Waqar Younis appointed as Bowling and Fielding coach

**Though he is only appointed for Austrian series .. but I hope he stays with team for long … **

Re: Waqar Younis appointed as Bowling and Fielding coach

Fielding coach???????????? are they kidding.. and then they have Aaqib Javed as well as Assistant coach...
anyways, he will be better for our bowlers :D..

So it seems PCB is firmly leveraging the team to win matches based on bowling alone since their sub class club style appointees based solely on “special means” won’t contribute to any significant batting displays - corrupt fools -

As far as a Waqar, I guess they had to come with a title that would substantiate the appointment.
Fielding …well…he had completed coaching courses…but Bowling for sure - he should be able to give young Aamer, Asif and Gul as well as new comer A Rauf some good tips. He should be able guide Gul to add fire to those in dippers. For sure Gul improved a lot the last time Waqar coached. Specially with the unruly bowling characters now out of the team, the “boys” should show respect and take up his pointers well..Inshallah!

overall a good thing I hope :k:

hahahah fielding coach PCB must be kidding

Austria plays cricket as well? :hmmm:

I think its a great decision, I cant remember last night I said PCB did something good :-). However, puzzling to see him being the fielding coach. I guess, he has the experience to tell you what not to do. Thats the best I can say about his fielding abilities :-). But since Waqar now lives in Australia, I think thats why they choose him for this tour alone.

The guy who said on live TV “I wouldn’t have done that, it’s not my job.” when Gul threw himself on the ball and saved a certain four. They are making him the fielding coach. Good one, PCB.

As far bowling is concerned, he’s the right man for the job. This will be good for Aamir and Asif. :k:

PCB ne bara ehsaan kia keh susar ji ko fielding coach nahi bana diya.

I think Pak team needs a batting coach more than a bowling one :snooty:

BUT A ...

yep…:rotfl:

Not a bad idea to have Waqar as the bowling coach. Maybe he can make Gul a test bowler after all. As for fielding, thats a laugh. Just adds to Ejaz Butt's stupidity...appointing a grandpa like Intikhab Alam as the coach and having Waqar act as a fielding coach!

Martin Crowe made a point during the first test..he showed Intikhab 'attempting' to give catching practice to the team...and he was amazed at how poorly Intikhab was going through the drills...had no gloves...no different angles...nothing...

With a person like Intikhab as coach...the fielding will never improve..same goes for Waqar...Waqars strength is bowling...in my opinion Waqar should be the bowling coach on a permanant basis.

What the PCB would then need to do is to sent Intikhab back to the retirement home...and find a quality head coach with an emphasis on batting/fielding....someone like Jonty Rhodes...or if no foreigner wants to work with us currently, then someone like Aamir Sohail wouldnt be a bad idea as well.

u didn’t knew tht :eek: :emmy:

I think the “fielding part” is just a title to substantiate & justify the appointment with Aaqib being already there; he was a bowler as we all know - plus as a coach with some training and experience of being in Australia, he maybe able to do the “active” training in fielding that Mr. Alam can’t because of his inability to turn a fast corner due to the higher tread snow tire he has purchased permanently as a life preserver…:chai:
Also Aaqib seems to be playing the second fiddle or sidekick role so he probably doesn’t like overstepping boundaries with Alam chacha:smokin:

Aquib isent too bad as an Assistant coach…he has ability but I dont see him every being able to be the head coach…as for Waqar…he is definately a pro…even though he wouldnt know much about the fielding/batting part…his professionalism should at least result in him making a more valuable contribution than grandpa Intikhab…who is probably more interested in allu parathas!

Great move of making him the bowling coach. Hopefully PCB will extend his term after the Australian tour and will not repeat the mistakes which Nasim Ashraf made when Waqar was made the coach couple of years ago. Under him Gul and Rana improved alot and gave Waqar credit for that improvement.

Not sure why they have made him a fielding coach. PCB really need to take this issue seriously and hire a full time fielding coach who can make players like Farhat, yousuf, Butt, do fielding/catching practice for at least 30 minutes every day and if they miss 10% catches then make them skip their meal. I am serious.. they need to take some drastic steps to improve our fielding.

Waqar Younis a true legendry bowler and a great choice as a bowling coach for Pakistans super star bowlers. He knows his stuff and seems a very genuine guy. He no doubt will teach the newer generation the Pakistani speciality of 'reverse............'

However, as a fielding coach that must be a joke. The jokers such as Farhat will not learn anything.

With Younis appointment as bowling & fielding coach what will the professional head coach of Pakistan Mr Intikhab Alam be responsible for? May be this joker of a coach will put the cones for Waqar Younis for the fielding drills.

Seems like something is brewing - news is a buzz about Waqar maybe being in the zone for replacing Inti chacha as well!!!

Daily Times - Leading News Resource of Pakistan

BusinessGhana - Ghana, Business Advice, Jobs, News, Business Directory, Real Estate, Finance, Forms, Auto

While Chacha says no way…

DAWN.COM | Cricket | Intikhab rejects sacking reports