like mughal era or between 1850s- pre partition or was it like only rich could afford it?
What were the dresses and when did shalwar kameez/churidar evolve from? i would be interested in knowing abt the dresses and the evolution.
and if gharara was really worn by muslims like an every day attire why did we not keep up the trend after partition. What i am trying to say is if gharara was like casual wear i would love to have it replaced with all my shalwar kameezes
Re: Was gharara really an every day attire back in the days?
Well from my research into this I discovered some interesting and slightly fascinating details that I did not know before.
Here is what I can summarise for you all.
The Gharara is a tradional dress among many South Asian Muslims, it seems to have developed much earlier but like many fashion dresses it comes and goes with the times. It is however certian that garments simmilar to the Gharara have existed since antiquity with many example worn from the lands of Persia right up to the Steppes of Central Asia.
In fact I remembered in my journeys seeing many tribal folk still dressed thier women in simmilar flared dresses, the Pathans, Uighurs and Turkomans as well as Southern Persians and Balochi people still wear it. The detail of the thread and stitching often indicates the rank and tribe of the person wearing it.
In South Asia it is generally accepted that it was worn by the Elite women in society especailly the Aristocracy and upper class Ladies. The Gharara reached it’s hieght of fashion during the late 18th and 19th Century during the period of Nawabs. This predominatnly explains why the Nawabs of North India from cities such as Lucknow were among the most common places where the Gharara was an everyday attire.
However by the 20th Century it seems the Gharara lost it’s appeal, perhaps as some have pointed out in this thread allready it was just too impractical for everyday wear. It is still seen as a flamboyant dress but is largely confined to formal occasions and worn among people outside the hustle and bustle of the Modern World.
Well that should answer the OP’s original question I think, Thanks K337 for raising this interesting question as it’s been a usefull learning for many of us.
I did not even know what this dress was called to begin with so definatley learned something. :k:
Re: Was gharara really an every day attire back in the days?
^ aik baar hi press kar lo aur latka dia karo kis ne kaha hai phaink do gola bana ke :P
oyee tum kahan say nikal ayee ho : O
bhyee roz roz pehnanay k ley phir ik gharaara to naho ho ga ...bohat saray hon gay ...light ka waysay hee itnaa masla hay gharara press kernay lago ik din to kaheen gaya nahi