So the season of see-through lawn suits is in and you can’t find a single top with full sleeves, what do you do? Where do you shop? I hate shopping online because I have to try stuff on before I can buy it. I have been looking for a top to wear with these really pretty skirts I have, but can’t find any. I hate layering in the summer also especially if its like 90 some degrees out there.
For lawn shalwar kameez, I just buy really good quality lawn and buy it in dark colors and get it sewed with full sleeves. For western, I have no clue what to do! I loved it few years back when they had those tunics. And I can’t pull off those tops which make you look pregnant and my husband hates them. What do I do ![]()
Re: Wearable clothes for hijabans
Come to NYc babes ill take u shopping ![]()
Just buy the fabric and have them tailored? You have SO many more options than most hijabi's as a desi.
^ thats what i do , i will start a thread with pics and ideas of shirts and tunics that i am planning to make in pakistan this august inshallah!
You can have an idea of the possibilities and creations u can make out of an simple fabric!
^ Okay def do that. It would just cost so much here in the US. I am so stupid, my hubby was just in Pakistan and I sent clothes with him to get sewed but no tunics or anything. Stupid stupid me.
you have to really look a lot for decent yet fashionable full sleeved western wear, just search search and search...but it does exist...
i live in MA and in spring i went shopping for some summer stuff... found a couple of these really nice strechy/cotton fabric empire waste type frocks at filenes b similar to those that are iin in pak, but in the west here they are meant to be worn just as dresses in summer ...I wear those with striaght legged pants or any types of jeans/ khakis...these dresses go upto your knees so with pants, and long sleeves (i know its harder to find long sleeves, but if u keep looking you do come across some) they look pretty decent on a hijaban like myself..coz they hide your butt/hips and you feel totally covered up in clothing that's lose enough yet not too much and is aslo still very fashionable...
i know what you mean about the tops that are very similar in style to maternty style clothes, but the dresses i happened to get were a little fitted, even though they had empire wastes and 'chunnatein' right under the bust.
i go shopping for my sister quite a lot and she also does the whole dress + jeans/ pants thing. If you cant find dresses with long sleeves then just buy whatever you get thats decent. If the dress is sleeveless then wear a well coordinated long sleeve shirt underneath, and if the dress is strapless then wear a nice jacket on top (the short-ish type)... and the hijab will cover whatever you shirt/ jacket doesn't, inshAllah :)
I guess its even easier in winter coz all you need is a long coat and pants.
waise skirts ke saath tou bohto kuch chal ja ta hai.
I had a friend who would just get her kamiz stiched such that it was plain and went well with a lot of pants.
Oh.... i think it is better to get personalised stitching done... else it is not very satisfactory...:)
Have u got monsoon there? They usually have good stuff. Otherwise, some places have tunics in the beachwear section, with the sarongs.
We don't have Monsoon here! Its very expensive though. I love their children's outfits!! Great quality!!
I always get my shalwar suits sewn. If a dress is short/half/3/4 sleeves, i wear arm socks with it.
For non desi attire, i wear abayas a lot. Also NY and Co has some nice long shirts every season, i recently saw some at Target too. You might want to check these places out. I also like to wear skirts quite a bit and people always comment on how nice they look (i buy my skirts whenever i am in the middle east).
Oh yeah, for western attire, like pinks said, do long dresses with pants if you like. thats what i do and just wear a long sleeved shirt underneath. I have a bunch in neutral colors from old navy like black,white, gray etc.
Im not hijabi or anything but I do dress pretty modest. I have the same problem...finding full sleeves, tops that arent see through, pants that fit well but not tight, etc. I hate layering in the summer because it gets so HOT but no choice. I have a lot of shawls for that reason and jackets and cardigans...can wear them over anything.
I love fall because i can actually find stuff that i can wear
Theres so much you can do with jackets/shawls and layering ![]()
midnight some of those are really cute!
i’m a hijabi, i really don’t have a problem finding nice stuff…i love ardenb for dresses which i wear over pants and you have to really pick and choose but you can find some really nice stuff in forever21…and its cheap :)))