Wasted School Year

In USA, your kid must born on or before sept. 1 and be 4 years to admit in Pre-K.
My daughter was born in october, so I won’t be able to admit her in public school, but I don’t want to waste her a year, so I will Inshallah put her in Private of course I will have to pay for it. My colleague daughter was born after sept. and he put her in private pre-k and kindergarten then public school in first grade, so no waste of time there cuz they accepted the certificate from pvt.

Anyone with experience? what did u do?

Re: Wasted School Year

My daughter was born in January so she's also going to go to Kindergarten late. She's starting private Kindergarten this year (even though she's not 5 yet) as I work full-time and her private school said she's ready for KG.... I'm probably going to make her repeat KG in the public school next year... I really thought about this and made this decision due to the following reasons:

1. I would rather have her be one of the oldest kids in the class than one of the youngest, she will be more mature than other kids.
  2. Since she will be physically bigger, there will be less chances of bullying (I'm really really scared of that).
  3. Oldest kids in the class are usually academically stronger in the earlier years since they are mentally ready for that level (not necessarily true in all the cases but its mostly true) and they easily get to the top pf the class.

My husband wants her to be tested and put in first grade next year in public school, but I don't want to.... just have to convince him now.
I think your plan of action should be based on your child's personality, level of maturity, etc.

Its different for each state. The state we were in before had a cut off date of December 1st but we suddenly moved in my seventh month of pregnancy to a state where the cut off date is August 1st. My daughter was born in September. I am happy though that she is not going to Kindergarten this year as she is in no way prepared. I have noticed that she was one of the yongest in her private pre school class and the others were a bit ahread of her. I don't want that. However, some parents have done what you are thinking of and their expereince wa sgood. I think it depends on the child too.

my 2nd will be in december :(

MIA, is your daughter will be goin to non religious pvt. school?

here in Miami, i see mostly christian, catholic pvt school.

we also have islamic school, but they are too far away.

I used a trick to get my son admitted to KG six month before his cutoff date but now he ends up being youngest in the class and does not like this a bit. :bummer:

its the same system here in UK and I noticed kids born in September, October, November tend to be more ahead of the other kids in their class...because they are older, they tend to pick up the work in school much easier than the younger kids.......

has anyone else noticed this or was it just a coincidence that I noticed in my class when i was younger....

which raises the questions....should someone plan to have a kid who is born in Sept, Oct ,Nov etc...?

However, my nephew was born in May.....and he is top of the class.....he is VERY intelligent.....and finds the school work to easy for him....so teacher gives him more advanced work to do than all the other kids....some of whom im guessing are older than him..

Intelligence has nothing to do with age. My son ends up being the youngest in the class but has no comprehension issues.

mirch bhai, trick kya thee?

so you think a 5 year and a 6 year old are exactly the same when it comes to understanding? do they find it as easy to write, read and do counting etc?

like I said my nephew is youngest in the class but the most cleverest......but thats not a general rule......he can just be an anomaly.

but that doesnt answer the question of whether GENERALLY speaking the older kids do better in the class than the younger ones....i.e an average 6 year old will do better in class than an average 5 year old who's in the same class?

I do not believe in generalization .

I got him admitted in CA and cut off date was later than his birthday I had moved to WI but my family was still there and I knew about cutoff date in WI. He went to school in CA for a couple of months then since I had moved to WI where cutoff date was earlier but the school in WI had to admit him as he was already going to school in CA.

My brother was born in december but was allowed in. I think it was a big mistake and so do my parents. He's the smartest of the three of us, but dealt with a lot of confidence issues for a long time, because he was so much younger.

Another year of school is never "wasted". If your child is bored, you and the teachers should talk about advanced placement, when it's right.

what are you talking about?

Im asking you that on average does a 6 year old do better in class than an average 5 year old who’s in the same class?

its a simple question…:halo:

First of all I don't look at it as a year being wasted.

Cut off in my state is Dec 31st. Since my daughter was born in Jan, we sent her to a Pvt preschool for two years before she could start kindergarten. I am amazed at how well she is doing in school studies wise. Don't know if it's the preschool that helped her build skills or she is just smart like that..lol..... perhpas a combination of both.

So my point is you can always send them to a preschool if they are born after the cut off date. They are still gonna learn and develpe social skills. Why see it as time being wasted? :)

Sajal wat i meant wasted that public school won't accept her cuz she has to be 4 before sept. 1

and she has to be 5 before sept. 1 for kindergarten admission. public is free, and private is not and it has no restriction. my daughter was born oct. 30 so she can't go to school next year which start in august. they will accept her in 2012 august when she gona be 5 years old. at that age she should be in kindergarten not pre-k. So I will send her next year Inshallah to pvt. for 2 years pre-k and kindergarten. then 1st grade public.