i know of a friend who is pretty much earning her family’s living expenses off buying and selling on ebay…not totally, but she just started and does not have that much expeirence or capital…lekin she is making quite a lot of profit…like 100 bucks a week almost…
but there’s lot of potential in buying and selling on e-bay…
these days with the job market down, i think it would be a great way for unemployed ppl to earn something…
i’m not related to e-bay or something but i was amazed at her success mashallah and so i wanted to share the idea on GS i know theres a coupla unemployed peeps here
e-bay is still a buyers market but not sellers. I think she can start making money in start but really ahrd to keep up that trend in these days. and tell her not to over stretch.. In early days people really made money.. but she can succedd with some niche market ..
Degas ji, I have heard that too...but she told me she knows two more people who practically support themselves through e-bay for some time....You just have to observe the trends on the site about what sells etc...
What is she selling on Ebay ? I know some people who are selling on Ebay, but mostly they want to get rid of their stuff.
I do think that Ebay is just great for selling and buy stuff, but to be a power seller, I think u need a good product (??) I don't know but thats what I think.
btw I bought a product from ebay, some days later I recieve an email, if I want to sell the stuff from the seller, its kind of risky, cos if I am not able to sell it then I have the products with me, that I bought from him. Well there are some things there on ebay, but I think that whenever the demand is great then that is a good business, I think now there are so many power sellers on ebay that, maybe now its not a good time to invest there.
As for selling off your unsed things, then ebay is just great, you can basically sell anything that you want.
*Originally posted by SaadiaB: *
I do think that Ebay is just great for selling and buy stuff, but to be a power seller, I think u need a good product (??) I don't know but thats what I think.
A power seller is simply someone who has maintained a 98% feedback rating and an excellent sales performance record. Product is irellavant.
]Stay Away form Desis selling e-commerce business (Quixtar, BWW) **
I hope you guys are NOT approached by so called “e-business” or “i-commerce” selling desis in US/Canada/Australia (nick name Quixtar aka BWW). Its one big scam, its basically multi-layer pyramid marketing scam. It works something like this;
you join it paying $300 or so
and you start buying everything possibly for your household from Quixtar (like toothpaste, lotions, airline tickets, car rentals, phone, cookies, bathroom tissue, meat etc. etc.)
you make your friends and family members become Quixtar members by telling them how they could become millionaire $$$$$$$ in very short span of time by staying home (BTW, that is the FUN PART, you make others to believe you in this scam)
When ur friends become members, and things they buy from Quixtar, you get commission out of their purchases, AND now if your friends make their friends members, then you get also their %$ too.
they promise if you keep pushing other people into this business, they your are guaranteed an income of $60,000 in a year or so.
Bonus; you are now called an IBO (Independent Business Owner) to make you feel better that you own a business!!
and finally as per company policy you invite “Mohalla walas” on a big presentation to show them how they would buy " highest quality cheapest Lota/bathroom rolls" thru their own business.
I have been approached by Desis (i dont even know them, specially educated couples) in malls/grocery stores, streets, at work to sell this e-business to me. Even desi Docs at the Northwestern Uni Hospitals, Engineers at Fortune 100 companies tried to sell!!!)
My Advice: Stay away form this business crap, this is not business (ask any one at Stanford’s School of Business about it).
My bro did ebay for a year. Supported himself. I also have a few friends who do it, and completely support themselves on it. But you need to have a real good supplier, and a changing/often upgraded/updated product.
I used to do it too, supported myself for a few months (Mash'Allah), but its competitive, and you gotta have that edge. But definately do-able. smile
I have a friend who imports mobile phones from Singapore to London via the Patelnet (the fastest unofficial commodity exchange system in existence), and supports himself through university by selling them for significant profits through ebay.
Basically, the latest phones in Europe are about 6 months old in the Far East - so they are cheaper int he Far East than in Europe, so safe money can be made through arbitrage.
HerbaLife and other slimming products are ripp offs!!
I would not invest my money on such products, its usually a pryamide game. If you are on the top then u make the money, the ones at the bottom are not really making any profit.
Actually, now I have started using ebay. :k: and I am hooked. I am trying to sell off my unused ithems.
Can you guys share your experience with ebay, was it good or not so good any why ?
Never had a problem buying or selling on eBay. Been using it for years, and I have a 100% rating. It's a good way to get rid of junk and things you no longer need. There seems to be a buyer for everything out there.