webcam

ok guys.
i’ve been looking at webcams for a long time now. and after quiet a bit of thinking if narrowed my search down to logitech pro 4000 or the 3com homeconnect.

The only thing about the 3com homeconnect is that it has been discontinued. but i can still get it. it’s 640x480. it’s good quality pictures in bad lighting are particularly surprising.

The pro 4000 looks pretty good. 1.3 mp. 640x480. but i read quiet a bit of reviews complaining about logitech products. and problems regarding their webcam picture quality.

Thus i’m undecided. If u guys can help i’d appreciate it.
Also if u guys know any other trusted cameras which would are really good then tell me.

logitech sucks. they r only good at making mousepads now. go for the 3com.

I am not sure what your budget is but if you can affoard than go for
Viacom Web Cam - from Polycom Conferencing Systems. Its 34fps and image size does not alter the picture quality or communication packets. Its the ultimate webcam I have ever seen.

I personally installed tons of em at JP Morgan, Foriegn Exchange department and bought one formyself as wel.

It will cost you $500USD but its worth spending that much money.
Has * * * * * 5 Star rating for video/web conferencing.

One thing I should remind you that it does require HSI either Cable or DSL

dang $500. naah. i don't have that much for a webcam.
i would love to get it. but i just can't afford that much.

thanx though.

A typical webcam costs (US) $30-70 (I got mine for free after $50 mail-in rebate). And you have been researching on them for "a long time"?

Just go to "Electronic Fry's" or "Circuit City" and check out their deals and the aisles. I am sure you will find something within your budget. Later, if you don't like it, you can always return it within 30 days (keep the receipt). Buying a webcam is not such a complex ordeal, as they don't have as many confusing functionalities as e.g. camcorders or digital cameras.

I got mine in RS 1750/- (around $30) with one year warrenty, what else do u need?:D… its from manufacturer is Creative & its of 352x288, the one with 640x480 was for RS 3500/- that was cheap & cool too but then u cant vedeo confrence properly from my slow ISP’s :frowning:

:bravo:

yes i know. buying a webcam is not such a big ordeal.

but i've noticed that pic quality of webcams does kinda suck. and i want it mostly to take my pics and email them to people. so i want good quality pics.
that's why i was gonna go for the pro 4000. but i still don't know yet.

Here you go I just pulled some of the cameras and their prices for you
Good Luck and have Fun, buy USB as they are less painfull :hehe:

QUICKCAM EXPRESS USB DV CAMERA FOR PC ONLY
(Logitech) - (9611210403)
$28.00

CREATIVE PC-CAM 750
(Creative Labs) - (73PD023000000)
$95.95

PRO VIDEO PC CAMERA
(Intel) - (IPCC5CS)
$109.00

QUICKCAM WEB USB PC VIDEO CAMERA W/MICROPHONE NOTEBOOK
(Logitech) - (9611190403)
$29.00

QUICKCAM VC USB DV CAMERA PC AND MAC
(Logitech) - (9611110100)
$21.00

QUICKCAM EXPRESS USB DV CAMERA FOR PC ONLY
(Logitech) - (9611210403)

$28.00

CREATIVE PC-CAM 750
(Creative Labs) - (73PD023000000)
$95.95

PRO VIDEO PC CAMERA
(Intel) - (IPCC5CS)

$109.00

QUICKCAM WEB USB PC VIDEO CAMERA W/MICROPHONE NOTEBOOK
(Logitech) - (9611190403)
$29.00

QUICKCAM VC USB DV CAMERA PC AND MAC
(Logitech) - (9611110100)
$21.00

QUICKCAM FOR NOTEBOOKS WEB CAMERA FOR NOTEBOOK PC S
(Logitech) - (9612410403)
$48.00

CREATIVE PC CAM 600 USB 1.3MP
(Creative Labs) - (70PD023000000)
$124.95

INTEL PC CAMERA PACK CLUB SKU
(Intel) - (CICP3)
$53.00

LABTEC WEBCAM PC INTERNET VIDEO CAMERA
(Labtec) - (9612060403)
$10.99

PC-CAM 350 DIGITAL CAMERA PD1060 WEB PC DSC 640X480 USB
(Creative Labs) - (73PD106000000)
$53.00

PC-CAM 300 DIGITAL CAMERA PD0160 WEB PC DSC 640X480 USB
(Creative Labs) - (70PD016003000)
$57.95

IBOT2 USB2 WEBCAM W/ 2 PORT USB2 PCI CARD
(Orange Micro Inc.) - (70USB90051)
$75.00

MICRO WEBCAM BASIC PC VIDEO CAMERA DESKTOP MOUNT 100K PIXEL
(Micro Innovations) - (IC50C)
$14.49

D-LINK DUAL MODE DIG CAM/PC WEB CAM
(D-Link) - (DSC350F)
$49.00

MICRO WEBCAM (TRILINGUAL) PC VIDEO CAMERA W/COLOR FACE PLATES
(Micro Innovations) - (IC100CTRL)
$30.95

USB WEBCAM 300K PIXELS 30 FPS 16.7M COLORS PC VIDEO CAMERA
(Hawking Technology) - (UC310)
$38.02

