Waqar retains captaincy for Aussie one-dayers

KARACHI, May 19: Waqar Younis was retained Pakistan captain Sunday as the selectors were set to announce a 14-man team for the next month’s Super Challenge series against world champions Australia.

The chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), Lt Gen Tauqir Zia, said from Rawalpindi Waqar was an automatic choice. But as regards the team, the PCB chief said the chairman of selectors Wasim Bari was in a better position to comment.

He, however, made it clear that there would be no experiments and the best 14 would be picked for the tour that commences a gruelling cricket upto the World Cup starting Feb 8. Pakistan take on Australia on Feb 9 in the opener at Johannesburg.

After the June series, Pakistan is to play in a tri-nation one-day series between Aug 12 and 21 at Morocco, then an unconfirmed tri-series originally scheduled in Pakistan between Aug 27 and Sept 7, then the ICC Champions Trophy at Colombo between Sept 12 and 30, then an undecided three-Test series against Australia in Pakistan before embarking on the African safari where it will play four Tests and 10 One-day Internationals.

"There is no need to announce Waqar captain until the World Cup because the concerned people know who would be the man incharge.

“Waqar knows it, Mudassar Nazar knows it and we know it. But as far as the PCB policy is concerned, we would stick to the promise of announcing the captain on a series-by-series basis,” Tauqir said.

Waqar was always expected to retain the captaincy after his team continued to make significant progress in terms of consistency and positive results. But the point to be noted is that it is after a long time that the appointment of a captain and the composition of the team looks as simple as it is now.

It has taken the present setup nearly two-and-a-half years to find the right combination and after changing three captains, four coaches and after trying numerous players.

As far as the team composition in concerned, there are clear indications that the same squad would be retained that won the Sharjah Cup and swept the three-match one-day series against New Zealand last month.

Although Abdul Razzaq and Saqlain Mushtaq will not be available, Azhar Mahmood and Saeed Anwar would return to bolster the team.

The likely 14: Saeed Anwar, Imran Nazir, Shahid Afridi, Younis Khan, Yousuf Youhana, Inzamam-ul-Haq (vice-captain), Shoaib Malik, Azhar Mahmood, Rashid Latif, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis (captain), Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Sami, Misbah-ul-Haq.

The first two matches will be played indoors at Melbourne’s Docklands Stadium on June 12 and 15 with the final game at the Gabba in Brisbane on June 19.

The Pakistan squad leaves for Australia on June 5.

**Nikamma kya is dil nay
Is dil nay kya hay Nikamma **

Kool..
GO Waqar go !!!!!

Go Waqar, Kill the Aussies.

AK

Arey Asif bhai kyon khoon kharabey per utar aye ho

Razzaq and Saqlain not being there will be a negative for Pakistan, Saeed’s return is a definite positive.

Ehsan Bhai, Love to see Aussies Hammered. Waise bhi when it comes Waqar, I can't control my Emotions. He is too good.

What happened to Razzaq and Saqlain ? Why are they not going ? Razzaq is needed, His presence in the team gives a lot of option.

AK

Stupid county cricket!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/mad.gif

I don’t even know why this was announced as who better is to captain rightnow, no surprise their.

Wishing all the best, Waqar!

WatCh youR tHoughtS; they become words.
WatCh youR wOrdS; they become actions.
WatCh youR aCtiOns; they become habits.
WatCh youR hAbiTs; they become character.
WatCh youR chaRactEr; it becomes your dEsTinY."

Is Razzak given a LOA to play county cricket? Jeez! Since when did country started coming second to county cricket?

Waqar is ok, I guess.

I wonder, though, how is Inzi shaping up as Veep? After all, Waqar doesn't have a lot of cricket left in him, and we need to see if Inzi is the right person to be groomed for the skipper role.

Did Inzi had opportunity to captain the side and how did he do?

Does he have a thinking head on his shoulder (sorry for asking this, but my memories of the dude suggest an over-weight person about to go to sleep)? :)

He only got the chance to captain the side once in Newzeland in April of 2001 which Pakistan lost badly after Moin Khan was injured.

I suggest to go for Razzaq, he is about 24 I think but looks like a player with strong mentality, have never seen him not calm even when Pak is loosing badly, I suggest go fo Razzaq as VC till Waqar retires which I think will be 3-4 years and then he will be old enough and experienced.

well Ehsan bhai , the pool of talented players we have I serioulsy doubt we will be missing the services of these players. I think Razzaq would be missed more than saqlain, but Azhar mehmood is a very good replacement, his current performance against english county teams was amazing. As far Saqlain is concerned I’m sure shoib malik can be a good fit not only we will be having a decent spin from his side but also increases our depth in batting.Oh yeah who can forget Afridi?if you remmember, his bowling was very effective in Aus especially his faster delieveries which at some point was unplayable that also lead alot of doubts in goras mind concerning his action.

this is my team

1.Saeed Anwar
2.Imran Nazir
3.Yousaf Youhana
4.Inzimam
5.Younis khan
6.Shahid Afridi/Shoib Malik
7.Azhar Mehmood
8.Rashid Latif
9.Wasim Akram
10.Waqar Younis
11.Shoaib akhtar

I hope I’m not missing anyone important , this lineup adds a muscle to our batting lineup by including Shoib malik or Shahid Afridi. We are aware of Aussis attack and its important to have a depth in batting!

with two W’s in the squad we dont have to worry about our bowling attack and Shoaib in his peak these days definitely will add a misery to the Aus batsmen.
The only problem with this squad is the unavailability of the sixth bowler incase any of em fail

3 genuine fast (shoaib,wasim,waqar)
1 medium pacer(Azhar mehmood)
1 spinner (Shoaib Malik/ Afridi)

[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited May 20, 2002).]

