Waqar Younas and Inzmam will address to a press conerence on monday..
AHHHH!!! good target practice for ganda anda and timatar:)
*Originally posted by Paradoxurus: *
AHHHH!!! good target practice for ganda anda and timatar:)
I am sure it will be held in some secret place.
May be inside some bunker.
Inshallah our AWAM sabr sey kaam leygi:)...
its not that bad. I think people understand. no tamatar ya anda throwing this time... But they will face some angry questions.
yeah i think so too kashur but i think the only thing lacked was performance this time. No shortage of talent, team spirit or hard work. Khair lets see what comes out of this
Did Waqar Younis come back yet??
Any news if Waqar is going to step down as the Captain? I heard the coach already stepped down.
It would be interesting to see what Inzi says :D
Both Wasim Waqar and a couple of other players are back. They were crowded by representatives of Geo TV upon their arrival here on the respective airports.
Wasim said obviously we all are unhappy and really disappointed with our performance. He said ke gae to jeetne hi ki nazar se thay.... :)
Waqar just brushed aside all questions and matter-of-factly said hez going to call a press conference in 1-2 days and will answer all questions there.
Youhana and Younis Khan, both of whom are in Dubai were aired on a TV program as well and both expressed similar views as well.
Who is still in Dubai? Aren't the players just going to stay there for the Sharjah. They'd be smart not to go bakc to Pakitan until they win the Sharjah cup.
Waqar has not even a grain of self respect left. Anyone else in his position would have resigned and taken the responsibility for what happened. Pathetic.
*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Waqar has not even a grain of self respect left. Anyone else in his position would have resigned and taken the responsibility for what happened. Pathetic.
True.
He should have resigned and taken the moral responsibility.But has anyone in subcontinent has done it before? I dont remember any Indian,Paki or Lankan captain did it before.
I think its in our culture that we r thick skinned. :(
*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Well he will probably do that at his press conference. He was not a good captain but I don't think he should have remained captain for so long in the first place. I think whoever was responsible for appointing Waqar as captain also has some questions to answer. But I doubt they will.
** The shameless and morally bankrupt captain of our team has said while he is sorry and embarrased at the performance of the team and apologised to the nation, he will however NOT RESIGN AS CAPTAIN.
Inzimam also apologised to the nation and did the right thing by accepting responsibility and resigning as the vice captain.**
Comeon PCB sack Waqar and make my day. I have lost all respect for the guy.
Inzamam quits while Waqar vows to carry on](http://uk.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/MAR/154564_PAK_10MAR2003.html)
Inzamam-ul-Haq on Monday stepped down as Pakistan vice-captain but skipper Waqar Younis vowed to carry on, saying his captaincy alone cannot be blamed for the team’s failure in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2003.
"I let the country down with my lacklustre performance. I feel I have to shoulder some of the responsibility and consequently have decided to step down as vice-captain. Now my objective is to concentrate on my batting, regain confidence for future assignments.
“I, as senior professional, will, nevertheless, be available for guidance, support and advice if required”, Inzamam told a press conference at the Gaddafi Stadium.
Waqar said the entire team failed to rise to the occasion.
“It would be unjustified if only the captaincy is blamed. I think we didn’t bat and bowl as well as we should have. Overall, the team’s performance was below-par and we have no excuses to offer”, he said.
Waqar added: “We have let the nation down but now we have to repair the damage”.
On his captaincy, Waqar said it was up to the selectors and cricket administrators as to what they thought about his future. “It’s entirely on them but I think my performance over the last couple of years has been good if not excellent. I have finished second best (in terms of wickets) if not the leading wicket-taker”.
Inzamam said it was time that a youngster takes over the job of vice-captaincy. “When we talk about rebuilding the team, captaincy also comes into it. And I think it is time that a youngster is given the job so that he learns the art of leading the team before he is handed over the big job”.
Waqar, Inzamam and team manager Shaharyar Khan, in their opening statements, tendered public apologies for their failures. “We are apologetic and sorry for not living up to expectations. But we tried very hard. We wouldn’t blame anyone except ourselves. We were beaten fair and square by teams who were better than us,” they said.
