Waqar..... is he good enough?

wat do u guys think of waqar?.. i personally think hes finished, he hardly bowled a ball that troubled batsmen in both games, wasim on the other hand looked superb, plus i think waqar seriously lacks captaining abilities…
his field setting was very defensive wen all we needed was a solid attacking field cos ponting and bevan were both new. so no need to b defensive, and he opted for razak n azhar wen he shudd v known better that ponting is not a good player of spin, had he brought saqi in the 10th, 11th over, i reckon this wud v been a very intersting game… I hope we can find a good skipper soon… someone like imran is badly needed at the moment. the problem is, right now pakistan doesnt have much choice, akram was good in his captaincy, but then again, hes got other issues going … i,m not against waqar younis, i reckon wen he was at his peak, he was simply the best this world has ever seen… but right now, i reckon his days r gone, he shows his past glimpses once in a while but is no longer a force in world cricket and we need a strike bowler to start the attack. wasim is still going fine, but he hasnt got much cricket left in him anyway, probably another 2 yrs, so we seriously need 2 or 3 genuine attacking seamers.. shoaib if he can overcome his fitness problems, is a great prospect, but we need a couple more… or we seriously need to polish m.sami and m akram and co. But waqar, i reckon there is no place for him in the team right now.
and inzamam i reckon just needs a kik in the bum for playing that kind of a shot.he needs to act cool, he shud v known better, hes not playing his first match!. khair, have ur say ppl.

its about time i changed my signature.

I agree Waqar is not a good captain at all he is very defensive most of the time and his agression is like that of the Aussies constantly saying something to the batsmen while bowling and this is wat i hate the Aussies for. We do need good new bowl bowlers but M SAMi M Akram and even Shoaib are not upto the mark to be honest there is no one to replace the ws with they still look better than all the new ones

To err is human to keep on doing so is essentially me

As far as I think, Waqar is the best captain we could have rightnow.
The loss against Australia was not the lack of captaincy but the lack of thinking of the players (Inzimam)
As far as the bowling is concerned, he's a great bowler as well. I guess you guys didn't watch the Old Trafford test match, that was the best bowling I have seen from a pakistani bowler in a long time.
I think we should talk about other players in the team if they're good enough to be on the team, like Afridi, when was the last time he scored a century for Pakistan not counting the the weak Newzeland bowling attack. He comes in and hits 4 or 5 boundries and gets out stupidly and whereareas the players collapse due to a fall of early wickets and we blame them for the lost.

Thank you, come again

Waqar is finished. He is bowling poorly and one decent performance to save the team on day five at Old trafford does not make up for it. A captain should lead by example and from the fore. Waqar is arguably the poorest bowler we have at the moment.

Akram continues to bowl with all the skill and beauty which will see him remembered as one of tyhe greatest bowlers ever - but his time as captain is over. Pakistan's best captains have always come as bowlers/all rounders, not as batsmen.

If we consider Imran and Akram both leading Pakistan to world cup finals and a string of other successes no other captains can equal their impressive feat. Remember we have had Miandad, Inzamam both captain the team. Whilst both are legends with the bat, neither could succeed in the capacity of captain. This leads me to argue that Waqar should be disposed of and dropped. Our next captain should be Saqlain. Don't forget we are building towards another world cup in 2 years time.

Make Saqlain captain and let him flourish into the role so that Pakistan can lift the cup in 2003. Azhar Mahmood should be vice captain and as his inexperience at the moment is the only reason why I believe he should not get the captaincy ahead of Saqlain.

In short, Waqar is not good enough.

Waqar is not bowling well. He dont have that fire power left within himself.So he is trying the other( bad ) tricks.
He has always been the bowler totally depending on FAST FAST inswinging yorkers.If the ball doesnt move then he surly will be punished.As it is heppening with him( n I m sure this will continue )

SO he better left the team himself unless he may be thrown out of the team.

Pakistan team has always won the matches by sheer agression.A defencive captain could not do good for Pakistan.

If u see the moon
U will see a star near it

Critics of Waqar are biting their words now. He just took 7 for 38 in one day match against England. What more you expect of him?

HE IS NOW and He sure was ... Berwala Express has just rammed couple of Kangroos in his first over!!!

Hey one more thing
These things are hard to explain
For some it seems strange... to swallow
The frontier of our minds
Is the last place we find
But maybe the first place we should go

a its bur-a-wala express

i dontthink that matters any way he just took his third wicket very nice

in my view i think that waqa is back on for after his preformance over the english . he back on the road to succes and hope he and the rest of the team DO WELL IN THE FINAL AGAINST THE AUSSIS i hope that they don't take any tips this time.

Some of us soar to the stars, but some have to live with the Scars

6 FOR 59 against Australia. Wow

I wonder what his critics has to say?

Acha… ab itna to na zaleel karro na uper waloon ko. Ghalti insaan say hee hoti hai!

Kiya patta, kall ko Shoaib Akhter bhi 9 wicket lay lay… phir hum sub fittay-mooon ho jayein gay!

I guess we can enjoy it until Waqar puts up a bad performance.
Something from Waqar until then…

:

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/dixsi.gif

[This message has been edited by analyze it (edited June 20, 2001).]

hmm.. well all i have to say is,,, i,m impressed... and its avery good come back,, if he can keep it up... but his battery sure was flat till the last two games,,,, and admit it or not,,, his captaincy still sux,,, and my main criticism was his captaincy he still needs to learn a lot....
but yes hes bowling very good these days and i,m as deighted as all of u. I hope hes back to his previous best wen he was the invincible waqar..

