WC: Where does the Buck stop?

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Miandad was a brilliant player, but he was never a team man. This process of having different camps in the squad has to stop. If that means forcefully retiring the old guard then that's what has to happen. Wasim is the best choice as an interim captain, and the only one I would consider capable of grooming a new team. Waqar is finished, Saeed has only a short term future and his inclusion will prevent the development of players like Elahi and Taufeeq who have done well when given the chance. Rashid still looks good and if he stays is not really a big issue if the captain wants to keep him. Wicketkeepers can go on a lot longer than bowlers or batsmen.

Miandad?? not a team man?? nahi Xtreem bhai, i dont think so. He was a team man who put teams first, how many times he left captaincy for Imran. Do we have such examples in world of Cricket?? Nopes.

I am not sure how much I like every two-cent journalist running his mouth off about how poorly the Pak team played. It is easy to write crap and talk down a team that is already down. What is needed are some changes, not trash talking about things we all already know.

While many of us are busy blaming the likes of Zia, Pybus, Waqar for the recent failiure, the guy so far who has not been mentioned is Wasim Bari, the guy is an idiot.
I think he holds a personal grudge against Saeed Anwar, he kept him out during the Aussie test series, during the tours of Zimbabwe and South Africa, and he brings him right around the time of WC.
He has made some of the stupidist mistakes as the national selector, if someone deserves to be fired should be Bari, he has yet to accomplish something good since his beginig days.

I like the Journalists point of views. If these Journalist won't criticize than who will? Maybe everything he said was legit or maybe it wasn't but still the Pakistani people who pride themselves on their Cricket teams have the right to know.

As it stands now,
Saeed Anwar has retired
Waseem Akram is willing to play
Inzimam has stepped down as Vice
Rashid Latif seems undecided
Waqar is a huge question mark, he insists on playing some more.

Tauqir Zia has to go. Wasim Bari has to go. Pybus is already gone. Don't this idiots have any ghairat? Pybus dissed Pakistan by saying he was not going to come to Pakistan after the Sept 11 attacks. But still Tauqir Zia insisted on bringing him back. Why not just give the same money to a muslim rather than a damn Jew? Well that's besides the point now. He's gone.

If Imran Khan can help the team that would be the best. Javed as coach i like. I remember how we destroyed SA in sharjah under him. If the players don't want to cooperate with him than screw them, Coach and Captain should be the most respected players on the team. If a player doesn't want to give that respect tell him you are free to do chokidaari.

The new team should consist of Youngsters and some veterans.

The veterans should be Wasim Akram, Inzimam, Waqar Younis, Moin Khan -- total 4

The Young Experience players should be
Yousef Youhana, Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi, Abdur Razzaq, Imran Nazir, Taufeeq Umer, Shoaib Akhter, Mohammad Sami-- total 9

The Youngsters be brought in should be
Yassir Hameed, Mohammad Zahid, Shoaib Malik, Misbah Ul Haq, Kamran Akmal, Faisal Iqbal -- total 6

The veterans will start falling like domino's in about 2years so i put in more youngsters. Yassir Hameed i heard has a lot of skill.

*Originally posted by saby: *
Pybus has a professional degree or certificate or whatever in Cricket coaching. the only qualification he had.

Duh!

Saby, has Pybus ever performed in the middle of ground? He may have certificates blah blah but he ain't got experience of playing Cricket.

Originally posted by saby:
PT yaar, no doubt he was assistant coach in WC 99 but this is known and confessed statement by then-coach Mushtaq Mohamamd that main thinktank of the team were Wasim-Pybus Duo. Mushtaq was a mere spectator.

Bring back Mushtaq Mohammad then as a team coach. When our players don't want assistance from Javed Miandad, it's better to take assistance from Mushtaq Mohammad as Zaheer Abbas is coaching U-15 team.

No more Goras' help, please!

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *

Duh!

Saby, has Pybus ever performed in the middle of ground? He may have certificates blah blah but he ain't got experience of playing Cricket.

Bring back Mushtaq Mohammad then as a team coach. When our players don't want assistance from Javed Miandad, it's better to take assistance from Mushtaq Mohammad as Zaheer Abbas is coaching U-15 team.

No more Goras' help, please!

Alot of great coaches who come to mind have not played cricket, the most famous is the Aussie coach.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Miandad was a brilliant player, but he was never a team man. This process of having different camps in the squad has to stop. If that means forcefully retiring the old guard then that's what has to happen. Wasim is the best choice as an interim captain, and the only one I would consider capable of grooming a new team. Waqar is finished, Saeed has only a short term future and his inclusion will prevent the development of players like Elahi and Taufeeq who have done well when given the chance. Rashid still looks good and if he stays is not really a big issue if the captain wants to keep him. Wicketkeepers can go on a lot longer than bowlers or batsmen.

I don't agree with the part on Saeed and Wasim, I think they both should retire I doubt Wasim will do any good to the team as far as my opinion goes I think he is just sticking around for money but nothing else.

*Originally posted by teaser: *

I don't agree with the part on Saeed and Wasim, I think they both should retire I doubt Wasim will do any good to the team as far as my opinion goes I think he is just sticking around for money but nothing else.

I really don't think Wasim has or will have any money problems that he will play for money. Even if he doesn't already have enough, he can make a lot of money through advertising or even becoming a bowling coach for some other country (who would all pay big $$$ to have him - a lot more than he gets now). So the idea that he is just playing for $ now is really insulting to his legacy.

Wasim Akram should stay. We need some veterans to show the younger players the ropes. They need some schooling and somone expereience onthe field under pressure situations.

*Originally posted by teaser: *

I agree, I think Wasim should retire like Saeed and bow out in style before he gets kicked out. The only reason I see why he chnaged his mind all of a sudden of not retiring is the money and since there is nother candidate for captain, he might become captain.

Every player is either retiring or getting dropped.
I was wondering whats happening to Gen.Tauqeer Zia.
Is not he accountable to anyone?

*Originally posted by allah_ka_banda: *
Every player is either retiring or getting dropped.
I was wondering whats happening to Gen.Tauqeer Zia.
Is not he accountable to anyone?

Armymen are not accountable, at least in Pakistan.

Where does the buck stop? Right here - give me that dollar!

Yeah thats the biggest problem with pakistan. I feel really sad for my paki brethren. But Hope democracy will be back in pakistan for good :k:
Cuz a healthy pakistan is a necessity for healthy Indian subcontinent.

Peace and Love!

Please keep politics out of this section, if you are going to talk about politics, I can tell what does you Old secular India stand for, so lets keep this discussion to the limits of sports.

dude, read the comment again, that was in reply to some comment like that only ..hope u understand !