Wearing a Niqab in the West

Re: Wearing a Niqab in the West

So proud of this post. We still have brave sisters Left. MashAllah.

and who told you that?

i'd like to know...seriously

^I cannot find word "niqaab" in quran or hadith.

you can call it bidah hsanah.

Wearing niqab in the west is not a good idea, people will look at you, will stare at you, so you will be attracting others towards you by wearing niqab in this society and thats not the purpose of hijab, also you might scare some children away, seriously.

i sooooooo agree with you. :k:
in fact people get attracted with their eyes :smack:

ps. AOA hareem api :blush:

Peace Sister Sarah Splendor

MashaAllah I can only admire your love for Islam for you are prepared to go this step. Things you will need to know about niqab:

1) It is not required as part of hijab, but is seen by some as an extension to it as equal in reward or greater reward. It cannot be called a bad thing. However it can be called a dangerous thing.

2) It's danger resides in two areas ... The danger can be one of physical safety and the other is the danger of being under the microscope.

3) The purpose of hijab is to avoid lustful attention and to protect in this manner. Though niqab indeed prevents lustful attention to the face, it doesn't protect the woman if her attitude is not one of hijab.

I have seen sisters on front pages of newspapers showing the finger to the camera men, this is not hijab regardless of them wearing niqab, because they are acting unIslamically. Wearing lots of perfume and walking in an enticing manner nulifies the benefit of wearing a niqab.

4) Be prepared to scare little children

5) Be prepared for gestures and taunts

6) Also be prepared for other activities such as going to restaurants to eat, taking off the niqab once it is worn in public actually draws attention, makes people wonder and say oh so that is what she looks like underneath.

7) Lastly, be prepared to isolate your friend list with those who have families. It is fine when women are both in niqab, but if your friend does not wear niqab and you do, and your hubby if you have one meet her husband your friend would consider it unfair that your husband can see her face, but her husband cannot see your face. It becomes an elitist thing.

In fact niqab does serve the purpose for elitist women, public speakers and women scholars and wives of the prophet those in the limelight for other reasons may as well wear the niqab in fact that is what is advised, but then it does come with baggage.

These are practical realities with the niqab and not religious pros or cons. I think if the sister can be really well behaved and show signs of brilliance then those sisters under media attention will portray a good image of our niqabi sisters. inshaAllah.

What I am actually saying is that niqab can be a fitnah in our society, but responsibility when taken and executed well is also well rewarded.

Asalamo Alaikum,

I'm wearing the Niqaab and I have to admit most people here don't like it, I don't care, I'm doing it for the sake of Allah(SWT), I feel so protected and proud in it. I take all of the taunts, none of them is as bad as what Hazrat Muhammad(SAW) had experienced when he proclaimed to be the Messenger of Allah(SWT).

I can't wear it inside of school though, which upsets me, I also hide it in front of my family as they are non-Muslims uggh... =/

What shocks me the most is the anti-sentiments I get from Muslims themselves, who say "You're going to extreme", "You need not do that it's not farz anyways", none of them is supportive and you're labbled a Wahabbi merely for making an attempt to get closer to Allah'tala.

MashAllah sister you are taking such a great step,may Allah swt gives you courage ,strenghtand keep you steadfast in this act.Sarah when you do something for the pleasure of Allah swt then Allah swt's unseen help will surely come for you inshAllah.I also wear niqab Alhmadulillah and i stay in the west,but Alhamdulillah i have never faced difficulty in driving ,going to public places like mall,grocery stores,medical centers,hospital,airport etc.Infact i feel they give me so much more respect Alhamdulillah.And i know a handful of girls over here who do it,mashAllah they are all so strong and steadfast on it.

What did women do when Islam was florishing over the world including Europe, Africa and Asia?

No one takes a second look on woman in west if wearing simple lose clothes even to those who might be very attractive.

The kind of women who draw attention are those who wear very tight, revealing clothess-miniskirt, a stylish hairdo or high heels which makes sound.

Other kind of women who draw unnecessary attention but not attraction are those who wear niqab or unusual looking Abaya etc.

There is another kind popular in west and other places.
Tight jean or jean overall and shirt which is full sleeves and scarf but face full of make-up.

Anyhow showing face does not seem to be so bad. No one would notice if her action is just usual. As long as modest lose clothes with no flashy colors are worn. If going out with flashy clothes a simple shawl may be enough.

Some women are called 'boogie-man' in west and some get children say 'Oh My God'. is it Halloween already? Certainly not the way to introduce islam.

Some think its insecurity of husbands to ask their wives do strict niqab or purdah.

Let me ask one or two questions:

If someone looks at a woman with casual look while walking in opposite direction. What happens? The sky falls off?

There are many attractive men for women walking on street. How come no one stops women looking at them?

Most of people in west are now getting used to veil however.

Well I certainly care more about Allah(SWT) than I do about people's opinions, especially as I come from a western family.

It bothers me that people are allowed to wear extremely skimply clothes, yet no one feels provoced by that. I never told anyone to wear "more", but on contrary I get to hear I should wear "less" and that's just not getting on my mind. Everyone is entitled to his/her dresscode in the west, so why should I form my clothes according to the opinion of westeners? I'm free to wear whatever I like to wear so where lies the problem?

If people were seriously interested in Islam they would ask others about it, additonally there's also a lot of events which explain Islam and there's enough people to make dawa3h.

i m in Pakistan, i use to do niqab (covering face) n hijab ,abaya.
few months back i went to US with my hubby n 1 yr old son.
one day we were waiting for a cab (though we had called for it).
a cab came (though it was not for us)my hubby went to ask him,that uncle was also frm Pakistan.we started our journey.......

in short, when we reached home he said:

"ap sy kuch nahi ley sakta, apki wife meri beti jesi hy., mey to wahan ghar k kisi kaam sy aya tha k mey ny bachi ko niqab mey dekha to aagaya k apko help chahiye hogi. ap koi baat na kern mujhy shermindagi ho gi plzz."

n i realized k aj b Islam ke respect kee jati hy.

Mash'allah, fazeelat, it's good to hear such stories :D mein bohot kush hoon to see how some people still respect our deen.

This is the problem when you focus on the letter and forget the spirit.

It doesn't say anywhere that you have to cover your face. The idea is to be modest and God has said that He is merciful if you cannot.

By going to such extreme lengths of wearing Hijaab and Niqaab you are violating the whole spirit of the exercise.

I wish some Maulana with a half (or even tenth of a functioning brain will come and explain this to you people.

Well there are certainly enough Aalims to say that Niqaab is indeed encouraged. How do you believe you know what is BEST for us? Why do you criticse women who wear the niqaab? Aren't we entitled to our own dresscode? You truly believe a woman is modest if she's wearing skin-tight clothes? You think I'm not having any "spirit" I observe the rules of Islam e.g. namazz, ramazan etc. I try to be as nice as possible.

What makes you believe you're in any position to tell a woman if she should wear a niqaab or not? Are you even an Aalim?

He's "rightous".

Are women ashamed of who they are? Did they commit any crime?

Why cover the face?

Covering body shape or certain parts seems logical. But covering face.....makes no sense.

I see no problem with it. I don't see how they "forget the spirit" by wearing hijab or niqab. I doubt you'll find any maulana, even with a 100% working brain who would tell women that they are only focusing on the letter and forgetting the spirit by wearing hijab or niqab.

Surely not.

Probably it doesn't to you but it does to others.

:biggthumb