My commentators dream team would be (limit 4)
Richie Benaud & Ravi Shastri
Sunny Gavaskar & Tony Greg
I also wanted to add:
Ian Chappel & Ramiz Raja
Michael Holding & Mark Taylor
My commentators dream team would be (limit 4)
Richie Benaud & Ravi Shastri
Sunny Gavaskar & Tony Greg
I also wanted to add:
Ian Chappel & Ramiz Raja
Michael Holding & Mark Taylor
Tony Greig, Geoff Boycott, Ian Chappell and Asif Iqbal.
Decent additions would be Holding and Tony Cozier.
Benaud knows his stuff but he's too stuffy. BTW, why limit it to 4? There's usually a team of around 5-6 isn't there?
Geoff Boycott, Holding, Ramiz, Gavaskar.
Would include Sidhu for those moments when the game gets boring. :D
I'll be happy so long as these idiots are not sitting in the box:
thanks to ehsaan, Sidhu of course!
Richie Benaud, Gavaskar, Tony Greig, Geoff Boycott, Ian Chappel
Ramiz, Shashtri Talk too much, Sidhu is a budhu.
No manjerakers, Bhogles please.. They should try their commentary on Radio.
methinks Sarfaraz Nawaz's commentary is even drier than Sohail's. Once some fellow commentator asked him to comment on a ball that had deceived a batsman in flight.
-"oh he's bowled him! what a superb delivery by (bowler's name)! He disguised that well and managed to pitch it right in the blockhole..aap ka kya khayal hai, Sarfaraz?"
-"haan..dekhiye jee ye bowled ho gaye."
good list Asif_k, add Michael Holding and my list's complete.
some lines that I've heard commentators use often:
Henry Blofeld: "oh my, what a splendid delivery", "he did well to get ot that one".
Tony Grieg: "yess! got him..he had no idea where the ball was..", "these pakistaaanis..they just never give up", "that's a lovely looking pair of earrings", "he's had a go at that one!", "he's played a gem of an innings", "you can't but wonder..that he might be pleased with himself..just a little bit..".
Shastri: "Yes, a PACKed (<-stressed) off-side field here.."
*Holding *: "He has become the hero from the villain in a matter of a few ovaas..".
Ian Chappel: "Yes, (co-commentator's name), I remember once when I was in (some place), and the locals were really..".
Ranjit Fernando: "Oh that's played in the eyaar (air), but it falls safely..good shot by mootovootobootsinghepatapinge..", "My goodness, Waqar's bowled another banaaana."
Ha ha, yeah those sound pretty familiar Diablo ![]()
Gavaskar, Tony Greig, Boycott, Ian Chappel ,Gover,Holding
They are brilliant.
It's such a pleasure to be in the company of cricket enthusiasts.
Diablo, you brought back some old memories and I want to share them in random...
For those of you who remmber Munir Husain, editor-in-chief od Akhbar-e-watan and did urdu commentary on TV and radio, he was famous for mixing up players names. This is him on radio,
Imran Khan baal karaaingay Cheetan Chauhaan ko. Aur saama-een Imran khan nay bhaagna shuroo kia... aaaye , gaind keee... aur aur cheetan chauhaan nay hook lagaya.... aaurr chakkaaaaa........(long pause, followed by a crowd roar).... nahee nahee Zaheer Abbas nay catch pakkar liaaaaa..out out..... (off the mic: kia hua kia hua).... lagta hay Javed miandad say catch drop hogaya........... aur yeh run out!!! Gavaskar run out ho gaye!!!!!
And then we had Omar Qureshi doing the English commentary. That guy had severe bronchoitus and would cough the mic out during commentary.
And then Lala Amarnath during the 1982-83 Indian tour to Pakistan. There was this one test match in which several Pakistanis scored double centuries and Lala kept saying from day four (when it was very obvious) that "Write on the waaaaaalls, this match is going to end in a draaaaaw". He kept saying that again and again.