In the above lineup, whats interesting is that our batting goes all the way to #9.

I only remember Azhar scoring some centuries when he started his international career and nothing after that for a long time. Has he scored any decent innings lately? I always feel many times more comfortable with Razzak.

I don't consider Afridi a regular spinner, so I'd go with Malik.

Is Yuhanna now batting at the troubling #3 spot?

I agree with Sherry bhai’s list.

Come on guys.. give Razzaq a break. It’s his first season in county cricket, that too playing for Middlesex, at Lords.

You guys should be proud of them too, acheiving to play cricket in England, against the goras.

I for one can’t wait for the new torney, 20 over matches, night matches, short, and full stadiums.

Though I won’t be cheering for Middlesex, I hope Razzaq shines. GO SURREY!!

By the way.. I want Moin Khan back!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/crying.gif

Another sad part is to you in North America, the matches will not be shown on Dishnetwork. Though KBS is trying to get them (talked to the director on the phone).

[This message has been edited by Peoples Champ (edited May 20, 2002).]

Originally posted by Pristine:
**In the above lineup, whats interesting is that our batting goes all the way to #9.

I only remember Azhar scoring some centuries when he started his international career and nothing after that for a long time. Has he scored any decent innings lately? I always feel many times more comfortable with Razzak.

I don't consider Afridi a regular spinner, so I'd go with Malik.

Is Yuhanna now batting at the troubling #3 spot?**

Team Looks good..But Are Australian really coming.

Shery good team selection and yeah let Abdul Razzaq make some money

He needs to buy a house, wants to get marry he told me yesterday on our phone conversation. I said Abdul bhai I can lend you some, he said no I don’t want to borrow any money but sure you can come and give me a big SALAMI

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/yummy.gif

My friend one thing at a time..first we need to do some unfinished business at their venue

We know Aussies how they are, even if the situation is back to normal they will be still whinning about it but if we pull of a victory in their home ground then they “might” consider to play in Pak for revenge

Go read this
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/Forum15/HTML/001940.html

Pristine bhai..
Azhar Mehmood wasnt in a great form when he played for pakistan. In his last ten ODI he averaged 26.33 but his best figure in bowling was only 2/46 so basically he wasnt really consistent in his bolwing that lead to his exclusion. I believe he is much more polished and improved player after having an excellent short stint in England

Yousuf Youhana I believe is perfect for number 3, his last ODI resulted in a half century against New Zealand.

He played 17 matches so far at number 3 position and averages 55.57 that comprise of 4 half centuries and 2 centuries

Question bhai kia baat hey apki

I didnt know you are in close terms with Razzaq.

Yaar agar is baar bhi aap game arrange kar saktay hein to bari meherbani hougi apki

..hehe I’m ever ready to chip in..

Ppl’s champ..I also miss Moin khan but Rashid Latif is technically a better wicketkeepr and his batting has been improving alot lately!He is becoming one of those batsmen who doesnt throw their wocket easily.
Did you know that Rashid Latif’s average after his comeback is 34.50 .even I was surpirse to see his average from the crick .org site

Yes finally Pakistani team is going to the right direction

[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited May 20, 2002).]

Originally posted by sherrybaba:

this is my team

1.Saeed Anwar
2.Imran Nazir
3.Yousaf Youhana
4.Inzimam
5.Younis khan
6.Shahid Afridi/Shoib Malik
7.Azhar Mehmood
8.Rashid Latif
9.Wasim Akram
10.Waqar Younis
11.Shoaib akhtar

[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited May 20, 2002).]**

None of Afridi or Malik can take Saqlain's place, I would keep both of them and take out Nazir from the opening slot and put Shoaib Malik in their.

My team

1.) Saeed Anwar
2.) Shoaib Malik
3.) Shahid Afridi
4.) Yousuf Youhana
5.) Younis Khan
6.) Inzimam-ul-Haq
7.) Azhar Mahamood
8.) Rashid Latif
9.) Wasim Akram
10.) Waqar Younis
11.) Shoaib Akhtar

Originally posted by Asif_k:
**Ehsan Bhai, Love to see Aussies Hammered. Waise bhi when it comes Waqar, I can't control my Emotions. He is too good.

yeh waqar ke saath love kab se ho gya???

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited May 22, 2002).]

Originally posted by UMAIR316:
My team

1.) Saeed Anwar
2.) Shoaib Malik
3.) Shahid Afridi
4.) Yousuf Youhana
5.) Younis Khan
6.) Inzimam-ul-Haq
7.) Azhar Mahamood
8.) Rashid Latif
9.) Wasim Akram
10.) Waqar Younis
11.) Shoaib Akhtar

Inzaman at number 6? No way. Your best batsman should come at 3 or 4.

[This message has been edited by oneguy (edited May 22, 2002).]