If you go to Masjid for praying then nothing should stop you from going there.
well they are really not mosques. they are actually prayer rooms...aur multifaith rooms.
If you go to Masjid for praying then nothing should stop you from going there.
well they are really not mosques. they are actually prayer rooms...aur multifaith rooms.
Re: wats up with guys and girls
haww hamaray haan to aisa nahi hota:@:
I agree with Mirch's point of view here.
why do we see this behaviour? because the community in otself does not provide opportunities for young people to meet. I mean sure they can meet in college or whatever, but there are limited opportunities otherwise, everyone is in everyone's business. The more you suppress, the more rebellion you will see. encourage interactions in a proper manner and you may see better situations.
On one hand we see complaints of ppl not being able to find someone, on the other hand the community acts in a rather irresponsible way in an uptight, puritanical manner, and sadly much of it is keeping up appearances, people who may not be that strict at home, are much more conservative in community, again due to everyone being ine evryone's business and people dont want them or their kids to be gossip fodder.
Now mind it at places like ISNA, not everyone is from a large city where there are many muslims and desis. I mean we make things tougher for ourselves with the whole nationality, sect, province, zaat stuff. I mean really, if u live in podunk, alabama because for some odd reason that is where you landed, and u want your kid to marry a sunni, pakistani, arraien, with 3-5 years of age diff, professional, etc..well u would be hard pressed to find them in podunk, alabama.
ISNA started a marriage event, which many ppl, including myself made fun of, but they try to do a good job, try to provide a safe, sesnsible atmosphere.
to echo mirch's point, communities need to use masajid as cultural centers, stop being so uptight, stop being in everyone's business and provide youth more opportunities to interact, special interest groups, volunteer teams, activity groups, events..you name it.
I agree criticism is warranted for the often idiotic behavior seen, but that is a symptom, lets make sure we criticize some of the reasons of this symptom.
I have never seen it happen outside mosques in North America....
its true i go to islamic foundation and never witness any of this act:)
maybe the members there are ugly and dont want to check each other out :D
i have tried so many mosques and none of them has this kind of behaviour :( . alhamdulillah I mean :-s
ravage they saw u coming and pretended they were not into this stuff just to keep u away, as soon as u left, it was party time.
thats the feeling i get. :/ i cant decide if wearing a fake beard will hurt or help.
Gawd i have been missing alot in me life ![]()
I've seen all that stuff at like malls and in general places, even in our August 14th fair, but never at mosques..Alhamdulillah for that lol
I know one too many ISNA, ICNA and mosque couples. I don't see it happening during everyday prayer times but anytime there is an a bigger gathering, eid dinners, youth groups etc - it is hookup central.
You have also got to remember that most mosques in North America are build like community centers rahter than a place of worship alone. Thats where the whole community socializes so it's bound to happen.
I think that it is more the manner of meeting outside the masjid that is the problem. Yes mirch, there is the problem for finding a spouse and all, but that does not make it OK to disrespect the masjid's sanctity. What you are saying is that it's OK for a girl to display herself to everyone as long as it's with the intention of getting married, and it's OK for guys to ogle for the same reason. The reality is that only when the two are seriously intending marriage, can they both see each other in that way. Ideally it should be the last thing before sealing the deal. Like, good family, religious, good references, everything sounds good. Now lets see him/her. OK, I think its a go, or hmm i'm not feelin it.
Not oohh she's hot, let me strike up a conversation and lets see if I like her. then after we spend a few months secretly dating, I'll surprise my mom when she talks about how she found a girl for me and maybe we can get hitched. Or the girls who think ohh he's the guy with the mercedes- I'll stand here looking pretty and flirtingly chat with him so he stays up thinking about me all night. Oh and I better make sure my ugly friend is standing next to me so he can see my obvious superiority.
It annoys the heck out of me too Lois (live in USA, our mosque is very similar). It's like you're doing more harm than good when you go to the masjid, with all the drama in the parking lot. And the reason it happens is because the women in our communities want this to happen, and the men do nothing to stop it. The women love when they or their daughters are getting the attention of their community, and men indulge them by not lowering their gazes and indulging them. There's a time and place for this people, and the masjid is not it.
maybe the imaam and the principal of the school are quite stricked ,thats why such things dont happen,as they have wriiten in bold letters that
btw yai ugly kis ko bola aap nai:naraz:
I fail to understand one thing here why are you guyz bashing the guys & gals here? Don't you think you are suppose to be bashing thier parents ?
It's their parents to job to teach such youths manners, keep an eye on them, monitor them, see what they are doing, where they go, why they go & most importantly the company they keep !....
If Parents can't do their job properly then these things are bound to happen, i mean what would you really expect from such childrens than??
Sadly nowadys parents are either too busy watching b'wood or just going after money, failing to realise what their kids are upto! And than we see these kinds of threads here bashing "youths".
If parents can't take do their job prperly than why the hell do they bother giving birth?
I dont think its always fair to blame the parents either. Like u said parents have the responsibility to teach theor kids manners and wht is right and wrong, but i knw alot of boys and girls who are messing about and do things that they really shouldn't be, despite the fact that they have great parents who have taught them right and wrong, and have persevered in correcting their sons and daughters bad ways , but their children couldn;t give 2 hoots so its nt always the parents fault
I fail to understand one thing here why are you guyz bashing the guys & gals here? Don't you think you are suppose to be bashing thier parents ?
It's their parents to job to teach such youths manners, keep an eye on them, monitor them, see what they are doing, where they go, why they go & most importantly the company they keep !....
If Parents can't do their job properly then these things are bound to happen, i mean what would you really expect from such childrens than??
Sadly nowadys parents are either too busy watching b'wood or just going after money, failing to realise what their kids are upto! And than we see these kinds of threads here bashing "youths".
If parents can't take do their job prperly than why the hell do they bother giving birth?
You're partially correct. The upbringing is a huge part of youth's mold and of how they grow up, but lets face it; parents do not and cannot monitor their children 24/7. Of all the things Pakistan/Indian/Asian parents suspect their children of, going to a Place of worship would be the least of their worries.
I think it's a few factors. Like br. Mirch and X2 said, lack of venues for youths to properly meet without having to resort to other means, overall restraint on the sexual attraction with potential to lead to action, as well as discipline. Some things parents can teach and do for their boys/girls, other things the boys/girls have to adopt on their own for their own good.
Parents do everything they can, yes they lack discipline sometimes but that's still no excuse though. I suspect some of us come from families where dad or mom or both were busy earning so we can have everything we want, it's one thing to expect more of them, it's totally another to accuse them of our flaws.
I do agree with you that parents have a stake in this, and should invest more time in their childrens' upbringing and that is something of a challenge for all parents across the board. It needs to be addressed as well.
I think Lois should go inside the mosque and pray instead of standing outside the mosque looking at who is checking out whom. Is kee har jagah yehi aadatain hain. ![]()
Husn aur Ishq ko Alehda rakhna asaan kaam nahi, ab woh masjid ka Sehen hi kion na hoon. Bhala shehed ki makhi ko phool se, perwane ko shama se, aur chakor ko chand se alag ker saka hai koi aaj tak?