Wasim Akram Signs For Hampshire For A Year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

assalamoalikum :jhanda:

WASIM AKRAM SIGNS FOR HAMPSHIRE FOR A YEAR!!!

Wasim signs one-year deal with Hampshire
Reuters - 2 April 2003

Pakistan all-rounder Wasim Akram has signed a one-year deal to play for Hampshire, the English county side said on Wednesday.

Akram replaces banned Australian leg spinner Shane Warne as the county’s second overseas player for the 2003 season. Australian batsman Simon Katich is also at the club. Warne had signed a two-year contract with Hampshire but was suspended in February for 12 months after testing positive for banned diuretics.

The 33-year-old returned home from South Africa before Australia’s first match of the World Cup after he admitted taking a fluid-reducing pill given to him by his mother to help him slim.

Wasim, who enjoyed a successful county career with Lancashire from 1988 to 1998, said he was looking forward to a fresh challenge.

“I was impressed by the enthusiasm and ideas shown by Hampshire and am delighted to join such a progressive county,” Wasim said in a statement on Hampshire’s website.

“For me it is a fresh challenge and a new chapter in my career. The aim is for Hampshire to gain promotion in both competitions this year and I hope to be able to play a part in that ambition.”

Pakistan’s leading wicket-taker in Tests and one-day internationals became the first bowler in history to reach the milestone of 500 one-day international victims when he bowled Dutchman Nick Statham at the World Cup.

But the 36-year-old did not enjoy the swansong he wanted as Pakistan’s talented but inconsistent side failed to make the second round. He was subsequently among eight senior players dropped by Pakistan for the Sharjah Cup which begins on Thursday.

Hampshire had also targeted Pakistan paceman Shoaib Akhtar after Warne’s ban.

Hampshire is lucky they got Wasim and not Shoaib. With the immense talent in this guy, his playing for Hampshire can only be deemed a loss for Pakistan cricket.

I think Wasim made the right choice. With PCB following a different course of action for our future cricket, this is far better opportunity for Wasim to play and make good money, rather than sulking at home or playing in the nets with the boys.

Once things settle down a bit, PCB should consider offering Wasim the position of the bowling coach for the national team. It will be an investment worth every penny. Else some other team may grab this guy, and then we will be rushing here questioning his patriotism and what not.

Faisal, Wasim has already said he won't be doing coaching. He admits he lacks the patience and virtues of a coach.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
Faisal, Wasim has already said he won't be doing coaching. He admits he lacks the patience and virtues of a coach.

Baaqi saaree zindagi kuch tau karna hai uss nay. He can't play forever. In any case, money talks. Lets see. :)

Good for wasim, I think his international career is pretty much over and now he can aim for first class bowling records.
But it would have been nice to see him taking 1000 international wickets (test+ODI)

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Once things settle down a bit, PCB should consider offering Wasim the position of the bowling coach for the national team. It will be an investment worth every penny. Else some other team may grab this guy, and then we will be rushing here questioning his patriotism and what not.

Sounds like a fantastic idea. I just hope he does not entangle himself with the other coach. i.e. Javed miandad. Its no secret these two guys don't get along well.

Hampshire wanted Shoaib originally but he told them Pakistan came first, and Pak tour of Sri Lanka meant his appearances would be limited. Wasim needs to announce his official retirement now he has accepted this offer. That's what it amounts to anyway.

Wasim returns to county set](Latest news & breaking headlines | The Times and The Sunday Times)

HAMPSHIRE have filled the void left by Shane Warne’s unscheduled sabbatical from the game by signing Wasim Akram, the former Pakistan captain, **on a one-year contract thought to be worth £100,000. **

Wasim is no stranger to English cricket: he spent ten years with Lancashire from 1988 to 1998, where he won both the NatWest Trophy and the Benson and Hedges Cup twice, as well as the Sunday League. In all competitions for Lancashire, he took 633 wickets at 22.15 each and averaged 23.25 with the bat.

Neil Fairbrother, his former Lancashire team-mate and now his agent, said yesterday: “Wasim joined Hampshire because he’s ready for a new challenge. He sees it as a progressive club and he’s been impressed by the coach (Paul Terry) and the director of cricket (Tim Tremlett), and what they’ve had to say.”

Wasim signed forms in London on Tuesday morning. He is in St Lucia playing a tournament and is expected to join the Hampshire squad on Sunday week. With Alan Mullally and James Tomlinson, he will become Hampshire’s third left-arm seam bowler.

Shoaib Akhtar, Wasim’s Pakistan team-mate, had been the favourite to sign for Hampshire but, according to a club spokesman, “his chances of putting pen to paper were scuppered by possible international commitments”.

Hampshire are delighted with their new signing. “He’s charismatic and puts bums on seats,” the spokesman said. “He’s a proven world-class player. And he’s very enthusiastic.”

