^ Wasim himself is not willing to teach. He has admitted repeatedly he is not a good teacher.
Those who doubt waqar's bowling related analytical skills, you should have heard him talk (if you could stand his accent) whenever he did bowling analysis. Blew the other commentator right out of the park in terms of knowledge and experience.
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
Absolutely, no question about it. A similar topic have also been raised in the past. The general concensus has indicated that anything remotely related to Waqar Younis's line of commentary just gets no admiration and value from neither the viewers nor the commentators, moreover, it has been made to just another case of "A Desi fighting an English accent".
You have raised quite a nice viewpoint, and granted speaking abilities does not come naturally to Waqar which greatly under-rates the abilities of him as a cherished commentator, it should be emphasized that he has several moments that span throughout this commentating career in where he has literally taken other commentators to park, with his deep-rooted views on reverse swing bowling and simple bowling area in general.
Nice posts by other members as well! A legend of the past, a prodigy of the present and a teaching phenomenon for the future.
I was just reading on Jang that Waqar and the PCB have not come to terms due to Waqar asking for a big amount of money. I certainly hope this is not true. This would be the second time that we were so close in signing Waqar but at the last minute money has been an issue. I think if PCB hires Waqar, even if the price is high..it would be worth it. If they can pay such a big amount for Woolmer, why not give Waqar a chance.
I don't know anything about his coaching credentials thats why I asked you, seems you don't know either. I will again say that a great bowler does not necessarily make a great coach. I am not saying he will not make a good coach but at this stage I am skeptical and Kahn sahib thandi lassi piyo.
Former Test captains Zaheer Abbas and Waqar Younis have become manager and national bowling coach of Pakistan’s cricket team.
Zaheer, a former batsman who scored more than 5000 runs in 78 Tests in the 1970s and 80s, takes over for the tour of Sri Lanka, starting next week.
Bowler Waqar took 373 Test wickets in a 14-year career and he will coach the first team as well as the junior sides.
“Waqar is a big strike for us,” said PCB director Abbas Zaidi.
“He himself has been very keen to work with the bowlers. We are sure Pakistan cricket will benefit from his experience, skills and commitment,” Zaidi added.
“We are hoping that with someone of his calibre in charge, we would be able to unearth some new talent in fast bowling and also groom the available bowlers.”
Waqar said one of his first priorities would be improving the fitness of Pakistan’s seam bowlers.
“I will sit down with the physiotherapist and trainer to solve this problem,” he said.
"It’s a great honour to be bowling coach of your country’s team and I see it as a great responsibility.
“It’s also a great honour to work with a reputed coach like Bob Woolmer and I will do my best to transfer my knowledge of the game to youngsters.”
definatly this is a done deal.. this is what was posted on the PCB website.
Media Release - 8 March 2006
PCB is pleased to announce the following appointments:
Mr. Zaheer Abbas has been appointed Manager of the Pakistan Team.
Mr. Waqar Younis has been appointed National Bowling Coach. In addition to the national team, he will be coaching junior teams e.g. ‘A’ team, Under-19 and Academy teams. He will be based at the National Academy.
Mr. Shahid Aslam has been nominated as Assistant Manager-cum-coach for the Sri Lanka tour. Salim Altaf
Director (Cricket Operations)
Anything better than Mushtaq Ahmad. First of all, It is unfortunate that likes of Rana and Sami werent consistent with their Reverse swing. Thats what Rana made the bowler he was in australia and India. I hope Waqar raises their level of confidence in younger bowlers to bowl well consistently, not in patches.
It is too early to say if its going to be a success. But lets hope so :)
Aright finally, we can confirm that Waqar is the bowling coach. Now, atleast Woolmer can pay close attention to our batsmen giving out practice catches and silly runouts. Also, guys, fielding; this part of game has been on the up side but since the last 4 ODIs very ordinary fielding. Thinking that now Woolmer doesn't have to worry about bowlers, I suspect he will put more emphasis on fielding as well. If Waqar can change Asif and Rana to bowl more pacy and Rana with more accuracy, we'll def. have a deadly attack with Shoaib, Asif and Rana for the WC 07.
Umer
Well great news indeed….I have always been a big fan of waqar younis….As a matter of fact it was waqar younis who mastered the art of reverse swing and took it to the new level. As many of you may recall that wasim akram was playing cricket since 1984 and undoubtedly he was a terrific swing bowler but it was only after 1989 when waqar younis came into the action that we started seeing those reverse-swing laden spells on a continuous basis- almost in every other match. However, it would be extremely unfair to expect too much from waqar younis overnight but he will Inshallah have a positive impact on our fast bowlers. I know for sure that last year in VB series, waqar younis was instrumental in teaching Rana how to bowl those deadly Yorkers in last overs. Asif has also acknowledged “wickie bhai’s contribution” after Karachi test and hopefully waqar will continue his good job.
