Web Design and Ideas

I have always been lacking in Graphics Design.. whenever i start developing a website, i try my best to avoid opening up Fireworks or Photoshop.. I consider myself good with programming but after thinking for awhile, i realized that no matter how creative my programming might be.. without a nice layout design, its not that impressive.

So, my mission .. try to learn new techniques and share ideas regarding web design..

My request to all my bhais and behens who are interested.. can we share different design ideas and techniques in this thread? Can you share some sample applications that you have developed in the past and see if we can learn from them?

I will start with my own website.. (i must have designed it like 6 million times, and i am still not happy with the layout, color and stuff).. Share your comments.. good or bad…

Design interms of colors and graphics depends alot on person’s own taste.. some like orange.. while some like pink.. can’t say both are wrong or right but there is always that one middle design combo that makes both users say “WOW”..

I will be doing my research on this topic in coming days and months and hopefully as i go i will try to post as many helpful articles here as possible. :slight_smile:

Re: Web Design and Ideas

I'm with you bro ... when it comes to colour combinations and desgin, I suck big time :p .. what I usually do is visit design website and check what's in and then pick up bits from here and there and come up with a cocktail design [which isn't always a success] :p

Check out cost.

Err.. Get a girl in your group.

^ I see that there is pun intended there .... :P ... but the fact remains that guys are of the best web designers and animators

^:rotfl: hahahahah, damn WD, don’t say that.

Actually I wont agree with you WD; I have/had come across several guys, who are ‘the best’ in art. My bro is a graphic designer, so go figure. He comes up with amazing layouts, I don’t think I have seen that kind of ability in anyone yet even in a girl.

Ansoon, I would suggest that you should get ur hands dirty. Just play with colors, pick up some pictures from net, take photo snaps, try to manipulate them. I am sure you will be able to find ur way in, there is an artist in all of us. We just have to dig lil bit deeper. :wink:

yeh, there certainly is an artist in all of us and we are all actors who come to this world [a stage], play our roles and leave [Shakespear]

However, I'm afraid the same isn't true for MS Access .. it doesn't come naturally :p

It has nothing to do with Girls or boys.. its a simple fact of life some ppl are more gifted than others. I know girls who can do good programming and i know guys who have great design sense..

Lets stick to the topic here.. do you have any ways of designing nice graphics? any tips? any tricks?

Adobe Photoshop.

[quote=“nos”]
I’m with you bro … when it comes to colour combinations and desgin, I suck big time :stuck_out_tongue: .. what I usually do is visit design website and check what’s in and then pick up bits from here and there and come up with a cocktail design [which isn’t always a success] :stuck_out_tongue:

Check out [
warez :D]( … they have some nifty designs available at )

Ama NOS yaar, u need to read the rules and regulations of this forums :stuck_out_tongue:
Phir saari pol khol di, bad secret keeper :bailan:

I hear ya bro...
back in the days when I used to be current with all web development techs and tools, I used to get really frustrated with myself in not being able to make websites look “pretty” – and when I say look, I refer to its aesthetic appeal and not usability. I tried learning Photoshop, Fireworks etc. but it just wasn't my cup of tea and I simply outsourced that part of website development to someone who was good at it... we all have our own core competencies.

Over the years, I’ve read up a lot on web usability and the one feature that researchers still contend with often in contrasting viewpoints is the visual aspect of websites.

Nonetheless, these days, a lot of designers are moving away from simply talking about “aesthetic impressions” of websites and have starting concentrating on the “aesthetic fidelity” of websites which basically refers to the use of visual elements to elicit specific types of feelings… for e.g. what types of images, shapes, colors, fonts etc. to use to make your site look adorable vs sexy… elegant vs futuristic etc.

I think this type of research will have many good outcomes and its only a matter of time when all designers will become very accustomed to thinking multi-dimensionally and this notion will become second-nature to most.

Ansoon well there could be a lot of em, depending on what you are thinking of, some ppl prefer to use different graphics and merge them together to create a new picture. If you know what I mean.

I personally use different pictures to make a embose kinda thing with different shadding. As for backgrounds use lighter colors or could be dark, depending on the website material, you can choose the color scheme.

Thanks Umar: It is really amazing, I learn something from each and every post of yours.

Thanks Umar Bhai, that was really helpful

pagaldeewani: i know what you mean, but if you look at www.templatemonster.com their designs are pretty good.. its the imagination + creativity + talent + ideas that are producing those designs..

i don’t want to rip off a design or use a template but i do want to learn how to achieve that level of design sense.. i knw it can be done.. coz i didn’t knw programming and i have learned alot and achieved a certain level..

alright.. i have finailized on design on my latest project: HERE Your reviews on usability and design itself would be great.. i want to make sure that it is easy to use and that the information is passed on properly..

thanks

:smack: :smack2: … sorry :frowning:

Yaar Ansoon, the design ain't that bad ... I like it you know ... its nice and clean. White BG always stands out from the rest I say. Amm ... only if you could do something with the dots, I mean, align them properly ... partition the space equally and not just whenever and where-ever you want 'em. [just my n00b comment]

Yup true that, don’t worry you will do it. Its just gonna take a lil while to come around :slight_smile:

as for your project, I don’t know there is something missing. Its not catching my attention. Its good and all, but do something about colors and logo. Colors are quiet dull. I know that you said you can’t help it, but I am sure you will come up with something. Ponder ur brain for the time being.

I am sorry, I am just honest about my opinion.

Thanks NOS and Pagaldeewani...

I will see what adjustments i can make to design..

LOL, nos puttar aunty naraz hongi abb :>

Sh3ry ki bhi laal tapak rahi hai warez dekh kar :clown:

Mod log bhi so rahay hain :smiley: