want to get expensive brushes then MAC usually have a sale around this time. Or you could just go to wallmart, they’ve got nice stuff for even nicer prices! Haha)
  • Lingerie
  • shirts and ties for him
  • shoes
  • bags
  • jeans and shirts for yourself.
  • Jewelry box
  • Suitcases

I’m not getting any furniture because we live in different countries so I figured it’s better if we’ll buy that together. girls do let me know if i’m forgetting anything :)

best of luck!

congrats malle !! :)

please post the list of what you going to get from pakistan, as i am going pakistan in dec for my sis wedding shopping, and need some ideas :)

I'm also making a similar list these days. What i have in my list is no different from what the other two posters has mentioned:

Perfumes (definitely from sales)
Lingerie
Jewellery (i bought some artificial indian pendants and bangles)
Clutch bags
Cosmetics
Also buy gold jewellery now as the prices are rising everyday, so if u are planning on getting married in three months time then its better to get some gold now.

Thanks girls for the information thus far! Its really funny as my future mother in law (if all goes well!) wants everything done ASAP as he is her eldest son and she has waited so long for him to say YES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! She may turnaround and say forget next dec, abhi april mein karlete hai and I will be even more scared and flustered, so thats why i thought i would start compiling now.

My mother (may she reside in Jannat ameen) had already brought me 2 dinner sets, tea set and all my jewellery, not to mention the various evening suits, saris and matching bags! She has saved me so much time, if only she was here in person, as I need her badly, I need her duas too, she had waited a long time for me to say yes to marriage, but i never did as she was too ill and i didnt want to leave her.

What things are my family meant to give to the groom and his family? English shirts, shalwar kameez for him, incl cuffs? he doesnt wear ties i know, so maybe cufflinks?

Hubnubs, I am so sorry about your mother. Yea, you could get him cufflinks, my guy doesn’t use cufflinks so I won’t be getting any for him.. And oh, I forgot to mention earlier that I’m also getting him a nice watch..

Here’s the list of things I’m getting from Pakistan. 

Clothes;

• Shadi lehnga
  • Sharwani for him
  • Around 10 Shadi/party wear
  • Around 5 sariees
  • Around 15 dinner wear
  • Around 10 salwar kamizes I can wear at home.
  • A few kurtas for him

Jewelries;

• 1 set for the wedding
  • 3 medium sized sets
  • Around 10 small sets
  • golden churyaa or kangnas
  • Some gold plated sets

I’m also inheriting one of my dadi’s sets, a pair of earrings that belong to my nani and one of my mom’s sets from her barri.

For his family;

• One Kurta and one shirt each for his brothers.
  • A nice salwar kamiz and a set for his mother
  • A set for his sister-in-law

Again, let me know if I’m forgetting anything!

Hey girlies!

Well my guy doesnt wear ties of cuff links, it seems he only wears causals, and the shirts that he does wear are not the formal type. So I guess a few shirts from here should keep him happy.

They live in Pakistan and the chances are I wont meet them till the wedding so how the hell am I supposed to ask the naande their sizes (for cardigans!)? and the MIL too? I m sure my relies in Pakistan will give me a rough idea but still!!!

Also, do you guys not think that the wedding and walima jewllery shouldnt be gold as we are only going to wear it once? I cant see the point of buying something in gold that has lots of pearls/colour thingis to match the lengha, and i wont wear it again? Other than that, my mother had already made my gold jewellery down to the rings so, phew i m saved! Also she had brought me real pearls to make a set as and when, so maybe i should use those pearls to wear on the wedding, as i can wear that set again? What do you guys think?

Aur kya? I m petrified to be honest, going from singlehood in London to married in Pakistan! (phir bhi dil mein lado pooth rahe hain!!!!)

Hubnubs, congratulations on your forthcoming wedding, my prayers are with you for a long, blessed and happy marriage inshallah. Hope all goes well.

Your mother may not be with you now, but please remember that all the dua's that she made for you still count. Inshallah they will be accepted.

About the jewellery for the wedding, I would agree with you and say get something artificial that will go well with your wedding clothes. Lots of people are doing artificial for weddings these days. You can incorporate the pearls in the design if you can get a decent jeweller.

About shirt sizes, you should get a relative to ask outright what your fiance and BIL's shirt sizes actually are, because it's better to get something that fits properly rather than something that might not fit and be discarded. I'm sure they won't mind being asked.

For some people customary to buy an English formal suit for the groom, so if you want to do this, get his chest size, waist size and inside leg length. Do you know his height? Because that will be an indication of the jacket length.

WRT bedding as someone has suggested, bear in mind that beds in Pakistan are a totally different size to ones in UK, I think their kingsize is the equivalent of the UK Queensize. I would agree that it is a good thing to get at least 1 bed set that you like, but Pakistan is full of everything these days.

Perfumes, GO FOR IT in the xmas sales! Also check out post xmas toiletry/ make-up gift sets, good products are always appreciated.

Even if your fiance doesn't wear cufflinks or formal shirts, it may be good to get him one anyway, in case he attends formal functions. (BTW Tierack has got a whole load of sales on cufflinks last time I went past).

I have noticed that people in Pakistan request handbags from UK, so if you do happen to chance upon something decent like an everyday handbag, think about getting them for the nands / MIL bcos it's something they can make use of but it's not size specific.

Also, silver or artificial jewellery will also make nice gifts for SIL's, e.g. something from Jon Richards in Debenhams - they do stirling silver... and good sales!

Hey congrats...wish you happiness ahead:)