**Waqar Younis appointed bowling coach
Cricinfo staff
March 8, 2006
Waqar Younis, the former fast bowler, has been appointed the bowling coach of Pakistan while Zaheer Abbas, the former Pakistani batsman, is the team manager. Waqar's duties will include working with the Pakistan A, Under-19 and Academy teams.
Waqar, 34, was known famously for his ability to reverse swing the ball at toe-crushing lengths and his lethal pairing with Wasim Akram was a prime reason for Pakistan's success in the nineties. With 789 international wickets, Waqar is second only to Akram in Pakistan's all-time wicket-takers. He captained Pakistan with little success - he was at the helm during a disastrous 2003 World Cup campaign - and lost the job to Rashid Latif thereafter. He announced his retirement in 2004 and has been a commentator since then.
Abbas, a stylish batsman in his day, played 78 Tests and 62 one-day internationals, averaging 44.79 and 47.62 respectively. He also had much success playing for the English county side Gloucestershire, and after leaving the game he officiated in one Test and three one-day internationals in the 1993-94.
Pakistan's next assignment is a two-Test and three one-day international tour of Sri Lanka beginning March 17.
Pee lee Thandi Lassi Ehsan bhai :)
All I am trying to say is that we should not expect the same from Waqar which we expect from Woolmer. And I have explained that already in one of my earlier posts.
With Woolmer already the coach of Pakistan, appointment of Waqar Younis just for our fast bowlers, could be one of the best decision PCB has made lately.
On the other hand if Waqar cannot deilver, than we have nothing to lose. However the strong chances are that with his expertise he can atleast improve the performance of our bowlers by 20-25%. And that will be great.
The bottom line is that teams usually don't carry a full time coach and than a bowling coach.
With this new appointment, Pakistan team will start a new era, with the advantage of having a coach who has successfully trained the side for the last 2 years and to further excel the performance of the coach and the fast bowlers, we have the best possible candidate in the form of Waqar Younis.
Phoenixdesi bhai, very well said and agree 100% with you. I am very optimistic that "Wickie Bhai" will turn our unpolished stones into "gems." It will also include Sami and I reckon "Shabbir Ahmed" as well...
Umer
This is a positive move and if Waqar can bring about a change in bowlers stretegy and *teach them when and how to utilize 'Yorkers & Short ball' *
Only this much contribution from him would be enough to kick start these limping stallions. I see bright light at the end of the wicket,,,,
This 'Wata'a Sata' guy might pull off few winners, You Know! :D
It does not necessarily follow that a great bowler will become a good coach.
in fact, if it’s a desi great bowler or batsmen, he’s usually narrow minded and too high on himself and can be counterproductive.
Confused?
In my (very humble) opinion, a bowling or batting coach should only ‘guide’ and ‘correct problems’ with on the field implementation left up to the bowler and at the most the headcoach with the team. I hope and pray that Waqar limits his role to guidance and doesn’t try to get inside the bowlers body. Every bowler is different and should be allowed some flexibility in how he wants to implement the team plan. I hope Waqar is not another Javed Mianded (anyone remember seeing him giving batting directions from the balcony in one of the recent tours… that was mighty embarrassing).
By the way, I do feel that Wasim would have made a better bowling coach but unfortunately for us, in addition to having a tained past, he also has great penchant for destrutive politics and should be kept away from any position of power in Pakistan Cricket (and I say this sadly) .
The News has reported that Waqar would receive a lumpsum amount of $100,000 (approximately six million rupees) from PCB, after Saleem Altaf held a major concern of not appointing Waqar as National Bowling Coach and paying him severe fees alongwith it due to no present evidence of his coaching/bio-mechanics degrees; hence, not a unanimous decision, but ultimately, since Inzamam requested it in the first place, someone had to put the stamp on the envelope.
Pre concluded assessment is not a good idea, maybe they will, maybe they will not do a good job at all, but in the legal form they have found a bowling coach and Manger cum batting coach as well. I can say that the amount of money that will be paid to them is Wow! but hey aren’t we paying money to everyone we hire for the betterment of our team :k:
IMO they will do a good job!
I can give one best example that a good bowler can be a good coach and that is Aaquib Javed who has performed very well at either position bowling coach for the academies or coach of the U-19 team, and as a bowler for the Pakistani team.