And this next one is from some web site. Peter Willey was facing Michael Holding in a match in England. The radio commentator said this as Michael Holding came into bowl Peter... *" The bowler's Holding the batsman's Willey"!. * :D
so here is my list of whoms i hope ar not there … at least not for SKY …
BIFI (Ian Botham) … would like the UMPS to give everything in the favour of Aussies and then ENG and maybe SA but this guys judgements and comments on some decisions of R. Tiffin in the VB series sofar were so BAD-TAMEEZ that an objective viewer would like to slap him at least 100 times after each his commentary sessions …
P. Bacela … this guys is so anoying and disturbing that it’s almost impossibe for the viewer to concentrate on whats goin on the field … he would even praise SA like " WEERRRRRYYYYY WEEEIIIILLLL PLAAAAAAAYEEED Sooth AfriiiKKAA" when the match is actually played between Canada and West Indies
…
A. Sohail … he never has shown any guts or courage that he can hold his line (of arguments) against any commentator when the last one is talking down a team … after a while u’ll see he just goes on to pick the others line to sound very much like him …
The one i would like to listen/see very much is:
Bob Willis … since this guy is a very cool minded and rational commentator … :k:
Tony Greig, Ramiz Raja, Ian Chappel, Ravi Shastri, Jeff Boycott :)
Bob Willis????
He puts me to sleep. FAST
Tony Grieg is the best cricket commentator. The enthusiasm he brings to the game is ubelievable. He can make a boring, dead bowl become interesting. He reminds me of many Football commentators.
What cricket needs is a commentator that would bring the spirit of the game to the listeners ears. Radio commentators are really good at getting the crowd really interested in the match.
I was really impressed with ABC Radio in Australia. Some of the commentators on there make you imagine that you are live. Besides that, they never become quiet, and are always discussing some issue of the other.
I would like to see Tony Grieg, David Hookes, David Lloyd, Barry Richards, Ian Chappel and Sunil Gavaskar.
Does anyone remember Imran Khan, his interesting commentary in WC99, he will never bore you.
Tony Greg is the best cricket commentator in the world, a Sharjah match without him is never the same.
Geoffery Boycott is always fun to listen to.
Sidhu is the funniest, his sarcasim is the best.
Imran Khan, Tony Greg, Geoffery Boycott, Navojot Sidhu.
Ravi Shastri doesn't know when to shut up, he continiously talks about the Indian team even when they don't play. Harsha Bhogle is the same. Ramiz Raja repeats the same thing.
Richie Benaud is a must have.
He somehow manages to create a "cocky" atmosphere which no one can even if they try. On the technical side Geoff Boycott, Sunil Gavaskar and that Tony guy.
Lets add Sidhu and Sarfaraz Nawaz atleast for 1 hour during the 25th and 35th overs when cricket is boring they can keep everyone busy laughing :)
Yo guyz, whats with every1? Gavaskar might be getting lots of commentary to do, but he's 2 emotionally in favor of the indian team. Commentators have to be balanced. Shastri is a shame. Sidhu's a clown but his comm. is interesting. Ramiz is lifeless. My ideal comm. team:
Tony Greg
Richie Benaud
Ian Chappel
Geoff Boycott
Navjot Sidhu
I'd like to put Imran Khan as well, but he'd never be a permanent fixture, mayb he'll peep in for a guest appearence!
:rotfl"
Sidhu? Are you out of your mind?
Imran Khan all the way!!! He's the man!
Navjot Sidhu - He is a true sardar! His commentary is the WORST ever, but still very FUNNY!
*“A pitch is like a wife. You never know how it’s going to turn out.”
“A good lather is half the shave…”
“He is flowing like a river -simply unstoppable”
“wickets are like wives ,you never know which way they will turn”
“Bajji is awaiting the arrival of the spinners more eagerly than a
kid eyes lollypops in a sweet shop”