Waqar to be appinted as Bowling Coach/Waqar Rejects coaching role (merged)

Re: Waqar to be appinted as Bowling Coach

hahaha

agar wo char din thak India may tik jayay

It was about time. I am sure young bowlers like Rao, Asif and Rana will learn a lot from him. Sami as well can benefit from him. Shoaib, well he is alright in his ownself but he needs a mind-check every now and then.

Re: Waqar Younis as bowling coach

Now those… were the glory days!! if only we could somehow bring back the same flare and passion!

u r right on…

i disagree. i think u r wrong here muddy. neither taufeeq nor hameed have done a decenet job in last 1 year. they are out of form.

as far as old players are concern. bhula do unhai abh. they r gone. think what can happen next.

Asif ain’t any good, Khalil rather has potential to become a reserve player in case of an injury in the front liners he can cover up reasonably. He needs to work on his pace, the fundamentals are strong. I hope under Waqar he will learn more along with Rao and Rana. These three together could be dependable backups for the two main fasties. Two out of these three will be playing in any match, since one of the two main fasties usually sits out holding his thigh/rib. Together, these five are not bad at all. They (3 or 4 at one time) make a good combo with Denish/Afridi.

I hope Waqar will overcome on the Extras problem. Also the LnL of Sami and the reverse swing art needs to be reintroduced to the seniors. I hope Sami and Actor will perform better in the presence of energized junior pace bowlers.

Taufeeq has great patience and technique, and he is probably the best opener Pakistan has introduced in the past few years. Still not sure about Salman Butt, but he can definitely be preferred over Farhat. Hameed is fine; just needs a bit of confidence. I would never have taken him out of the team in the first place, but damn Pakistani selectors act too impatienly when someone loses a bit of form. These three would be ideal for positions 1, 2, and 3 as far as our current batting resources are concerned.

Yaar Smooth bhai, Khalil really needs to develop that inswinger to the right hander, otherwise he will be just picked for runs in international cricket.

Now on Cricinfo…

Waqar likely to be bowling coach

Cricinfo staff

February 15, 2005

Waqar Younis is likely to be named the bowling coach of Pakistan for their tour of India. According to a report by Press Trust of India, Waqar has already given his verbal consent to the offer, which has the backing of Bob Woolmer, the Pakistan coach.

Commenting on the issue, Shaharyar Khan, the PCB chairman, told PTI: “Yes he is under consideration but no negotiations have started. In the next few days we intend to write to him to seek his availability,” Shaharyar said, adding, “We all know Waqar has recently been doing television assignments. We want to know if he is free during the Indian series so that we can utilise his services.”

If Waqar does come on board to help out, it will be a huge boost for Pakistan, who might be forced to field an inexperienced bowling attack after injuries to several of their frontline bowlers. Umar Gul and Shabbir Ahmed have been ruled out, while Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami and Mohammad Khalil are all doubtful.

Waqar had an outstanding record in international cricket, taking 373 Test wickets and 416 scalps in one-dayers, averaging less than 24 in both forms of the game. Known for his devastating inswinging yorkers, Waqar had a phenomenal strike-rate of 43.4 per wicket in Tests, third in the all-time list of bowlers with at least 100 wickets.

Source: http://uk.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2005/FEB/182535_INDPAK2004-05_15FEB2005.html

I didn’t know Sami was also doubtful for Indian series :eek: Not that one is expecting him to perform well :stuck_out_tongue: but still dil kay behlaane ko ye khayal ghalib acha hai!

^ I knew when Sami got "injured" and was sent back to Pakistan about whats going on :D and thats what he really needed. He needs Waqar's coaching big time. He can't copy Shoaib Akhtar, he needs variety and swing.

Captain1 Bhai,
Variety and swing wali baat tou theek hai, lekin yeh kiya baat hai ke he cant copy Shoaib Akhter, kiya Injured hona Shoaib Akhter ki Monopoly hai.

:smiley: :stuck_out_tongue: :smiley:

-----------z------------

Lol @ inzi ,:smiley:

That would have been ideal, but, :frowning:

The best of the best never had any significant ‘training’ or ‘coaching’ from ‘their’
Elders, nor did they attended academies to refine their ‘art’

This trend of having ‘Batting Coaches’ ’Fielding Coaches’ ‘Bowling Coach’
Is nothing but ‘Band-aid’ solutions. I mean who are they kidding? :mad:

Ideally they should have ‘scouted’ for at least 5 new pacers from the domestic
Setup and then could have brought in Mr. Waqar to have a go at them.

What was the ‘Big rush’ to assign him ahead of the Indian tour??? :mad:
This would undermine his ability when they’re really needed later on in future.

