Waugh announces retirement!!!!

Australia Test captain Steve Waugh has announced he will retire from international cricket at the end of the upcoming series with India.

Waugh told a hastily arranged news conference at the Sydney Cricket Ground that he would quit after the fourth Test against India, which starts in Sydney on 2 January.

“The upcoming Sydney Test will be my last for Australia, should I be selected,” Waugh said.

“My form and fitness suggests I could go on, but all good things must come to an end.”

Waugh, 38, is the most capped player in the sport’s history with 164 Test appearances, and the second highest run scorer.

He is the most successful captain in Test cricket and is second on the all-time list of century makers. bbc

rest in peace, Waugh. He was a good man.

*Originally posted by sambrialian: *
rest in peace, Waugh. He was a good man.

Yep...

lekin Akhiri waqt tak Imaan nahi Laaya.

One of the greatest Cricketers of his generation and a greater human being. Thank you Mr. Waugh, Good Luck to you in whatever you do. Kids from Udyan also wish him good luck.

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
Thank you Mr. Waugh, Good Luck to you in whatever you do. Kids from Udyan also wish him good luck.

Kyon udyan ke bachon se mil ke aaye ho kya bachchon ke Mamu.

Kidding. :p
Dil pe mat lena bhai

He is a Legend :k:

Sad to see him go. He'll be missed. Definitely one of the best captains cricket has seen.

well it will be sad that he is going..
but everything has an end, so he has to go.
cricket fans and cricket grounds will miss his game.......

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *
Kyon udyan ke bachon se mil ke aaye ho kya bachchon ke Mamu.

Mamu nahin, BacchoN ke Chachu, Mamu to Steve hai. Baat Samjha kar yaar :)

One of the best captains in today's cricket. Good luck.

Why retire now, he is in great form and should continue till he wins in the "Final Frontier"

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Why retire now, he is in great form and should continue till he wins in the "Final Frontier"

Because the aussie selectors are ruthless.

Steve Waugh to end innings
One of Australia’s greatest ever cricket captains, Steve Waugh, has announced he will end his cricket career early next year. His decision to retire has caught the cricket world by surprise. There has also been a rush on the tickets for the match he has chosen to be his last.

Compere: Tony Jones
Reporter: John Stewart

TONY JONES: One of Australia’s greatest ever cricket captains, Steve Waugh, has announced he’ll end his cricket career early next year. His decision to retire has caught the cricket world by surprise.

John Stewart reports.

JOHN STEWART: After years of speculation, Steve Waugh declared his innings closed, but not until after the Indian series in Australia.

STEVE WAUGH: The upcoming Sydney Test will be my last for Australia should I be selected to play. My present form and fitness suggests I could play on, however, all good things must come to an end.

JOHN STEWART: Waugh had previously indicated he would play on until next year’s Test series in India. But today’s decision ensures that he will retire on his own terms.

STEVE WAUGH: I’ve never wanted a guarantee from selectors. I’ve always wanted to be picked on form and that’s why now I think is the right time because I’m playing well, I believe I’ve earned a spot in the side and I don’t want to - I want to go out on a high and I think Sydney will be the right place.

JOHN STEWART: Under Waugh’s leadership Australia won 75 per cent of its Test matches, with only five draws, statistics that eclipse all previous records.

ADAM GILCHRIST, AUSTRALIAN TEST VICE-CAPTAIN: I don’t think there’s many Australian cricketers around in recent years, and certainly in this current group, who can’t say that Steve Waugh’s had an impact in some way on their career.

SACHIN TENDULKAR, INDIAN CRICKETER: I think he set great examples the way cricket should be played and in tough conditions he has produced some tremendous performances in the past.

JOHN HOWARD, PRIME MINISTER: He’s been a wonderful captain, a wonderful batsman, a gritty, determined competitor.

JOHN STEWART: The rise of the Waugh twins, Steve and Mark, to the top of world cricket has been well documented. But it was no easy passage for Steve. Discarded from the Test team early in his career, the determination he displayed to regain his spot was an indication of the strengths he would later bring to the captaincy.

DAVID HOOKES: A lot of players get dropped from the Australian side and aren’t good enough to, when they get back in, stay in. He got dropped and stayed in for a long time.

JOHN STEWART: He went on to join an exclusive club, amassing more than 10,000 runs, and is now just 515 runs short of becoming the greatest Test run-scorer in the game’s history.

COMMENTATOR: He’s cut that away. This will be four. The third man in the history of the game of cricket to have achieved that milestone.

JOHN STEWART: One-day captain Ricky Ponting is likely to take over from Steve Waugh. But not until he plays another four Tests against India, in Australia early next year.

John Stewart, Lateline

NOOOOOO!!! - it can’t be :frowning: What a shame hey - he is still playing awesome Cricket and his Captaincy speaks for itself - he apparently wants to retire under his own terms that’s why he’s making this move.

That means he won’t successfully manage to tour India - i truly hope he (or somebody else) manages to change his mind - i don’t buy that for one goddammn minute that all good things comes to end! - I think its the board who have pushed him out :mad: - if that is the case Cricket in Australia seriously suck! Argh! I really hope he tours India again before he retires

Man this is insane :mad:

I remember back in June (right before their test against Bangladesh) Jeff Thompson and David Hooke’s (Hookes has been a constant critic of Waugh) called for his retirement * to allow the team to build for the future* :rolleyes:

He is an example of the nearest to perfect cricketer. He plays the game with great competitiveness whilst being a gentleman and great sportsman. There are still a decent few years left in Steve …ah well

Steve Waugh:k:

thanks god...never liked him from first day even though he is a living legend.. such a dull personality plus a dull player too....i mean he was a smart cricketer but he got no charm..... and 164 test matches... jesus christ.... get a life man...let others play too...anyway, it is my personal opinion... i just dont like him as a player...but i luv his social work in india.... that is the spirit.....

Shukar hay Khuda ka ..... iss nay bhi jaan chorri hay international-cricket ki ..... Ponting as captain is easier to handle for oppositions and insha'Allah in near future the performance gap between AUS and the rest of the world will be reduced to a minimum ......

and i guess the AUS tour to SL will be the 1st station to show the world that AUS is beatable as others and this on regular basis if u put up a fight ..... Since this will be Pontings 1st abroad tour and that on the spinning tracks of SL .....

Steve Waugh was ruthless as a captain but I always found him a gritty player, one of the toughest to get out when the Australian team was doing badly. I remember an Ashes series in England when Steve da was injured with a hamstring problem, he went in to bat, couldnt move onto the front foot or much to the back foot, but he stayed on thrashed the English bowlers and hit a 150. After that since he couldnt run much he fielded at silly point....

That was when he was captain.....

I will always admire him for that spirit.

Yeah he said that Steven probably wouldn’t even get a hit in the series against Bangladesh and hit 256 runs in the series and didn’t lose his wicket in either of just the 2 innings he made the runs in.

Yeah he is undoubtedly a role model and a true ambassador of the game - an absolute legend in his own rights and his sublime discipline and integrity makes him in my favourite player of all time.

He is indeed made from a different cloth - has an unbelievable record - in which he does hold several records himself and deservedly so. Without a shadow of a doubt the greatest ever captain in World Cricket and he will be surely missed.

I do hope he is still captain for this up and coming series - he deserves that much - and of course being the true professional that he is will always say that there is more to be achieved and done as he plays on but you do wonder how much more he can give to the game than he already has.

It’ll be the end of a magnificent era when he goes and the end of an incredible career from one of the greatest cricketers the world has ever seen.