Yea somegroovychick you are right not to have too much going on but dj's are common to have, the live singer is different... but was wondering if other's had any ideas i could consider using - not saying i will consider anything else - just want it to be perfect!
Maybe it would b an idea to hav sum sort of entertainment to keep d kids occupied n so they are out of ur way - bcos many kids jump around near d stage area and parents cant really enjoy themselves fully bcos of this... i heard dat sum girl who got married in d UK had a bouncy castle and face painting goin on at the back end of d hall and it went down well...
Also, heard dat one couple arranged to arrive at d venue in a helicopter on their walima day - and another one where couple came throo an imitation 'cake' on d stage as their special entrance... bizarre, i kno but ppl do all sorts these days... good luck for ur big day nywy!
yup quite a few wedding ive been 2 hired a magician to keep the children occupied especially whn the nikkah was being read or when family members were making speeches, the kiddies really enjoyed it.
for the mehendi, we had those white squares... i can't remember the name now. but a friend of mine had chopped up fresh fruit! it was seriously so much more delicious.
i really wanted my aunts to have a good time at the wedding and not be running around after their young ones or have the older ones poking their fingers in my lovely cake.
uff okay here..kulfi khao! yeah keeping the kids busy..is a GREAT idea indeed! Makes everything else so much more pleasant...no one picking at u're dress..plucking flowers..running around..tripping n flipping..!
I need some ideas for my wedding day, I had my nikkah done 2 years ago and I need some ideas on ways to keep the guest entertained. Any ideas/suggestions? I was thinking of having some live singers or something?
This couple went above and beyond for their amazing wedding. The event had a circus theme. They hired a contortionist , aerialist, jugglers and even a dancer walking on stilts as multiple forms of entertainment.
^^
I personally don't like that idea. Its my wedding day and people should remember my wedding as MY WEDDING.. not some circus or saying oh yeah woh yaad hai clown ne kia kia tha... I don't want that.
In my opinion... live singing is good .. as well as a dance floor setup...
Money Talks, i guess!! I wonder how much that couple spent on entertainment alone... don't like their dresses though, the dulha's sherwani is tooo long..
oops coming back to the topic.. I agree with everything that Spiral has said above. After all its your wedding and you don't want to turn it into a concert or circus of some sort. I really like the qawali idea that someone else posted in a different thread. Its important to keep the guests entertained but no need to go over board with it.
The circus thing is cool but like Spiral said I want ppl to remember a wedding not a circus lol. The dance floor will be there but do people usually dance on the day of the barrat? All the weddings I have been to the dancing was done on the mehndi and reception.
And the infamous speeches by everyone and their mama and chacha gets boring to the bones. I have the same question, what is a good - not over the top - form of entertainment for desi shaadi? I think live singing is a bit too much but i guess im thinking in terms of the rundown/program planned for the night. Ive known ppl to do Q&A about the bride and groom from the guests and then had prizes and stuff, but again, i think thats more of informal and family oriented entertainment, not ur professional live singing entertainment.
In our community there is a trend of having a slideshow on a big screen that showcases special pictures of both the bride and the groom. The pics start off on each individual at various important times in their lives (birth, first day of kindergarten, birthdays etc) and culminates into pics of their engagement, them as a couple, nikkah, other pre-shaadi festivities including mehndi. There is always background music to the pics as well.
I have seen this be done very tastefully due to how professional the slideshow looks and how perfect the pictures are to the songs. Usually these slideshows use a LOT of songs which is what ultimately keeps the guests entertained in my opinion.
I have also seen them look very paindu … as if a inexperienced younger sibling was given this task and they decided to throw it together the night before the baraat. Definitely not good. So if you decide to go with this idea, do some research and either hire someone or get someone to do it that has experience. Go through your albums and hubbys albums YOURSELF and YOU pick out the pictures YOU WANT (well the two of you together). It’s bad when you give someone else this responsibility completely.
Hm… in our community no one dances on the baraat day either. Only on the Mehndi and Valima. But in my fiances community, people dance on the day of the baraat as well… so I guess it’s just about what kind of norm your community follows. If you and your fam doesnt care about the norm - have dancing on the day of the baraat!
There is this game I played at my brothers wedding. Basically, you have to ask the bride and groom questions on how well they know eachother.
You ask the groom about 10 questions (amount of questions depends on how long you want the game to last) and ask the bride 10 questions as well. You don't disclose the answers to neither the groom or the bride. Only the person asking the question should know the answers.
After that, get 8 of those white mini writing boards or paper with markers will suffice as well. (6 for playing members, 1 for bride, 1 for groom)
Find 3 people who know the groom very well, 3 people who know the bride very well. You sit the teams up in front of the bride and groom. You can have one or two people hosting this game. One team goes first and then the other.
Let's say grooms team goes first. Host will ask the question. The grooms side along with the bride AND groom have 10 seconds to answer the question by writing it down. Once the 10 seconds are over, each member will show their answer individually, then the bride will and then the groom. If the grooms team answers match the grooms, then the grooms side gets the point BUT if the bride answer matches, then the brides side gets the point. If BOTH answers match, then both teams are given a point. If no ones answers match, then no point.
** From the team members, at least 2 out of the 3 have to get the answer right to win, if 1 gets it right and others don't, the point will not count **
The game gets very competitive so if you decide to do this... Do mention its all for fun and games! lol. The audience will have a fun time watching and the people playing will also have a great time. At least, I hope so! =-)