Wedding Gift for close cousin in Pakistan

Salaams all,

One of our very close cousins is getting married in Pakistan and three of us siblings want to pool in and give him a really good gift. We’re all students but two of us work part time so we saved up for this and our budget is around 500 US $ unless something is really good and then we’ll stretch the budget a bit.

We want to give something really really nice and special just from us siblings.

Our cousin lives near Islamabad and his wife is from our village. Some ideas we thought of are:

~ an all expenses paid stay in PC Bhurban. They have never been to a place like that so we thought that would be nice, but then again won’t it be a little awkward for them, like what if they feel awkward being in such a high class place? Os it it a good idea? I haven’t been there myself so don’t know what the atmosphere is like.

~ round trip tickets to Lahore with some spending money. Our cousin will probably feel bad taking spending money though so that will have to be given to bhabi. Our cousin has never been on an airplane and his wife has never been out of their village so we thought that would be nice.

Our cousin is in a government job and might not be able to get more holidays so any of these things where they have to leave the city have to be such that they can be availed at any time in the future in the next three/six months or so.

Does anyone know how to go about organising such a thing in the first place? Are there any holiday packages one can buy for Pakistan sitting away from Pakistan?

It doesn’t have to be a trip but it has to be something they both enjoy and its special, not something like another gold set or another technology item.

Hope you guys can make some suggestions…thanks :slight_smile:

send them to gulgit or somewhere up north with an all expense paid plane trip . it would a romantic treat for them :)

Re: Wedding Gift for close cousin in Pakistan

*Originally posted by ~NiQ@Bi~: *

~ round trip tickets to Lahore with some spending money. Our cousin will probably feel bad taking spending money though so that will have to be given to bhabi. Our cousin has never been on an airplane and his wife has never been out of their village so we thought that would be nice.

That sounds like good idea. Sorry, can't help you further about the organisatin, but good luck and best wishes for you cousin and his future wife. :-)

Newerly wedded couples in Pakistan go to the norther part of Pakistan, starting from Faisal Masjid - Murree and up north .. a must for all desis ...call it a desi honeymoon, lol

You didn't mention where in pakistan ur cousin lives, I mean what city?

I have stayed in PC Bhurban ... I can tell u a bit (not much about the palce).

Going to Lahore would only be a good idea if they haven't been to Lahore before .. & not a bad Idea but I would say they should visit Karachi ... let them see how the sea looks like.

Travel agencies down here in Pakistan do arrange Honeymoon packages like that. From Kaghan Naran to Swat n up till Gilgit Chitral.. All packages start from islamabad… depending upon ur choice of places and number of days.. they do arrange the transport as well as hotel stay… U can send the money to some other cousin here n ask him to contact the agency and arrange a tour through them.. thats the only way i can think of … mayb u can think of sumthin more sensible :clown:

Re: Wedding Gift for close cousin in Pakistan

*Originally posted by ~NiQ@Bi~: *
Salaams all,

Our cousin lives near Islamabad and his wife is from our village. Some ideas we thought of are:

Najim, the person lives near Islamabad.

how much does the whole trip costs ?

SaadiaB,

I did get that but I mean near Islamabad can be Taxila or Kotli (Kahsmir) ... is it Faizabad (a town joining Rawalpindi to Islamabad)?

I mean what is the point for an Islamabadi person to go & live in Bhurban (Muree) for honeymoon if they can go there anytime for a weekend?

I would suggest them going to Karachi .... there are several places to see & they can enjoy a walk on a beach ... though it wont feel like walking on a beach in Alicante or San vito la Capo but at least ... sea is there.

Lahore is good too loads of places to see .... particularly historical places ... museums, forts, tombs & gardens.

I shouldn’t post these two links here but they are just for reference only & nothing else ..

http://www.apanlahore.com Lahore Guide

http://www.urskarachi.com Karachi Guide

You can check urself to see what you can choose for them visitwise …

*Originally posted by SaadiaB: *

how much does the whole trip costs ?

Depends on several things..like number of days to the places u r going to visit to the travel agency ... PTDC arranges 5 days tour to up north(kaghan, naran) for upto 40,000 Rs for a couple ... thats the most expensive i heard...so probably other travel agencies would b way lower..

Najim,

I didn't knew that Bhurban is in Muree. I know what you mean of Muree being very near Isb. (one hour drive) and going there any weekend, but you have to see the situation of the couple. The guy has never been on a plane, which would mean he stayed in his area all his life along. The wife has never been outside of her village. Don't you think Karachi would be too much for them, especially if they are spending their honeymoon there. I had a cousin in the same kind of situation and he went to Gilget area, plus he hates the big cities.

Secondly they only have 500 $ for the trip. One way plane ticket for each person costs 100$ .. so that 400$ just for the flight.. which leaves them 100$ for the hotel, food, transport, shopping, gifts ect ... and that's not enough. I think a packaged tour from Isb to Northern Pakistan would be cheaper, if they take the road.

*Originally posted by Aleezay: *

Depends on several things..like number of days to the places u r going to visit to the travel agency ... PTDC arranges 5 days tour to up north(kaghan, naran) for upto 40,000 Rs for a couple ... thats the most expensive i heard...so probably other travel agencies would b way lower..

thanks! 40.000 Rs thats around 650 USD ..

Thank you for all the great ideas and useful information guys!

We are trying to figure out how we can go about arranging this trip. If someone has more info about travel agents or tour packages etc, please do post :)

Thanks once again to everyone. You guys were really helpful.

^ If any of your cousins use a Visa card by Bank Alfalah, they prolly can help you out. Last month they included a leaflet by some Welcome Tours if i remember correctly-that was for trips to Naran and adjoining areas.

Considering the situation, I would strongly recommend them going to a place they can associate themselves more with (meaning not a cosmopolitan like karachi) and what better place to go for than Saiful Muluk :love:

Good luck!

edit: imla aur angrezi grammar ki ghaltian :bummer:

I would suggest you guys check out the weather before heading out, these days there are alot of rains and landslides, so beware if you plan a trip to saifulmaluk!

^ is ko adventure kehte hain :halo:

Spock, thanks :)

Actually, the trip idea was not working out, too many complications and complicated logistical issues to deal with :( We just did something else instead.. :(

Maybe for their anniversary inshallah :D :)

Thanks to all for their help :)