Wedding Halls - only 1 dish allowed as of May 1st/ 08 (Punj. Govt.)

Re: Wedding Halls - only 1 dish allowed as of May 1st/ 08 (Punj. Govt.)

^ At the Sheraton they said the food costs very little, so our charges didn't change much. PC is probably similar.

People will still find ways around! And decorators take 1 lakh per stage..halls are another 75,000...limiting it to 1 dish is plain silly!

hmm.. ok thx
this one dish... thoug i like it... taking the burden OFF the larki walay BUTTTTTT

my mom says its a bigger prolem... log batein banatay hein etc etc....

^ yeah but people are going to always talk... if not about food, then your clothes or your stage or your hubby or you or your family, etc. its endless. so you can either do things your way and live happily or you can always be stressed about people's gossip and live not so happily :)

If it was UK or USA, all these people won't even say a word, they will think 10 times before breaking the law.

I have been to so many weddings in US and 95% had plated dinner/lunch. You don't even get a second serving. They give you 2 - 3 meat options and you get to choose 1. Every plate has a portion of meat with some sort of carbs and veggi. If you look at it, it is basically the same 1 dish menu concept that the govrnment is trying to impose.

Considering the fact that the country is going through a severe food crisis, it is among the 37 countries on World Bank's list where civil war might errupt because of the shortage of food, I think limiting food to 1 main course dish on events like wedding makes perfect sense.

Oh and how are you going to teach your kids to obey the law when you can't yourself? Just think about all this stuff before looking for illegal means to feed a lavish meal to people who can afford good food.

And if everyone starts respecting the law, koi kisee ko batain nahin keray gaa....

Is this ban only in Punjab or in Sindh too? My in-laws are planning a big walima function for me and hubby in Karachi in december. I would LOVE to see a ban there then…I hate it when people spend huge amount of money on these things. :nook:

**So far this is Punjab ONLY! :smiley:

I think that this is something that negates constitution and a personal right/choice of an individaul. A good idea to have one dish... should be encouraged but not forced. Have you ever heard something like this happening in any other country.??? Forget to dispute if they have such things or not... but I dont think this is right. I already have a one dish booking for my wedding... but if i wanted to add another dish, im the one responsible and im the one paying for it. Tell me this now... if i do a one dish with a caterer in a tent it can cost me around 250-300 per person but if i do it in Peal Continental it will cost me around 900 per person for the same food. So ??? is that fair??? you will now say ... thats a choice. Get my point.

Sindh mai na hey ho toh acha hai :D

If you have a wedding at a hotel, the charges are always more then what you pay for catering in the ground/tent. It really doesn't have much to do with the 1 dish law but the price you have to pay for the hotel. You can have a full 5 dish menu and still the hotel will charge atleast twice the price of the caterer.

hmm...

Yes.

In 2003 or 2004 the government in Indian Kashmir passed a law saying that anyone who threw a wedding with more than 125 guests (75 from the bride's side, and 50 from the groom's) and/or served more than 90 kg of food total would be imprisoned.

The law was met with so much public opposition that it had to be shelved before it even went into effect.

You seemed to have answered ur own question here… and by the way talk about civilized nations man

TOTALLY AGREE!! well said.

err I don't like the idea. You can't just tell people what they can or cant do at their weddings. It's personal. The truth is people who can't afford usually dont have as lavish a menu as people who can anyways. And what about all the people in the catering business? Wedding season is most probably when they make the most money. It's just stupid.

caterers never go out of business, they always are in profit. If it not wedding season then something else like ramzan, muharram, rabiul awal, etc...

That's the problem. The food, particularly in Pakistan, is a tiny portion of wedding costs. The clothes (designer or not), jewels, furniture, etc etc etc are the true expenses. These food restrictions, though, are not dealing with the real issue. They're just creating more of a hassle.

Pakistani government has lost his marbles..first it was some other guy who banned food completely in weddings and now this...these people make mistakes (atta smugling, high prices etc) and then they want the people to make the amendments :S what the hell is their problem...? and i am sure these people themselves would waste so much on their own weddings...like Usaf raza Gillani's son wasted a whole huge ghamla of flower by decorating it on his face/head.

i recently heard someone saying they are supposed to buy the furniture and god knows what...(the list didnt end)for their daughter....because she is getting married....ummmmmmm...isnt the guy supposed to get all that...?? i was so confused...asked mom..she said some people buy it for their daughters so they wont have to face problems...i totally didnt get it...but some how...it fits into the other 'small mentality' scenarios we have seen lately..or maybe since the beginning...i wonder how the guy's family is comfortable accepting all this stuff...in addition to the 'giving away' of the daughter......

Sweet heart people are so laalchi (greedy) these days that they want the daughter, along with fair color and looks and height and long hair and education and they dont stop their they want the family to have cars, and more then one huge house etc but they also want everything else to come with her...its not just small mentality, even a lot of so called modern families prefer that because this shows them to be super duper rich.