INTEL EASY PC CAMERA PACK
(Intel) - (IPCC4E)
$45.88

INTEL POCKET PC CAMERA
(Intel) - (IPCC4PKT)
$119.00

VEO CONTACT USB DIGITAL/VIDEO PC CAMERA 352X288 CMOS IMAGING
(Xirlink Incorporated) - (V300000)
$23.29

VEO ADVANCED CONTACT USB PC CAMERA 640X480 CMOS IMAGING
(Xirlink Incorporated) - (V400000)
$38.82

PC-CAM 550 DIGITAL CAMERA WEB 8 MB PD1020 USB
(Creative Labs) - (73PD102000000)
$74.74

HOME PC CAMERA
(Intel) - (IPCC5NP2)
$42.99

IBM PC CAMERA PRO-BEIGE (WHTBX)
(Xirlink Incorporated) - (33L4891B)
$32.42

IBM PC PC Camera Pro 640x480 BMP/JPEG Digital Camera
(Xirlink Incorporated) - (33L4891)
$28.07

XIRLINK PC CAMERA WHITE BOX BEIGE
(Xirlink Incorporated) - (XZP300B)
$29.49

QUICKCAM FOR NOTEBOOKS WEB CAMERA FOR NOTEBOOK PC S
(Logitech) - (9612410403)
$48.00

CREATIVE PC CAM 600 USB 1.3MP
(Creative Labs) - (70PD023000000)
$124.95

INTEL PC CAMERA PACK CLUB SKU
(Intel) - (CICP3)
$53.00

LABTEC WEBCAM PC INTERNET VIDEO CAMERA
(Labtec) - (9612060403)
$10.99

PC-CAM 350 DIGITAL CAMERA PD1060 WEB PC DSC 640X480 USB
(Creative Labs) - (73PD106000000)
$53.00

PC-CAM 300 DIGITAL CAMERA PD0160 WEB PC DSC 640X480 USB
(Creative Labs) - (70PD016003000)
$57.95

IBOT2 USB2 WEBCAM W/ 2 PORT USB2 PCI CARD
(Orange Micro Inc.) - (70USB90051)
$75.00

MICRO WEBCAM BASIC PC VIDEO CAMERA DESKTOP MOUNT 100K PIXEL
(Micro Innovations) - (IC50C)
$14.49

D-LINK DUAL MODE DIG CAM/PC WEB CAM
(D-Link) - (DSC350F)
$49.00

MICRO WEBCAM (TRILINGUAL) PC VIDEO CAMERA W/COLOR FACE PLATES
(Micro Innovations) - (IC100CTRL)
$30.95

USB WEBCAM 300K PIXELS 30 FPS 16.7M COLORS PC VIDEO CAMERA
(Hawking Technology) - (UC310)
$38.02

INTEL EASY PC CAMERA PACK
(Intel) - (IPCC4E)
$45.88

INTEL POCKET PC CAMERA
(Intel) - (IPCC4PKT)
$119.00

VEO CONTACT USB DIGITAL/VIDEO PC CAMERA 352X288 CMOS IMAGING
(Xirlink Incorporated) - (V300000)
$23.29

VEO ADVANCED CONTACT USB PC CAMERA 640X480 CMOS IMAGING
(Xirlink Incorporated) - (V400000)
$38.82

PC-CAM 550 DIGITAL CAMERA WEB 8 MB PD1020 USB
(Creative Labs) - (73PD102000000)
$74.74

HOME PC CAMERA
(Intel) - (IPCC5NP2)
$42.99

IBM PC CAMERA PRO-BEIGE (WHTBX)
(Xirlink Incorporated) - (33L4891B)
$32.42

IBM PC PC Camera Pro 640x480 BMP/JPEG Digital Camera
(Xirlink Incorporated) - (33L4891)
$28.07

XIRLINK PC CAMERA WHITE BOX BEIGE
(Xirlink Incorporated) - (XZP300B)
$29.49

:eek:

yaar salman bhai. tussi great ho :k:

yaar aik kaam aur karo. ab yeh bhi bata do keh in mayn say kaunsa lon. becuase i want good quality pics to email to my family members.

Although 3com has stopped the production of their webcams but still it is considered to be one of the best in the market (Home users only). It will cost you probably around $100-140 UDS or may be less.

Intel has some good webcams as well, there is one that can be used as digital camer and a webcam, also Kodak has the similar product.

When you are buying a webcam there are few points to consider:

1. Built in Processor for cam itself (very very important)*
  2. Frame per second
  3. Resolution - higher the better
  4. USB 2.0 compatible
  5. Warranty
  6. (Last but not least) The Cost

*some vendors will fool you by saying oh yeah it has a built in processor but that could only for still images not for streaming data

Good Luck and don’t forget to post your picture :k:

*Originally posted by salman_2you: *
PRO VIDEO PC CAMERA
(Intel) - (IPCC5CS)
$109.00

Thats the one i have..the good thing abt it is that it has video input so u can record videos from external sources such as tv...but the bad point is the qual of the external vid isnt so great. But the pics are great...but it takes some tuning.