Wearing your wedding dress at cousin's wedding

So I am going through this debate with my mom and aunts about how I don’t feel comfortable dressing up like a dulhan for my cousin’s shaadi. I have thought about wearing my lehnga for either my sister or brother wedding but I don’t feel appropriate to wear my heavy jewelery and lehnga for my cousin’s wedding. How do you feel about this?

Also, we have a pretty good relationship with all our cousins but not quiet so much that we are best friends!

Re: Wearing your wedding dress at cousin's wedding

i always hated the idea of dressing up in dulhan outfit...it takes so much away from the bride...

Re: Wearing your wedding dress at cousin’s wedding

:nono4:acha nahi lagta khas toor pai males kay liay.banda cheapster lagta hai

you could wear your wedding shirt (if its long) with trousers or something, but wearing the wedding lenga/sahara etc is a no-no, it doesn't look classy me thinks..

ditto for jewelry, just wear the earrings maybe

I think you can wear the outfit to a close relative's/friend's wedding. Avoid putting the dupatta on your head or wearing a jhoomer. Depending on how heavy the dress is, you can cut back on some of the jewelry.

See the problem is that my dress is full of kaam and it is soo heavy that I just won't be comfortable if the bride is wearing a dress and jewellery that is less heavier than mine.. I hate to take away a brides day from her :( Masallah my parents spend a lot of money on my jewelery and clothes so I know why my mom keeps telling me to use it again but I think having a close relation like brother or sister is different than cousins.. just my opinion! Even with my sister or brother I would probably wear it on their mehndi day instead of their wedding or valima reception.

i m against the whole idea of girls dressing up like dulhans at another wedding. Maybe you can ask ur cousin and see what she says. Few of my cousins wanted to wear their bridal at my wedding and asked me if that was ok with me...and i said please dont...i m pretty sure they were offened but well its my day :)

There is no way you will be able to outshine the dulhan, I've seen heavy bridal horas worn to others' weddings, and they never outshine the bride. Wear very little jewelry. It's not a big deal.

I wore my lengha with only the ear rings (no tika, jhoomar or necklace) and just a kara at my cousin's wedding. It came out fine. Plus I had my duppata pined only to my shoulder so it looked casual not bridal.

It's no biggy...you just have to feel comfortable with what you wear.

I would save it for my siblings, but if thats not happening anytime soon, then wear it to ur cousins..maybe u can get a lighter dupatta made (cuz i know its probably heavy and a pain to pin on ur shoulder)...and yeah, please no jhummar and tikka. but please dont get ur hubby to wear the matching sherwani..that would too much. :P

Haha Afshi.. there is no way he would ever wear his sherwani again I think! We both agree that he looks much much better in western wear :)

I wore my wedding outfit again to a wedding in the family...

However, I ditched the lehnga and wore trousers with the bridal shirt. I didnt wear the dupatta on my head but draped it nicely and kept the jewelry simple.

Reha- The problem is that i got married in 2008 when the shirts were still medium lenght, but I guess if my mom and aunts absolutely feel that I should go ahead then Ill go ahead and do just earrings and tikka and skip the necklace. What do you guys think about that?

no tikka and no necklace...the dupatta and lengha are overwhelming itself. maybe some nice earrings :)

Nice choice Afshi

its true, if your already so cautious of the dress looking to bridal then definitely no heavy jewelry or tikka. just get some nice churiaan with earings and a small pendent necklace but no tikka otherwise you will stand out like a bride.

i mean i also dont agree that you will outshine the bride but keep it simple. also is your dress red? if its a non traditional then thats also not as bad...but if your cousin is also wearing a similar colour then...thats definitely a no no..skip out on the dress all together or wear your valima outfit.

in general i dont think theres anything wrong with it as long as you keep it simple

man! i cant wait to wear my lengha! SOMEONE in my family needs to get married!

i think you could wear the lengha, tikka and earrings and pin your dupatta on the side. do without the necklace if its too big and go lighter with the makeup. and hairdo. you'll look fab! :)

if u wear it then i think u should only wear earrings and maybe 2 bangles thats it. might be a good idea to keep the make up quite light too :)

I think you could wear it but with a lighter dupatta, minimal jewelry and light makeup/hairdo - but at the end of the day the bride's the bride and all eyes will be on her no matter how dressed up anyone is in my opinion. :)