By that time his ‘Career-Personality-Abilities’ would be so much tainted, that he’d regret the day he said “Yes” to BCCP.
Apart from Shabir and a fit Shoiab, Pakistan has a ‘Bowl well’ pace attack not
‘Bowl to win’. There’s nothing much Mr.Waqar can do with these pacers, except for Shabir. (Assuming Umer Gul as a permanent no-show) I hope he gets well inshallah.

I rather see Junaid Zia & Abdul Kadir’s Son as clean slates to be written on.
These 2 being the ‘Symbolic blood line’ for scouting that BCCP should work on and not necessarily these 2 only,:o

^^ Sir aapki baaton se najaane kyon esa lagta hai jese aapne Rana ke ik over mein 4 yorkers nahi dekhe jin mein se 2 per wickets girien ke Austrailian commentrators bol pare ‘Rana yorks at will’. This is sad that the lone soldier who gave his 110% in the absence of unfit super heros, who penetrated batting lines in his first spell, not one, not two but atleast 4 time in VB series and who reverse swung the ball as early as in 26th over is not considering as a match winner bowler. If Waqar work hard on this guy, he could be another Aquib Javed for us, he is already showing signs of it. Pace is not everything, Aussies just proved it over and over in last 8 years. We still not learning anything. Its the mind, wrist and fingers of the bowler that work.

Anyway, GOOD NEWS in the clouds of several injuries is that SAMI BETA is completely fit and in good rythem. Lets keep the fingers crossed for Actor’s fitness report. Pak will have brighter chance of winning against Hindians if they both are fit and atleast trying to give their best. Rest can be taken care by Rana, Afridi and Denish :k:

-----------x-----------

Yara Smoothy!

I’m no expert in critics or human psychology.

Eccentric and eerie as I may sound my opinions are always factual and impersonal.

Where as some of the ‘comments’ on the forum (Like the one ^ ^ about one over of Rana) suggests that Shoaib Akhter or other bowlers never had such a feast *
Aqib Javed was a different league then. A non starter on this thread

I like Rana but the fact is that he can only bowl 10 overs max. *

Can Shoaib bowl 20 overs?

Waqar will be really handy for likes of Sami and Rao. He can guide Sami to use his pace and get some swing to dodge the batsmen while Rao can improve further in late swings… so its not just Rana who will benefit from Waqar!

PCB serious in hiring Waqar as bowling coach for India tour

By our correspondent

KARACHI: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) confirmed on Tuesday that former Test captain and fast bowler Waqar Younis was being considered to be appointed as bowling coach of the senior team for the tour of India.

PCB Director Abbas Zaidi confirmed that the former great was under serious consideration after coach Bob Woolmer and captain Inzamam had requested the Board to appoint a bowling coach for the Indian tour. “They suggested the names of Waqar and Wasim Akram but the latter is very busy with other commitments but Waqar has shown interest and we will have formal talks with him when he returns from Australia,” Zaidi said.

“He (Waqar) is definitely under consideration because we believe he can be a big help to the team with his experience. If he’s appointed as the bowling coach he would be attached with the team and go to India,” he stated.

Pakistan is due to tour India from February 25 to play three Tests and five One-day Internationals.

The 33-year-old Waqar was dropped from the Pakistan team and removed as captain after Pakistan’s first-round exit from the 2003 World Cup. The pacer, famous for his toe crushing reverse swinging Yorkers, ended with 373 wickets in 87 Tests and 416 wickets in 262 one-dayers.

Since his unofficial retirement, Waqar has spent time with his family in Sydney and Lahore and is now a regular TV commentator. In the recent Test and VB Series in Australia, he was the only Pakistani on the Channel Nine commentary team.

Zaidi said the idea was that the younger bowlers could benefit from Waqar’s experience and be prepared for the hard Indian tour. “Wasim apparently is very busy with his commentary and other work. As part of the preparations for the Indian tour, former Test captains Mushtaq Mohammad and Saeed Anwar will also guide the boys in the batting department in the five-day training camp from February 19 to 23,” he stated. The Pakistan squad for the Indian tour is due to be announced on Saturday.

Zaidi said while Saeed was already working at the National Cricket Academy (NCA), Mushtaq would be called for the duration of the training camp. “We can benefit from his experience for later assignments also,” he added.

Not sure what you mean :confused::k:

Raindance Bhai Matlab yeh hai,

Ke Shoaib Actor Bhai teen overs me he apna stamina gawa dete hai, aur phir he starts acting like a RABID DOG.

Do you need any more clarification???

Iman Se Log Bhi Naa!!!

Actually he could apply for a “injury patent” :hehe: