my SIL is going to deliver her baby soon. so i was thinking that i will cook for her for few days and deliver it to her.
so my question what should i cook ?
anything which she should not eat?
plez also tell me the receipe
my SIL is going to deliver her baby soon. so i was thinking that i will cook for her for few days and deliver it to her.
so my question what should i cook ?
anything which she should not eat?
plez also tell me the receipe
Re: wat do you cook for a new mom
I just kept two things in mind when recently a friend was in a similar situation :
I used very little oil , mostly made desi food , but reduced the quantity of ginger and garlic in the food ... tried to make a balanced diet .. for example vegetables , chicken salan , pulao etc
Reduced the spices significantly, inshort tried to make it slightly better then bland :)
My friend had undergone cesarean , hence tried to give her nothing but soups for the first few days , like chicken stock soup, lentil soup, pea soup etc .. and after a week gave her the usual food ...
Awww, you are soo sweet. Sound like a really nice sister in law.
yes, don't give her any spicy food whether she is breast feeding or not. Or if she is the type that loves her spices significantly reduce it. No beans either or anything hard to digest and particulary if she is having constipation. Semolina porridge. As mentioned by chicken biryani soups good as easy to eat.
How about steamed veg with mashed potato and steamed fish (okay maybe a few spices on it but not too hot)
I know pasta isn't best food for nutrition but boy is it comfort food!
Thats all I can think of for now. Maybe first day you can deliver something and second day ask her if there is something she wants to eat in particular. She might not so in that case make what you planned to make.
definitely avoid foods that can cause constipation, prune juice is good for reducing constipation so she should be drinking that in start.
u can make chicken salan with very less spices and make it thin , so she can have it as soup and eat chicken with it too. If she can handle yakhni then do that for the first day or two. my sister use to make suji halwa in butter for me , i loved that. basically healthy food , rich in nutrients and no junk food . ohh also paya r very good , she can have roti or bread with it.
I remember when my cousin had her baby (she was living in a diff country from her parents)...and was staying with us......my mom mad this halwa-type dish for her. But it had a thinner consistency, I think. Wasn't exactly like halwa. Don't know what it's called though...I guess it's a cultural thing.
O by reading the thread title from main page - I thought you father is getting you a new mom and you want to surprise her on her arrival . my bad :(
I remember when my cousin had her baby (she was living in a diff country from her parents)...and was staying with us......my mom mad this halwa-type dish for her. But it had a thinner consistency, I think. Wasn't exactly like halwa. Don't know what it's called though...I guess it's a cultural thing.
known as panjiri :)
I think you are talking about "panjeeri"
broccoli cheddar or creamy chicken noodle Soups are good, if shes into only desi cuisines then yakhani pulao, just your regular sabzi daal with reduced spices.
Can anyone post recipe for pulao
taubaha …astaghfirullah … I should kick myself
I read the topic and I was like
“hayee hayee bechari eik tu abba nai dosri shadi ker lee aur aab new mom k leyee kuch pakana bhi hai”
i had a c section and doc told me i could eat regular stuff...fish, chicken, rice soup, egg, custard, fruits, etc. yes it was not spicy but seasoned well, not bland. we i did not eat stuff that would cause gas especially when breast feeding.
I just kept two things in mind when recently a friend was in a similar situation :
I used very little oil , mostly made desi food , but reduced the quantity of ginger and garlic in the food ... tried to make a balanced diet .. for example vegetables , chicken salan , pulao etc
Reduced the spices significantly, inshort tried to make it slightly better then bland :)
My friend had undergone cesarean , hence tried to give her nothing but soups for the first few days , like chicken stock soup, lentil soup, pea soup etc .. and after a week gave her the usual food ...
wat do you cook for a new mom
I would avoid cabbage, potatoes, and channa. Soups are really good if she will eat them.
Give her foods that are easy to digest, gud for the baby too after delivery as she will breast feed and,to avoid gastric troubles,daal,chanai,potatoes etc are big no,give her yakhni,chicken curry but thin constancy,fruits,milk,eggs and if u know how to make he pangeri,wich is taken with hot cup of milk,it helps in producing milk or he baby:)
halwas with chopped nuts in it
In our family we call it Gondh:)and it’s delicious I made it from my ammi’s recipe for myself:bummer:
^i think my nani also calls it gondh! she wanted to send it for me but airport walon ne kha li:D
share your recipe :)