Wasim Akram dropped from training squad as Pakistan look to the future

Bloomberg - 31 July 2001

Former captain Wasim Akram was omitted from Pakistan’s 26-man cricket training squad ahead of the Asian Test Championship, said Pakistan chairman of selectors Wasim Bari.

Leg-spinner Mushtaq Ahmed, a member of this year’s tour party to England, also was left out. Bari said selectors want to field younger players in the opening match of the championship against India starting Aug. 30 in Multan, Pakistan.

“The first match is at home and we wanted to start a rebuilding process,” Bari said in an interview. “It’s no indication that Akram’s career is over - this squad is for a training camp not the Tests, but we are looking to the future.”

Akram, 35, has played 102 Tests and is Test cricket’s fourth highest wicket-taker with 414 wickets. A left-arm fast bowler, he is currently playing for Lashings Cricket Club in England. Akram said he will fly to Pakistan tonight to ask about his future.

“It’s disappointing but I will keep going as I just want to do my best for my country,” he said. “I badly want to pass Kapil Dev’s (wicket’s total of) 434 so I still want to carry on playing.”

Mushtaq’s place in the squad goes to Danish Kaneria, who made his Test debut against England in November, Raja said.

There was no recall for former captain Moin Khan, while fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar, also playing for Lashings, was included for the camp running from Aug. 6-29.

Alf Allah Chunmbay Di Booti…Mere Maan Vich Murshad Lai Huu..
Naffi Asbaat Da Paani Mallaya…Har Raggay HarJai Huu
[Sultan Bahuu]…

It is good to see that Danish Kaneria has been realled in place of Mushtaq. Akram should have been retained.

The full list of players is as follows:

Imran Nazir, Imran Farhat, Taufiq Umer, Saeed Anwar, Faisal Iqbal, Hasan Raza, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Yousuf Youhana, Younis Khan, Abdur Razzaq, Shoaib Malik, Danish Kaneria, Rashid Latif, Waqar Younis, Irfan Fazil, Shabbir Ahmed, Mohammad Sami, Naveed Latif, Naveed Rana, Shahid Afridi, Saqlain Mushtaq, Atiquz Zaman, Shoaib Akhtar, Fazle Akbar, Mohammad Akram, Yasir Irfat and Azhar Mahmood.

Anyone has any info on Taufiq Umer, Naveed Latif, Naveed Rana and Atiquz Zaman.

its sad it has to come to that.. good kick in the rear.. otherwise he is never gonna leave the Pak team.. he is playing for personal gain rather than playing for the team and nation which he represents.. after geting the kick .. Mr.Fix it all stated that he wants to break Dev's record.. sad .. it would have been great that he wanted to win regradless of number of wickets he might get .. dont get me wrong but our players (i am big Fan of almost all of em) never leave in grace .. combined with pathetic PCB orgnization every-one wants to milk it as much as they can .. i wish player like him would recive a proper exit .. but that is the only way he would go out .. but hold on to your seats he will be back .. its PCB afterall!!

Hey one more thing
These things are hard to explain
For some it seems strange... to swallow
The frontier of our minds
Is the last place we find
But maybe the first place we should go

The Game Looks At The article(Aka "Bad News") And Responds With Grief:

I assume you didn't know,but it's a very sad day.Most probably this great man's career is over,but instead of actually feeling *Sorry*,some in here are thanking the PCB.The world is not fair Wasim,the world is not fair.Your legacy will live forever.People,That Is All.

THE ARTIST FORMERLY KNOWN AS CROREPATI,MILLIONAIRE,AND TRUE PAKI.I ASSUME ALL OF YOU RECOGNIZE THESE GREAT PERSONALITIES...

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited August 01, 2001).]

Hey one more thing

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited August 01, 2001).]

hmm Rb yaar i thinl u r being abit harsh that is his target his achievemnt just like u want to have one i am sure

well i think it is sad to hear that he has not been picked but well if allah wills it he will get picked again

i have to say i have not heard of quiet afew players in the squad

Waleed how are u dude .. well my opinion is based not on his past performance .. if that alone is the measure he will be the first guy to be selected .. he sure is one of top five bowlers of all time.. my argument is based on his current performance not by ball .. but his fitness level, his focus, and most of all his negative influence on the team ..
His fitness is a huge question .. his diabetic condition is effecting his fitness level.. injuries with diabetes take longer to heal ..his old age (in athletic sense .. ) is not helping either.
His focus as he stated is to get maximum number of wickets .. which means he wants to bowl more overs, he should be talking about playing with and for the team not for records .. records are meaningless if you don’t translate that into victory .. his purpose (which is very obvious) is personal rather than collective..
The biggest downfall of Waseem is his dirty politics .. by which he destroyed many players and took corruption to its peak .. political tactics he inherited from Imran who knew how to use it and get the best out of it (Imran’s success is a good measure) but Waseem is a dirty player of politics .. his involvement in match fixing is a naked truth concealed only be political correctness and lack of justice .. he and Malick did some serious irreversible damage to Pakistani cricket .. .and that’s my biggest point of contention ..

the working of PCB is no different from other institutions .. they have a habit of lying and tell more lies and even more to cover the other lies .. rather than handling the situation tactfully they have made a mess of the situation .. I as a fan wanted to see Waeem & Moeen get a graceful exit .. but they are dragged in the mud (through their own faults as well) .. the cause given by PCB of dropping them from the camp is ‘fitness’ .. now if that is a true ‘cause’ how in the hell Shoaib and Samee are justified????? .. PCB should have came out clear on it ,.. and no matter what you and I think .. its us vs them .. if at the end of the day Waseem and Moeen pull the right strings and get “Jacked” they will be back in the team

Hey one more thing

slamz yaar RB u r always gum kya bat hay hain well yaar i think u r still abit harsh on wasim

i know he is a no gooder but hai i would like a paki’s name to b on the list of taken so many wickets and holding he record know i agree his current form is not gd

but u never know untill the last day he plays

Akram should be given the chance to play against Bangladesh and NZ in order that he can move above Kapil and become the second highest wicket taker. He has got no chance to catch up with Walsh though.

"he said. "I badly want to pass Kapil Dev's (wicket's total of) 434 so I still want to carry on playing."

lol..I wonder why..