As a critic of Waqar earlier in the week, I suppose its only fair I reply in some context to my comments. Waqar has bowled amazingly. No one can dispute it. In the last two games he has led like a true captain - by leading the boys from the front.

Let us bear in mind that it is two games. That does not make a captain. This is not to say that Waqar should not be captain. Rather, to suggest that in order to retain the captaincy he must continue to lead by example, and maintain a consistancy in his approach to the game. If this is the case then Waqar will go on to become a great captain and will figure amongst Imran and Wasim.

Only time will tell, let's wait and see...

If this is the case then Waqar will go on to become a great captain and will figure amongst Imran and Wasim.

Excuse me.......!!!! ehehehe.

Imran was definitely the greatest cricketer and greatest captain of pakistan. For Wasim, I don't think he even comes close as distant second. It is too early for Waqar to be judged as a captain, only time will tell but I think he has performed better than Moin Khan at least.

Originally posted by analyze it:
**6 FOR 59 against Australia. Wow

I wonder what his critics has to say?**

CHIRAAGH BUJHNEE SE PEHLE AAKHRI BAAR BHARAKTA ZAROOR HAI.

See waqar bowling in Pakistan.
~!@#$%^&()_+{}|":?><

If u see the moon

How can you dispute the achievements of Wasim as captain? He was an inspirational captain under whom the team saw much success. He is also the only other captain other than Imran to have guided the team to a world cup final.

As an all rounder, a captain and more prominently as a bowler he will be remembered as one of the greatest cricketers of all time. His ability to manipulate the ball and take crucial wickets at critical times has saved Pakistan on numerous occasions. He led from the fore, as a captain should. Waqar now has his opportunity to make a name for himself.

Originally posted by Scar_Face!:
**in my view i think that waqa is back on for after his preformance over the english . he back on the road to succes and hope he and the rest of the team DO WELL IN THE FINAL AGAINST THE AUSSIS i hope that they don't take any tips this time.

So What heppend to the BOREWALA EXPRESS, n the GREAT CAPTAIN WAQAR .

These were two good days for him. He himself was nto doing anything( I think he could not do nay more ) rather it was the Pitch and luck that helped him.

I again repeat that as a bowler he dont have that bite remaining with him

If u see the moon

Waqar Younis this month re-emerged as one of the world's great bowlers. Sadly, no one noticed.

That, at least, is how it must seem to the Pakistan captain.

At the start of June, he took five wickets in the second and final test against England at Old Trafford, making one of the key breakthroughs on the last day by removing Graham Thorpe with a venomous new-ball spell before claiming the wicket which drew the series.

All the talk afterwards, however, was of how the umpires failed to spot a string of no-balls on the final afternoon, three of them from off-spinner Saqlain Mushtaq. The no-balls ultimately cost England four wickets.

During the triangular series which followed, Waqar uprooted the first seven England batsman to claim the second-best one-day figures of all time at Headingley, seven for 36.

But the headlines focused on England conceding the match after a premature pitch invasion by Pakistan fans.

A haul of six for 59 followed against Australia at Trent Bridge, a background to fresh controversy as Steve Waugh marched his side off after a firecracker landed near Brett Lee.

MAN OF THE SERIES

Then on Saturday, Waqar was named man of the triangular series with 17 wickets at 12.88 apiece. He barely got a mention, Australia winning the tournament and Michael Bevan being hit in the face by a beer can flung by a spectator.

Waqar, on what he expects to be his last tour of England, must have wondered why he bothered.

His team coach, however, does not.

He has re-emerged as a fast bowling force,'' says Richard Pybus.The raw pace has gone but the mastery of working a batsman over, of working the angles, the ability to swing the ball both ways at pace has not.''

If Waqar's rebirth came against the odds -- sidelined in 1995 with recurring back problems, he has struggled to earn a regular place in the side in recent seasons -- his appointment as captain to replace Moin Khan was just as surprising, considering his lack of experience.

Pre-tour reports from Pakistan suggested he had inherited a poisoned chalice, with former friend-turned-foe Wasim Akram merely one member of a squad riven by deep personal enmities.

The team, however, beaten at home by England at the end of last year, held together to draw the test series with England after being caught cold at Lord's. They then reached the triangular final.

BIG SUCCESS

Pakistan's heavy defeat to Australia on Saturday took some gloss off a tour which, however, will surely be seen in retrospect as a big success.

``In Waqar as captain we have unearthed a real gem,'' Pybus said.

``He has all the characteristics required -- he leads by example, he is not afraid of tough decisions, he's a good reader of the game and he's learnt fast.

``He has also helped to ensure we have had a harmonious dressing room and that is important.''

How long Waqar will last -- officially he is 29, but lax birth registration practices in Pakistan may mean he is several years older -- remains to be seen.

I haven't got a clue,'' he says.People have been asking me this question over the last six years but God alone knows.

``It all depends on how long my body can hold itself together. But, when I do eventually leave the game, I want to do so with grace.''

He may feel he has not been treated with much of that in recent weeks.

But Waqar, a big favourite when he played for English county Surrey, is one of those few sportsmen who will leave an indelible impression on their sports.

Some players are remembered by statistics -- Courtney Walsh will go down in history as the 519-wicket man -- but those fortunate enough to see Waqar in action will remember him in picture form. They will never forget his trademark delivery, the late in-swinging yorker which generally either shattered the stumps or the batsman's toe bones.

With Wasim, Waqar introduced to the sport reverse swing with the old ball, taking 22 wickets on the victorious 1992 tour of England, followed by 16 four years later.

``There are plenty of series which stick out in the mind, like the 1992 and 1996 test series here in England,'' he agrees.

2001, however, is unlikely to join that list.