Shaharyar Khan believed a wrong hype was created before the commencement of the tournament. “I believe we were wrongly labeled as favourites. We didn’t realise that the team had been on a losing streak and not doing well prior to the World Cup. Secondly, we had ageing super-stars who were not the same force as they used to be about four years ago. Unfortunately, the players on whom our future lay, also failed to rise to the occasion”.
The manager believed that the team needed cricketing discipline to compete at international level. “We were beaten fair and square in the World Cup purely because we lacked in running between the wickets, our bowlers conceded too many extra runs, we didn’t know how to improve our net run-rates against weak teams (like Namibia and Holland). These cricketing disciplines should be addressed by the Pakistan Cricket Board”, said Khan, who previously went to India as manager of the Pakistan team in 1998.
Shaharyar advised the PCB to groom youngsters between the age of 10 to 16 years in its cricket academies so that Pakistan could again compete against the top teams like Australia and South Africa in future.
Well looks like Waqar has given up his last chance to go with some dignity. looks like he’ll have to be put out of his misery forcibly. I tyhink this just goes to show why waqar should never have been kept on as captain for so long. His bull-headed attitude works great as a bowler but captains need to have a brain and some standards as well.
Bye Bye and thanks for the good times Waqar, you’re outta here ![]()
Inzi will be back and I will look forward to seeing him scoring runs in Sharjah.
There have been calls for the selectors to draft in a new generation of players to replace the likes of Waqar, Wasim Akram, Saeed Anwar and Rashid Latif.
Saeed is expected to confirm his retirement in the next few days, but skipper Waqar has no plans to call it quits at the present time.
Batsman Inzamam-ul-Haq has announced, however, that he wants to give up the vice-captaincy after a dismal tournament which saw him score only 19 runs in six innings.
Waqar issued a personal apology to supporters following the team’s exit from the World Cup at the end of the first round stage.
“We worked hard, but could not deliver on the field,” he said.
Asked about his own future, Waqar replied: “As long as I am fit, I am going to serve my country.”
He refuted suggestions by coach Richard Pybus that the team was unwilling to learn.
“It’s absolutely not true. Each and every member of the team was more than willing to eradicate his mistakes, and I don’t think Pybus is right.”
Waqar did not lack commitment
Waqar must now wait to see whether the Pakistan Cricket Board thinks he should be given the chance to continue a Test and one-day career which stretches back to 1989.
They have appointed a four-member panel to review the team’s performances at the World Cup and their report is due to be delivered by 23 March.
Despite his eagerness to carry on, he may not be given another chance if team manager Shahryar Khan’s opinion carries any weight.
Khan claimed they had put too much faith in ageing players.
“These were the stars of the 80s and 90s. Since they couldn’t perform up to their potential, our back-up cricketers also came under pressure,” he said.
“We were beaten fair and square in the World Cup. We lacked in running between the wickets, our bowlers gave away too many extra runs, we didn’t know how to improve our net run rate against weak teams.”
Pakistan’s hopes of qualifying for the Super Six phase disappeared when rain forced the abandonment of their final group game in Zimbabwe
** Pak players want Tauqir to accept responsibility for World Cup loss **
Today's press conference by Captain Waqar, Inzamam, Wasim and manager Shaharyar to prove crucial for country's cricket future
From Waheed Khan
DUBAI: *The Chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Lt. General Tauqir Zia has asked the senior players of the failed World Cup campaign to voluntarilty announce their retirements but some of them are reluctant to take the entire blame for the disappointing result at the mega event. *
"The News" has gathered from different sources that the senior players including Wasim Akram, Inzamamul Haq, Rashid Latif, Saeed Anwar, Yousuf Youhana, Saqlain Mushtaq, etc believe that chairman should also accept the responsibility for not listening to them and persisting with Waqar Younis as captain in the World Cup.
**"The players don't agree with the chairman's assertion that they are entirely to blame for the failed campaign and argue the chairman should have listened to them and not made Waqar the captain," one source said.
Tauqir Zia has said repeatedly that he only retained Waqar as captain for the World Cup after the players assured him they would support the fast bowler.