Wasim may walk straight into the side as captain. Hampshire had earmarked Warne to succeed Robin Smith but now have to make another decision. An announcement will be made today or tomorrow.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *

Baaqi saaree zindagi kuch tau karna hai uss nay. He can't play forever. In any case, money talks. Lets see. :)

He is most likely to take commentary position. He has already tried it with Channel 4 a few years back.

wat about shoib?

what is he doin these days

*Originally posted by ehsan: *

*on a one-year contract thought to be worth £100,000. *

Zinda Haathi laakh ka, murra hua sawa laakh ka

Wow, he is still worth over a Crore Rupee at the fragile age of 36 (37?). This tells you how great of a player this gentleman is. Go Wasim!

Go Wasim bhai! :jhanda:

too bad, shoib. seat taken.

Wasim AKram is the best .I'm very happy for him.

Wow - Hampshire have certainly got lucky - and it is ideal for Wasim too I reckon. He certainly doesn't have too many years left in him now - and the fact that he ain't playing for Pakistan at the moment will help him at County level. It will be good for Hampshire that he has signed a one year contract - that will mean that they can then take Shane Warne back once he has finished serving his ban.

Kinda sad though that thjere's more money in county cricket than national team!

fungus said>>>> Wow, he is still worth over a Crore Rupee at the fragile age of 36 (37?). This tells you how great of a player this gentleman is. Go Wasim!

mate, £100,000 is 1 lakh paki rupees, 10 lakh (£1 million) is 1 crore in paki rupees

*Originally posted by insolent mods': *
fungus said>>>> Wow, he is still worth over a Crore Rupee at the fragile age of 36 (37?). This tells you how great of a player this gentleman is. Go Wasim!

mate, £100,000 is 1 lakh paki rupees, 10 lakh (£1 million) is 1 crore in paki rupees

Where did u get your figures from. £1= 90 Rs

£100,000 *90=9,000,000 Rupees. 9million is 90 lakhs I think. Close to a crore.

Interview with Akram](http://uk.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/APR/166948_IDWCC2003_07APR2003.html)

Speaking exclusively with Wisden CricInfo during the Double Wicket World Championship in St. Lucia, Wasim Akram spoke of his excitement at his new role at Hampshire.

What approach would Wasim be taking to his spell at the Rose Bowl? “I want to go there as a team man, and help the new captain grow into his role, working with him and the players to analyse the game while we’re playing.”

And the captaincy? “It was a great honour to be asked, but I’ve done my captaincy stint.”

Wasim is obviously motivated by the coming season. “I’m going into a young side, a lot of talent there, and that motivates me for this challenge. Whoever is captain will get my full support, and I’ll go into the side to teach them what I’ve learnt over the years, that success takes a lot of sacrifice and a lot of hard work.”

And teaching the bowlers how to bowl reverse swing? “Yes, and teaching them that reverse swing is more about knowing when it is going to happen rather than how to bowl it.”

Wasim is respectful of the legacy of great overseas players who have played for Hampshire. He singles out West Indies legend Malcolm Marshall. “Malcolm Marshall was the best fast bowler I’ve ever seen, the best ever in cricketing history. He could analyse a batsman in a split second, and go straight over to the captain with a plan of attack.”

When asked whether the Rose Bowl pitch was a factor in his decision, Wasim replies with a customary glint in his eye, “I’ve done my homework.”

He prioritises motivation and the morale of any side in which he is involved. And Hampshire supporters can play a big part in that motivation. “I would say to the players and the supporters that the team needs backing when they are not doing well. Be patient, back the players, and they will come out winners in the end.”

Clearly the criticism of the Pakistan side during the World Cup has disappointed Wasim, but he is honest about their performance. “It was one of those tournaments where no one clicked. Not one player performed. It was disappointing for the team and for all the individual players.” But he feels Waqar has been unfairly made a scapegoat “There is no point blaming the captain.”

Was there a root cause to this malaise? “Not really. We wanted to win, we trained well, we had lots of team meetings, analysed opponents on video. It’s just that we never looked like winning.”

And for the future? “If the PCB want me to help in any capacity, I’ll be there. I want to give something back to cricket. What I’m not going to do is stand on the sidelines and criticise the players or the board.”

Wasim Akram has the unique record of 500 one-day international wickets. But he is completely credible when he says that it hasn’t sunk in yet. “If we had done well, it would matter a lot. But because we didn’t even qualify for the Super Six. I imagine it will mean more in the long term when I’m telling my sons about it. For now, it doesn’t count.”

A fresh and motivated Wasim Akram comes across as a man who is determined to give something back to cricket. And Hampshire players and supporters can count themselves very lucky that the Pakistan great has chosen the Rose Bowl as the starting point in his mission.

Where did u get your figures from. £1= 90 Rs

£1 pound isn't 90 pakistani rupees as its (current rate) £1 = 91.1041 pkr

secondly, i was told that £100,000 pounds is 1 lakh in pakistani rupees hence 10 lakh's = £1 million pounds (1 crore in pkr)........ obviously thats wrong.

i believe my new research is more promising 1 lakh pkr is just over £10,000 thousand pounds sterling so then 10 lakh pkr is £100,000 pounds sterling