being a sunni i was curious to know the difference how nikah is performed in shias is it same as the sunnis or is it different? and in case of a shia sunni marriage whats the case?
Re: ways of conducting nikah between shias and sunnis
I don't think there is a difference. I have been to nikkahs for both sunnis and shias and did not see anything that had been done differently. In both cases, the imam gave a khutba to the male side. For my nikkah, a male family friend asked whether I agreed to the marriage three times, while for the shia nikkah I went to, the imam asked. I am sure that's not a rule however.
By the way, why is there no khutba for the women? It doesn't have to be an imam, just someone else talking about the responsibilities of marriage. Instead, all I've seen is gossip, oohing and aahing over the bride's clothes, and tears.
her wali is supposed to be there listening to it and then forwarding it to her later....
or she shud herself be present and listen to it....
my nikah was a shia nikah.. i dont know how different it is to sunni’s.. iv only had it done once.
the molvi asked me himself and when i sed yes he patted me on the head and said shabaash.. but whereas sunni’s make the girl recite kalima’s ![]()
no they dont....
thats just a jahaalat spread in some parts of the pakistan....
i had my nikaah done in pakistan, no such kalima reciting thing for me....
in bahrain there r surely no such practices (have attended many nikaahs here)....
but some jahil molvis in pakistan go on with that kalimah thing....
whereas the whole six kalimah thing is a thing made up by sub-continent ppl....
outside the indo-pak no one has even heard of such things.....
^^
Reciting Quranic Surah, some religious questions about Aqaeed or reciting Six Kalima before Nikkah was their social need.
Because
They was in a mix society where muslims and non-muslims were living together. Sometime they call the person (Moulvi - Nikkah Khoun) from some remote place. Being responsible for everything Nikkah khoun wanted to make sure that he is doing nikkah between two muslims non of both is kaffir.
interesting
Why would it be any different? I mean why are Muslim and going to be married by a Imam under sinat Allah and his Prophet. Thats all that matters. I've been to a shia nikkah and they use the same terms we do. No difference.
Bismillah Aslam o Alaikum,
As far as the difference in Shia or Sunni Nikah is, there is the difference in conditions. as in Sunni Nikah there needs two witness but no witness in Talaq, whereas in Shia nikah there is no need for witness in Nikah but Two witness is needed in Talaq.
Other than that.. in the matter of Kalima aur other reciting.. it is only for the pray for better life in future. this is not the part of Nikah in both cases (Shia & Sunni)...
And no one in sub continent have applied it as part of Nikah.. but the persons other than the sub continent do not try to be more religious other than the farz..
yAA Ali maDaD!@...
*Please discuss the differnce between shia and sunni nikkah here. *
wasiay, I dont think there is much of a difference. Nikkah is basically very short/brief ceremony It hardly take 5 minutes for a nikkah. All you have to do is accept the identified spouse upon the ammount of Mehr
As long as you are married under the sinat Allah and his Prophet, thats all that counts.
The maulvi is not supposed to touch a female, unless ofcourse he is part of your family. I think your nikah is mukrooh. You need to redo.
Originally Posted by Mem Saab
my nikah was a shia nikah.. i dont know how different it is to sunni's.. iv only had it done once.
the molvi asked me himself and when i sed yes he patted me on the head and said shabaash.. but whereas sunni's make the girl recite kalima's
he touched you? werid
I just want to point out that he patted your head as a well wishing gesture. Nothing religious about that.
Secondly the reciting kalima after the molvi is a cultural thing. Nothing to do with how a Nikkah is perfomed in Islam.
Majestic – yeah desi uncles/aunties pat your head its a sign of affection or something. ![]()
No they do not. Please do not spread rumors based on your assumptions. You should have stopped at “I only had it done once”.
Maulvi Kashif sahib, dont you have to go back to “duty” again. Just what we need another johny come lately Fatwa issuer.
^^ I dont understand Uncle Kaleem what do you mean 'duty'. I am a volunteer peace corp worker. I just came back from Venezuela. So I dont think it is considered duty.
Shukria Maulvi Raja Sahib, you want to tell us if, according to Islam if peace corp work is allowed?
Yeah I can understand that! However, she said that the Imam pat her.
Sunnis don't say any kalma or anything guys...it's just Iman mufassil and Iman mujammil that you have to recite and then the Imam asks you the question 3 times.