"But the seniors claim that this is not correct. They only agreed to go along with the General's decision after he had told them Waqar would not be changed as captain," one source stated. **
A lot of significance is being attached to the press conference to be addressed by Captain Waqar Younis, deputy Inzamamul Haq, Wasim Akram and manager Shaharyar Khan in Lahore on Monday on the failed World Cup campaign and there is some anticipation that some of the players including Waqar might announce their retirement to pave the way for the Pakistan Cricket Board and its selectors to start a rebuilding process of the team beginning with the triangular series in Sharjah from April 1.
However, it is learnt that in the next few days Tauqir Zia will be walking a tightrope and will have to take some hard decisions even for the senior players in the World Cup side as there are strong indications that most of them have decided to resist announcing their retirements and want to be part of the rebuilding process after the World Cup.
"Seniors like Wasim, Saeed (Anwar), Yousaf Youhana, Rashid Latif, Saqlain Mushtaq and Inzamam all held long meetings in Bulawayo and Johannesburg before returning home and apparently they decided on a game plan to counter the backlash expected from the failed World Cup campaign," a source close to the team said.
*"They believe that Wasim can lead the team for an interim period and the chairman of the board should be convinced this is best for the cricket team and it should not be destroyed on the altar of experiments," the source said. *
"This is one reason why none of them announced their retirements in the World Cup although after the failed campaign this was what the Pakistani people were expecting of them," the source said.
He pointed out that even someone like Rashid Latif who has already announced his retirement from Test cricket and said before the World Cup he would also retire from one-dayers after the event has now changed his plans.
With lot of names now being mentioned to take over as captain, coach and manager, the source said the next few days will bring to light the familiar situation of a tussle between the players and the board over the future course of action.
"The seniors are convinced that they should not take the entire blame for the failed campaign in South Africa as the chairman made his own choice as captain against their wishes.
Then, most of the support players also did not deliver including Abdul Razzaq, Saqlain Mushtaq and Shahid Afridi and also that the Board chairman excessively pampered some players, specially Shoaib Akhtar which didn't go down well with the others."
**"Shoaib is a sore point for most of the senior players because of his attitude and different set of rules. In fact during a meeting with the chairman before the World Cup, Shoaib had told Tauqir Zia point blank that he could not work with Pybus and he will not listen to him.
Over this reaction of the 'Rawalpindi Express', Inzamam got upset and told the chairman that either he sack Shoaib or the coach as this was a scenario in which the team could not deliver results in the World Cup," the source informed.
"The players feel that Shoaib is as much to blame for the failed campaign as he let the team down badly in all the big matches," the source continued. **
The source said the new scenario of the seniors ganging up together was expected as in the World Cup, they had difference of opinion with Waqar on a couple of occasion on the selection of the playing eleven.
**"Before the game against Australia the seniors wanted Saqlain to play but Waqar differed. Before the game against India, the feeling was that Waqar should rest himself and allow Saqlain and Muhammad Sami to play to which again there was disagreement.
"During the match against Holland, the coach Richard Pybus also wanted to rotate the players and give a chance to Sami and Azhar Mehmood but Waqar refused to listen to him. In short there were differences off opinion on the team selections throughout the World Cup," the source said.
"After the Holland match, Pybus in fact said he wondered what he was doing as coach of the Pakistan team," a source said. **
However, about one thing there is no doubt that before going to South Africa all the players had agreed to support Waqar as their captain in a long meeting with the chairman, one reason why Tauqir was so confident that everything would fall into place in the World Cup and the seniors would give their best."
"But the players agreed only after the Board made it clear Waqar was to stay as captain. And they all did cooperate with him but everyone knows his selection had imbalanced the whole team which never settled down," said one source.
** One person who is seen as a prime candidate to take over as coach or even coach cum captain before the Sharjah tournament, Javed Miandad when contacted in Dubai said he was disheartened with the whole scenario.
"It is so depressing what is happening. Right now I don't think it is a question of the seniors deciding to retire or not. The ball is now in the Board's court to take a decision on behalf of the seniors and decide what they want to do for the future -- either discard the seniors or again repose some trust in them," Miandad said. **
He pointed out that in Pakistan cricket there were few examples of players leaving at the right time. "Look in the past and you will see most of the players just faded away after being ignored by the selectors," he said.
