Wasim's last Aussie tour.

Wasim hoping for memorable Australian farewell

KARACHI, June 4: Famed Pakistani pacer Wasim Akram packed his bags for Australia Tuesday hoping for a memorable last trip Down Under with the national team.

“Australia is a great place to tour and a great team to play against and I hope that I leave my last impression in an indelible manner,” Wasim said.

A 13-man Pakistan squad set off for Australia late Tuesday night for a three-match limited-over series starting next week.

The 36-year-old Wasim, with a record 456 wickets in limited-overs matches and 414 in Tests, last month announced he would hang up his boots after next year’s World Cup in South Africa.

“I have some fantastic memories of playing in Australia and top of them all is Pakistan’s win in the 1992 World Cup,” he said.

“It would be a totally different tour for me because nowadays I enjoy (playing) more than usual and strive to do my best for the team in a relaxed, pressureless manner.”

Wasim took 18 wickets to help Pakistan win their only World Cup 10 years ago.

“It (Australia) is the place where the most competitive cricket is played and people love and appreciate every good performance,” said Wasim, who led Pakistan to their only tri-series win Down Under in 1996-97.

Wasim also said Pakistan had every chance of beating the fancied Australians.

“We are a good side and have every chance to beat Australia because they now have a relatively less experienced middle-order batting in the absence of the Waugh brothers.”

I’m Gonna Be The Champ
The Way I Wanna Be

Rude Boyz Rulez

Best OF LuCK wasim akram!

~yeh noor ke sholay uthtay hain, mera hee dil garmanay ko
jo bijli ufak main chamki hai, chamki hai mere taRpanay ko~

Apnay akailay pan ka main kis say gila karoon
Jis ko bhi murh kay daikha woh tanhayOon maiN hay~

Wishing you Best of luck Wasim Bhai.

WatCh youR tHoughtS; they become words.
WatCh youR wOrdS; they become actions.
WatCh youR aCtiOns; they become habits.
WatCh youR hAbiTs; they become character.
WatCh youR chaRactEr; it becomes your dEsTinY."

Hope he can show his Melbourne magic, its a different ground but still.
Though I'm a little dissappointed that M Sami should have played instead of Wasim.

yeah!!! Melbourne where he tore apart the English team... May Allah give him the strength to wipe out the Aussies!!!

Not to forget his Highest score and first 5 W haul in ONEDAY cricket was made there.

AK

If Wasim bhai remains fit and in good form, I think he should continue playing till end of next year. By doing so, he will be able to visit Australia again for the test series. Pakistan has never won a test series in Australia and Akram's experience could be vital.
But for now I hope Pakistan wins 3-0

She gets her good looks from her father. He's a plastic surgeon - Groucho Marx

Come on Wasim, show these damned Aussies what they are in for. You are the greatest, time to show the Aussies why.

Ameeen …

And hope… Inshallah Our Speed Master ( Shoaib )will break the record of 100 Miles Again. and hope he will break their Wickets into Pieces.

I’m Gonna Be The Champ
The Way I Wanna Be

Rude Boyz Rulez

That wont be much of a problem… Shaoib will enjoy bowling on such wickets… Afterall, he is the fastest and the best bowler in the world, and no one comes close to him…