We are different as we are dynamic

Last Saturday evening I went to an Indian party at a place called Paisley in NYC. I had not been to an Indian party in a while and was quite glad to see the traditions that my friends had set forth a decade ago are still being carried on, bigger and better.

The wonderful dholak mixed with western beats, the swaying of women to the mesmerizing lyrics of bollywood songs and the oscillation of shoulders to go native at the very indication of bhangra.

The crowds are as varied as the music compilation. The young’ns in their hip huggers. The older women in their hip huggers. The hip hop crew, the bankers, the doctors…a perfect melange of India represented. The beer, the scotch and the vodka are flowing. The music never stops until you leave.

people of all regions in India came. From gujratis to Malyalees, from Punjabis to Marathis. WAh!!

If any of you come to NYC, do check out some of these parties. Albeit my days are over, once in a while they are such a blast and can drum up nostalgic memories.

*>>>mesmerizing lyrics of bollywood *

Ok, that was going a bit too far bhaijaan.

dude u forgot to mention the requisite fights that break out without fail in these parties.

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
dude u forgot to mention the requisite fights that break out without fail in these parties.

I think this one was pre-screened. Thank god, I know what you mean though.

AJ: Yaar...comeon. Live a little! Move your shoulders up and down a little to "KuRi Punjaban"

Chaltahai Bhaijan. Akaylay Akaylay? Bhiajan I was free last Saturday should you want to know.

This is the last time I made friend with a idol worshiping Hindu.

*Originally posted by NYAhmadi: *
Chaltahai Bhaijan. Akaylay Akaylay? Bhiajan I was free last Saturday should you want to know.

This is the last time I made friend with a idol worshiping Hindu.

I was with "you know who". Aapke sang to akalay hee chalna hai. It's a lot better then anyway.

I want to pry Rom away from the swamps of Jersey and have him make a trip (outside of Soho) to NYC. But the sumbich likes them lounges. I will arrange for one of these pre-qualified evenings to insure the music, the talent;) and the attendance is refined.

Dhanaywar Bhaijan. That’s more like my Bhaijan.

chalta hai

as a puranna paapi of the desi party circuit in the north east, I do think that some other aspects of thesw parties have to be brought to attention.

1- People go in theiur groups, generally stay with their groups and generally leave with their groups

2 In general you will only be able to mix with strangers..if someone in their group knows someone in your group.

3 this holds 200% more for talking to guys or girls that you do not know

4 If you approach someone that you dont know, she would all of a sudden generate many "bhais" who will want to kick your butt. amonf those bhais would be other hopefuls. former rejects and current stakeholders.

5 too many desis just dont know how to hold their liqour..get wasted and provide a mix of annoyance and amusement at the same time

6 Cops almost always have to come in to break fights

7 People of different ethnic groups as well as social standing usually do not mix, unless it is a fight

Desi dance parties have a real high school clique-ish feel to it..

They are fun, but they get old.

Fraudz: you are right about a lot of it, you party pooper!That's why it is good to go somewhere refined and pre-qualified. I know a lot of professional associations like AAPI and Netip plus the area B-schools and Medschools that sponsor some of these. These are the ones I was referring to. Cliques apply for sure and the community has gotten large but the concept of "six degrees of separation" is actually reduced to two in the professional and academic circles.

Chalta Hai

yesh those pre screened events which were usually invitation only were kewl. great chances to socialize, network and just have a good time. I had an opportunity to attend some of those as well and they rocked.

I dont know if I sound like an elitist when i say this..but crowds matter. I get tired of the riff raffs and their lameness quickly.

Since I have been away from the Northeast region for sometime now, I dont know if things are the same or if they have changed any.

*Originally posted by Chaltahai: *
the concept of "six degrees of separation" is actually reduced to two in the professional and academic circles.

dang..it would be weird if you turn out to be my neighbours' dad's bridge partner's son or something :D

waisay...if these are such select events..why do u want to take Roman there :D

hahahahahahhaaa. Good one fraudz! He's paying that's why!

Chalta Hai

yesh those pre screened events which were usually invitation only were kewl. great chances to socialize, network and just have a good time. I had an opportunity to attend some of those as well and they rocked.

I dont know if I sound like an elitist when i say this..but crowds matter. I get tired of the riff raffs and their lameness quickly.

Since I have been away from the Northeast region for sometime now, I dont know if things are the same or if they have changed any.

I think as the size of the community has increased so has the selectiveness of the party organizers. Waisey, the northeast has changed quite a bit. We have the Verrazano bridge And Laguardia airport now:p

dang..did the natives allow that or did you buy the land from the native americans already? maaan its been a while :P

Bought it for a song M. Fraudia, a bhangra song at that. Gullible Indians!!!

sighzerrrs, I wish we had desi parties/gatherings with 'proper people'.

What do you mean proper people. Smoking jackets and pipes and ilk. Do you really want to hang out with NYA?:nook:

I will tell you what I mean by proper people. People who have taste and common sense, are easy going, fun, nice to chat with, and world open, not people who come to show off their 'hats', 'Smoking jackets' or their bank account, their mercedes, their house yawn bores me to hell.

*Originally posted by Chaltahai: *

I was with "you know who". Aapke sang to akalay hee chalna hai. It's a lot better then anyway.

I want to pry Rom away from the swamps of Jersey and have him make a trip (outside of Soho) to NYC. But the sumbich likes them lounges. I will arrange for one of these pre-qualified evenings to insure the music, the talent;) and the attendance is refined.

I think soho is not doing that well as "Chalti-hai" and "roman" are together so was it a gay club chalti hai ..... welll I could imagine any one with a name as chalti hai , with no morals what so0 ever ( comming from an indian society) (ram and sita) hope u catch the drifit of the immorality of ur society and ,if u call it yes "religion" as in my opoionion it is loads of bullocks not a religion that a person with such high quality as urs follows.............
I hope u evolve one day