But he made it clear that the Board had not approached or spoken to him on the possibility of making a comeback as coach or coach cum playing member of a new look team for the Sharjah tournament. "No one has said anything to me."
But Miandad said the people should realize that nowhere in the cricket world were Boards and officials criticised for a team's bad performance. "The media always focusses on the weak points and problems of the team and South Africa is a glaring example of this," he said.
Tauqir it seems has made up his mind as have the selectors to go for a entirely new look side for the Sharjah tournament but the catch-22 situation they are facing is who to bring in as captain.
**"They know if they decide to go back to Moin Khan, or promote Inzamam or even ask Wasim to continue for an interim period this is not going to work if they want Javed Miandad as coach," the source said.
"Tauqir also has to rely heavily on the feedback from the manager Shaharyar Khan who, ironically, does not see anyone in the team apart from Wasim, Moin and Rashid capable of leading the team even for an interim period. **
** "Shaharyar has no doubt that Waqar has to go. But he also believes that there is no other young player in the team who can be made captain and believes the solution lies in having an interim appointment and then grooming a captain under his wings for the next one year,' the source said.
For Tauqir the problem with an interim captain is that Miandad has never seen eye to eye with either Wasim, Inzi or Moin.' **
"Even before the World Cup Miandad had offered his services as batting consultant for the team but most of the players refused to accept him when Tauqir spoke to them."
**"So basically, if Miandad is to come in it would have to be either as coach cum playing captain with a new team under him or at the most have Rashid as captain because he gets along with him," the source explained.
"The other choice as coach is Mushtaq Muhammad who has a good relationship with Wasim, Moin, Rashid and all the other players and did a good job in his previous tenures as coach." **
*"The seniors are now talking about wanting to do something for the country but what stopped them from delivering in the last few months or the World Cup?" he asked. *
But all said and done the one key point Tauqir and the selectors will have to focus on is that they should not make scapegoats of some of the senior players and if they do decide a rebuilding process then they have to keep faith with the players for alteast a year.
At least Inzi had got the courage to take the responsibility while Waqar just blamed the whole team.
*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *
"The News" has gathered from different sources that the senior players including Wasim Akram, Inzamamul Haq, Rashid Latif, Saeed Anwar, Yousuf Youhana, Saqlain Mushtaq, etc believe that chairman should also accept the responsibility for not listening to them and persisting with Waqar Younis as captain in the World Cup.
No wonder such a talented side went down the drain, rift among the players never works out for the nation.
*"They believe that Wasim can lead the team for an interim period and the chairman of the board should be convinced this is best for the cricket team and it should not be destroyed on the altar of experiments," the source said. *
I think he should be retained as "bowling coach" if he retires, and he should travel with the team providing his great inputs whenever needed.
"The seniors are convinced that they should not take the entire blame for the failed campaign in South Africa as the chairman made his own choice as captain against their wishes.
Tauqir should resign, if he has any decency in him
The source said the new scenario of the seniors ganging up together was expected as in the World Cup, they had difference of opinion with Waqar on a couple of occasion on the selection of the playing eleven.
One more point to support why they "couldn't" deliver.
"Before the game against Australia the seniors wanted Saqlain to play but Waqar differed. Before the game against India, the feeling was that Waqar should rest himself and allow Saqlain and Muhammad Sami to play to which again there was disagreement.
"During the match against Holland, the coach Richard Pybus also wanted to rotate the players and give a chance to Sami and Azhar Mehmood but Waqar refused to listen to him. In short there were differences off opinion on the team selections throughout the World Cup," the source said.
Sack Waqar as captain, but then he'll not perform under a new captain since he is being stubborn and not resigning. So he better be sacked from the team too.
One person who is seen as a prime candidate to take over as coach or even coach cum captain before the Sharjah tournament, Javed Miandad when contacted in Dubai said he was disheartened with the whole scenario.
Please Javed bhai, don't comeback, they'll humiliate him once more. Javed is greatest player, he should stay away from these morons. Our batsmen should seek his advise and help privately though!!