Wedding Invitations

Does anyone know what the going rate is for wedding invitations these days? Also..what are your thoughts on making your own wedding invitations???

Making your own wedding invitations? If you are creative enough, then why not? I think that's a great idea! It can be a lot of work though if there are multiple cards (mendhi, rukhsati, walima) and a large guest list.

I admire people who are really creative and make gorgeous and authentic cards. :)

i wanted to make my own weddin invitations but abu had other ideas...

heres what i was planning on doin
umm i alwayz wanted to do a scroll invitation.. crumbled marron tissue glued to a matte golden cardboard an the edges have a ripped effect (phati purani hai LOL...) n i wanted to write out every word by myself.. with a golden metallic pen ofcourse!! makes it personall..
n i made a stencil an its decorated doli.. two men wre holdin it..on a cardboard.. which i cant use NOWWWWW!! i was gonna put that in at the end..
roll up the invitation...
tie it with a beautiful marron an gold tassle wali rope and put a fresh red rose .. delivery se pehle ofcourseee.. ahh i never got to do it

Deviliciousss, believe it or not, but I attended a wedding last summer where we were given scroll type invitations exactly as you described. Except, these were custom made. Apparently, they cost some ridiculous amount like $10.00 per invitation (there were about 300 guests ... you do the math).

The scroll was maroon velvet and the writting and graphics were enscribed onto the velvet with silver calligraphy. It came in a matching long velvet box with the bride and grooms' names on it. Then you took it, roll it out and voila ... the invitation.

It was quite nice. :)

IF and When I ever do get married inshallah I will put a lot of personal touches, and make the invitations repersent my personality. But they will have a persian/arabian feel to them, in the wording and poetic verse, and the quranic verse I pick.

my mother was quiet poetic in her day....so i asked amma jaani if she could write out a poem of her/abus feelings and fit in the formal invitation info at the end......it was actual very beautiful, written in fancy script by gold pen.....but we didnt get enough time to print them, since it was in urdu ...i kept the orginal for keepsake.

Really varies Hinna.....you need to be a bit more specific regarding what you want.

You can spend as little as $150.00 for 500 invitations. Depends on what you do and who does it for you.

If you have specific printing needs or have an idea you want to know more about.....call me.

I saw this realy stunning invitation...

Invitation was in a little box. It had a bottle [you know the one you see in cartoons which has message in it] , colored shells few other things that i forgot.

Basically, wedding was near the beach and they made the box look like somethign from a beach. Bottle had invitation of a reception.

Perhaps i couldnt give a great description but it was amazing when i saw it. Invitations costed them a lot. Since they mailed it out...

Well I read many and go to weddingz too......but i do sympathize the poor guy ...

It's a good idea,, many people are making their own invitations, and choose what they write in them,
i got a wedding invitation a few days ago and in it was this verse,, it made the invitation more beautiful...
'And among His Signs is that He has created for you mates of your own species, that you may find comfort in their company, and He has put between you love & tenderness.... (Quran 30:21)

I know this is slightly off topic but I went to a wedding once that had all sorts of home made touches and it all felt so much more personal. For the place name tags the bride wrote everyones name with gold paint on sea shells and placed them on the tables. She also baked biscuits and iced them with her and her husbands names which she gave guests as party favours.

:-o
Shadi Mubaarak!!!

Okay sorry i have nothing useful to contribute to this thread however you just reminded me of this thing. Back in karachi during the days when food was banned at weddings (you could only serve ice cream, coke or tea), this friend of my brother was getting married. Normally what people did was eat at home and then go to the shadi. That guy however had somehow made arrangements for food. This is what it said on his wedding invitation card:

Chai ya Juice ki umeed rakh kar naa aaiay ga,
Allah rizk denay wala haiy!

Okay it didnt sound that funny but back then when i read it on the card i was cracking up! So yeah maybe you could add something witty to the card, you wont need all the decorations then.

I plan on emailing a Yahoo invite to all for my wedding.

*Originally posted by funguy: *

Good idea.....This will save you some bucks :D

*Originally posted by MyStiCaL_MisS: *

'And among His Signs is that He has created for you mates of your own species, that you may find comfort in their company, and He has put between you love & tenderness.... (Quran 30:21)

Do you know how many times I have seen that verse on Arab wedding cards? MANY!

Hey I wanted to ask you guys something, do you guys have both english and urdu writting on the invitations? We have both Arabic and English.

Well..everyone has great ideas :) What I was thinking was getting the boxed invitation stationary sets that are especially made for weddings and write/print out all of the necessary information on them. And they have little embossed flowers and trims on them. You can get some pretty good deals: ie 50 invitations + envelopes + 50 response cards + envelopes for around $45 cdn.

Muzna, we're looking for very simple invitations. If you know of some printers that have reasonable prices, can you pm me the info?

We've already added our personal touches to the favours for both muslims and non-muslims. The muslim guests will receive cat-eye tasbeehs/natural stone tasbeehs in organza bags with Quranic ayats and Ahadith quotations. The non-mulims will receivecrystal candle holders that are wrapped up/decorated with another quotation. We're also in the process of making centrepieces.

Chee....meri shadi nahi hai--it's my sister's reception..her hubby finally got his visa, Alhamdulilah, and will be arriving shortly. As for my shadi..Inshallah it'll be happening soon :)

Rumi...All of the shadi cards that my family has received have English/Arabic scripting....never seen any with urdu

*Originally posted by funguy: *

Ditto!...

When a friend of mine got married, she had the invitation imprinted on a white tissue with blue letters, it was beautiful fabric and there were flowers sewed in one of the corners. That was the most original invitation I've had so far.

Man wouldn't it be much ez and cheaper to just write a huge invitation message in the sky for all to see?

Yes, and then you will be feeding all the people a sumptous dinner too? Truly a cost-effective idea :k: :slight_smile: