Im a little confused about this - When writing the bride and grooms parents names, do we write “Mr. & Mrs.” so & so invite you OR “Mrs. & Mr.” ???
Is there some significance to having Mrs. first? and what is the correct way?
Thanks
Re: Wedding invitation wording
I've always seen "Mr. & Mrs."
Mr & Mrs is standard Western format.
aajke daur men jab aurat ghar aur mulk kii sarbaraah hone lagii hai tab se "Mrs. and MR." kaa rivaaj Haq-ba-jaanib aam huaa hai...maiN bhii iskaa Haamii huN :D
Im a little confused about this - When writing the bride and grooms parents names, do we write "Mr. & Mrs." so & so invite you OR "Mrs. & Mr." ??? Is there some significance to having Mrs. first? and what is the correct way? Thanks
usually we see mr and mrs. but if you go with mrs and mr then that should be fine too
No, according to addressing etiquette, it is always MR first. Putting MRS first looks and sounds odd. The one exception I can think of is if the MR is deceased, in which case it could come second, as in Mrs. Patty Smith and (the late) Mr. John Smith
No, according to addressing etiquette.....
'ladies FIRST'! isn't that the right etiquette? i think it is :) what u say?
^ not when it comes to addressing invitations.
No, according to addressing etiquette, it is always MR first. Putting MRS first looks and sounds odd. The one exception I can think of is if the MR is deceased, in which case it could come second, as in Mrs. Patty Smith and (the late) Mr. John Smith
Patty - what a name! lol
No, a the wife always follows her husband. That is the ettiquettes of invites. And it’s not like women get to do everything first…so naam likhney sey kya hota hai? ![]()
Anyway, I see desi invites have the entire family chacha bhateeja and all, including a 2 year old toddler’s name on the RSVP list. What’s with that?
^ i don't know but its really odd lol
i also find the habit of listing phone numbers and rsvp information on the invitation card itself super, super weird. WHY would you do that?? and its always laid out so badly too. grumble
its like reading a badly-written essay.
^ the numbers are usually written on cards so that if you cant get in touch with the parents (who are busy with the wedding preparations) you can contact one of the family members eg if they wanna know the way to the hall/house.
But why a 2 year old?
We didn't bother with Mr/Mrs on the invites... we kept it very simple, elegant. basically here is our outline... of course names have been changed...
* Jane & John Smith*
request the honor of your presence at the
Mayoon/Mehendi/Baraat/Valima Reception
of their son
GROOMS NAME
&
BRIDES NAME
daughter of Joan & Jake River
Inshallah On
Saturday, June/July xx, 2011
^ not when it comes to addressing invitations.
i wud prefer Mrs. & Mr. whenever time comes, inshaa Allah :)
It's Mr. and Mrs., only exceptions are if a spouse is a professional title holder, their name goes first (e.g: Dr Patty and Mr. John Smith or Brig. Patty and Mr. John Smith).