Was this upgraded a necessity?

What have you guys achieved by upgrading to vBulletin version 3.5.2? Besides some software bugs fixed by the vBulletin developers and a few bells and whistles added, what are the major diferences between this version and version 3.0.xx (or whatever the hell you had before).

It seems to me that more functionality was lost than features added with the upgraded version.

1. Journals are not working
  2. Gallery is gone
  3. Articles are gone
  4. Audio upload gone
  5. Video upload wasnt working already.
  6. Image upload/attachment isnt working.

You techies have added more work for yourselves. I thought some killer features will be added or planned. I see nothing of that sort.

PS: Eid Mubarak to you all

Re: Was this upgraded a necessity?

Ahem...ever heard of something called Security?

Kaleem, with new upgrade come the new security holes, which didnt exist before. Heard of Microsoft?

Huh? Microsoft? What does MS have to do with VBulletin?

New Version --> Brand New Bugs --> New Security Holes

clear enough?

An dun forget the DB has been crashing. Im nore sure if its because of the new vbulletin version, but i can bet it is.

ghalti ho gai, maaf kardo bhai :(

Ainda nahi karaingay

MaRRan Noon KuyN peNa aiN?
Ja kay Azkar diyaN mochhaN waD.

yaar Kaleem, jadoon Chaudhry di muchaan waddo tay o hass penda chora:cb:

lol,

This is useless upgrade or bad upgrade. All things gone. Can anyone tell what's difference between GS 05 and GS 06. Nothing! No new skin. Same old things. For security vBulletin will always release update for 3.0 series. gtg

Well now this wont make Gizzy feel warm and fuzzy.

well you are so WRONG.

To say that there is NO difference b/w GS 05 GS 06 is such a horrible mistake that can not be corrected with paying Kaffaraa :cb:

GS 05 had many features working in it.

GS 06 has many features Not working in it (so far) :aj:

see the difference, I gtg too :grumpy:

All the features u guys mentioned are either added customizations or plug-ins not activated yet. They will all be back. The system crashing was not because of VB, but because of back-end hardware issues, now resolved. Security is important and the previous version was just too prone to hackers. There are no 100% guarantees on any software, but this one is much better compared to the last one.

Stay tuned for more technical updates from Azkar and Gizzy.

Eid Mubarak to all of you.