Re: wedding gifts
In my opinion you have the right to be specific cuz you don't want uneeded things as gifts. If you are moving after your marriage to a far away place then you should write Please no boxed gifts on the card as that will tell the guests you want money instead or a smaller gift that will be convenient to take with you. You could, if not moving too far (i.e. if your'e not gonna board a plane to move) then ask close family friends for things you do/do not need and be polite about it such as.."InshAllah I hope I don't receive toasters after my wedding b/c etc etc.. If you do want boxed gifts then go for a wedding registry. Many stores offer them. They just give you the price scanner and tell you to scan all items you want people to buy for you. Then on a slip of paper attached inside the envelope of the shaadi card you have written: that you have a registry people need to buy things from and then the location/website of the place where the guests type in your full name and see a list of things you have requested and then they order them offline/in store. Many sites nowadays remove items from the list someone has already brought so as not to have 2 ppl accidentally buy the same gift. Hope this helps!!
Gift registry is also a good idea for a wedding gift, and if you order anything double it will automatically deleted, this way one will know that he/she is not getting the same thing.
LOL desis will never follow the registry stuff!!!
Cash is always the best bet :k: For my friends wedding, one of my friends decided that we should all chip in and buy her ghar ka samaan…she hates the idea of giving money or gift certificates and she said that our friend was going to waste it on mor emakeup or lingerire or watever…but ultimately I went with what my parents said said and give her straight up cash, srr but i dont drive and i’m nto abt to take an expensive set of dishes on teh subway! I’d go with being practical for the gift, save the sentimental/friendship-y stuff for the greeting card!
My aunt made a big mistake at her wedding that was adding the ‘NO BOXED GIFTS PLEASE’ :(to the wedding card and she got all sorts of crap from ppl that she was never going to use,
like 2 iron, crystal bowl, clothes, candles & etc, a ring (real gold, and how was she gonna return that?
we just had it weighed and valued and only recently gave to the bride of the family that had given it to us:hoonh:), blender, food processor and loads other stuff.
She had most of this stuff already and has never actually used the stuff given to her… but hey…
So i would advise you to write down ‘NO BOXED GIFTS PLEASE’, i know it sounds kind of .
.. but hey apney lok will present with all sorts if you don’t specify it
Yeah I think giving gifts is a white thing - but then again desi people are becoming more and more "westernized" when it comes to things like weddings. I never been to a wedding where actual physical gifts were given and all the white weddings I went to have always had guest gift lists. I used to compile those lists as part of my job when i was working at a department store when i was about 16 years old.