...Walima Was A Bummer...

So I went to a walima yesterday. I kind of knew that it’ll be boring for ME but wife didn’t know that. So she really ready and I didn’t stop her on purpose, although gave her hints that it may be too simple of a walima for us.

So we go there, they had a sing saying dudes this way and non-dudes this way :eek: Merey haathon k totey urr gaye :hayaa: ALL the weddings I’ve been too, I’ve never sat in men while the women were separated. Mujhe males sey waisay hi allergy hai. Kher, poor mrs. Shikra, her face was dekhney wala :rotfl:

Kher, then the dulha’s bhai had no idea who us 3 brothers were, he probably thought we were wedding crashers. He was like “uhhhh are you the dulhan’s brothers?” We were like “uhhhhh no :smilestar:”. Kher, then the function started with tilawat, naat, dua. Then they had the slide show. That’s another story that where they had the projector, half the hall couldn’t see it.

Normally in those projections, they start from baby pics and show them til the day, but here they just showed baby pictures. Then they called the bride and the groom and there was silence in the hall. Again, I’ve been to weddings and normally there is music that girls spend a lot of time deciding on which song it’ll be when they enter the hall.

Then we ate (don’t get me started on how they formed a messed up line). Food was good. Then I took mrs. and went to the front to congratulate the couple. The wife looked friendly as she was smiling and looking in the eyes but the dude had kind of scared/angry look :-/ Kher, I congratulated him and without looking in the eyes he said Thanks. No khushi on his face whatsoever. Dead expressions. I felt like punching him.

Then we left. I am not saying it’s bad to have a wedding this way but FOR ME PERSONALLY it was a bummer as I’ve never attended this kind of wedding. I’ve always attended weddings with music, lively people greeting each other, dance etc.

p.s. Canpaki there was no chicken qorma, but I brought baked chicken for you :smiley:

Re: …Walima Was A Bummer…

:smack2:

i really felt like laughin @ this…:rotfl:

ok..me no inviting u to my wedding…even i want to hv a simple wedding..no music…no mixed gathering…
males in a different hall & females in a different hall…u had them in the same hall with u & u didn’t like it…
toh u won’t like mines either:(

reminds me of this mehndi i went to. the guys and girls were in separate tents and like towards the end (cuz well we went late :halo:) the men and the groom came into the women’s tent and did some dance shance and some rasam. ehen

i hope you didn’t smilestar him :smack:

hahaha oh man that just sucks.

my my aren’t you violent at weddings :smiley:

lol shikra @ felt like punching him.

From the description you gave me it seems like the valima must have been a conservative one. Was the family religious? Most hard core religious families dont play music and they tend to separate as well (makes more sense to do so if the girl wears hijab). But gosh! that doesnt mean the wedding can’t be lively.

I wouldnt blame the groom for acting the way he was…maybe he wanted to get out of there 2!!

aww must have sucked for you and the mrs…you guys couldnt gossip :cb:

Yeah we were in the same hall. Men were on one side of the stage/dance area and women were on the other. To make matters worse, I forgot my glasses in my car that was parked at home so I couldn’t see too far any way :smack2:

I didn’t smilestar him but wanted to. I mean come on dude, you should know who YOUR family has invited. It’s not like we were meeting for the first time, we’ve met before many times. Oh well, food was good :yummy:

see! that’s what i dont get…why on earth would you separate men and women but still be in the same room!! if you are gonna separate do it in separate rooms :smack:

They are religious BUT the bride didn’t have hijab AND she was sitting on the stage where EVERYONE could see her. So what’s the point :konfused: I am not saying non-related men and women should sit with each other, but at least families should be given the option of sitting at the same table.

In Pakistan a lot of weddings are conservative where men and women are in different halls/houses but they are still fun. The dude was saying dua and nobody was saying Ameen, I was the only one :aj:

maybe he was just so excited to get married he thought everyone was his salay :smiley:

kehtey hain shadi insan ko sudhar deyte hai..aap toh waisey ke waisey hi hain.. sur hilaying in disappointment
Mrs shikra ko kuch sikhana pareyga shayed…:hmmm:

It was dulha’s BROTHER. Would you pay attention? :smilestar:

I wanted to look at my wife who dressed up for me :smilestar: Doosri larkiyon ko tou meney khana letey waqt dekh liya tha, paas sey :whistling

exactly what i was saying…makes sense to separate only if the girl is wearing hijab. In arab weddings…we separate (in our family at least) but it’s mainly cuz the bride wears hijab. oh and so we (women) can dance the night away! :hula: BUT at the end the bride puts her hijab back on the women stop dancing then the groom and his entire party joins us. :slight_smile:

ohhhhh. umm in that case he just wanted to make everyone family :hugz:

ok, that really does NOT make sense! if everyone could see the bride then why is everyone else segregated?

if it was for hijab prurposes then it all makes sense! then you’d have to seperate the families and put 'em in seperate areas so the bride and here sisters can look thier best!

and yeah, iv’e been to completely segregated weddings too (with no music and female waitresses etc)where it has been fun… boring qisum ke loug houN ge :snooty:

wife ko ghar main nahi deykha tha kya??:5:

:smack2: Mrs shikra should alwayz walk with a danda in hand…
soching of teaching Mrs shikra wayz to keep shikki seedha

yes the girls side is always fun :smiley:

QUOTE]..makes sense to separate only if the girl is wearing hijab. In arab weddings…we separate (in our family at least) but it’s mainly cuz the bride wears hijab. oh and so we (women) can dance the night away! :hula: BUT at the end the bride puts her hijab back on the women stop dancing then the groom and his entire party joins us. :slight_smile:

exactly…this is wht happens here…
magar in my family…no one dances…:slight_smile:

Re: ...Walima Was A Bummer...

u being part arab and all... i'm sure u guys have way more fun then us :D

desi wedding are fun too…but unfortunately majority of desi’s (here at least) dont separate so i cant dance :bummer:…but i still have fun watching those that do. :slight_smile:

hmmm… i know what u mean… yaani i luv dressing up and all but if i know its not gonna be segregated i dont bother :vivo:

and when u cant dance infront of everyone I’m sure tum dil mein dance kar lei ti ho :cb: