Wake up pashtuns! its time to decide.

never been to Afghanistan, yes Afghani follow the same tradition...

I WIL confirm it whether it is true or not bcoz i m not frm swat.
but u shud know that there is a large no of pashto speaking kamzaat people in swat.

hanibal, can u quote some more incidents of pashtuns selling their daughters and what their areas in NWFP who do such type of things?
do u have observed any pakhtun girl in punjab being sold.
if yes then tell me plz.

Re: Wake up pashtuns! its time to decide.

^^ One of my distance relative went to NWFP and "bought" himself an 18 years old damsel, his age then was 70. The elders of the family boy-cotted his clan and pressurized him to give that lady.. the lady was later re-married to one of my cousins and is living a happy life. She has no desire what so ever to re-visit her family nor any kind of attempt to see her was made by her family members.

Please do some research in NWFP and you may find lots and lots of stories rather a tradition of this practice.

Now these 2 incidents where i was personally involve, One of my uncles have a filter factory and Pashtuns or people of that area use to place huge orders, few of them sometime visits the factory and i use to meet them there, they use to curse there society specially the evil-practice of selling their daughters.

Hanibal can u tell me the area of pashtun girl married to ur family? i wil then ask people of that area about it whether they sell their women or not.

I have never been to that area myself, but our sister belonged to a village, which is close to nooristan.

the debate is stupid saying all taliban are pashtun..is like saying all Punjabis are terrorists (a la Mumbai and London bombings) and the debate about bride selling is lik arguing it's a prostitutes fault and not the pimps.

Dir and chitral are close to nooristan. now every one knows that chitralis do sell their girls.
dont know abt dir, i wil inquire abt it.
by the way that girl is pashto speaking? may b she is a chitrali.

and London bombings) and the debate about bride selling is lik arguing it's a prostitutes fault and not the pimps.

IF u r a pashtun then shame on u for not clearing misconceptions about us.

If she has been from Deer or Chitral, i did have mentioned that... but i said she is from a village near to Nooristan... now if you cannot take the clue.. then don't ask it again.

hanibal nooristan is a province of afghanistan and its people r not pashtuns.
u the see the difference?

As far as i know, Nooristan was part of Pakistan, now if you insist to make it Part of Afghanistan, then its up to you..... having said that, Marwat is Hill in Afghanistan, now does it make Laki-Marwat in Afghanistan... please think before you speak...

Now are you going to answer other things or carryon with your whining activities

nooristan in pak? funny. plz yar do some google search.
ur story of pastun girl is creation of ur mind.

hanibal people like u make us disappoint that we can live with honour and respect in pakistan.
But thanx for sharing ur blames on pashtuns.

“The mind of a bigot is like the pupil of an eye. The more light you shine on it, the more it will contract."— Oliver Wendell Holmes Sr.”

dair kha zakk lala, ..sakht afsos rata kaigi, de za ta pa shaan talented pakhtun pa de forum k observe kawam de khpal wakht dalta pa " pakistan zindabad" k zaya kai.

One day there was a Program " 50 MINUTES" , on GEO television Network , where the presenter had invited girls and ladies , with deformed faces.
Upon asking the participants and guests , came to know ACID was thrown on those girls' faces...... those were some of this type of cases from many ......... So we should now call that People in Punjab throw acides on their girls.... ????

Mukhtara Maiee is one of very well known cases in Punjab .... Like wise in Balochistan the recent live burrial of some young girls.... so what we should name that Ethnic section......

In karachi Lawers were burned live in thier offices.... So Karachiest should be given that name.....

All what i want to say is that we should be very realistic , responsible.... Being with such good ............... ENGLISH VOCABULARY...........

Chill everyone

Most desi jokes are about sardars depicting them as stupid people but we all know that in reality it is not the case. Sikhs are brave people. The current Indian army chief is a sikh not to mention the PM who is also a sikh

Besides jokes are not meant to be taken seriously otherwise they won't be jokes would they? Similarly there are jokes about pathans partly I believe because pathans more than any other ethnic race in Pakistan make glaring blunders when speaking urdu..... for instance they w'd say 'kana ka liya hai' (Khana kha liya hai)...... 'yeh sarak (road) kidhar ko jaata hai' (Khan sahab sarak jaata nahin jaati hota hai etc. etc.).....then there are other reasons like niswaar, nasha, drugs etc. Not saying its right or wrong but that's what the general perception is, hence the jokes.

The one beef I have with Pakhtoons is that generally speaking they are very short-tempered (cf. Arabs) people. I remember when we were young and used to go to places like 'baara' you had to very careful when bargaining/arguing with pathans k kahin ghussey mein chaaqoo ya pistol hee na nikaal ley :)

Marwati I think you should be ashamed of yourself for opening up such a controversial subject. You are either vey misguided or just a trouble causer. What is it that you want to hear exactly?

Everyone knows and no one can hide from the fact that girls are purchased from the Pakhtun areas. There appears to be plenty of work on the internet about it. Swat is well known for it. I amnot sure about the figures for Chitral but its ALWAYS a Pashtu speaking girl. What exactly is a kamzaat? By calling people kamzaat you are saying a large section of NWFP is not Pakhtun so therefore the renaming should not happen. This really is not the place to discuss any ills associated with Pashtun or any other ethnic culture. Why not discuss the positive attributes?
Its not a Pashtun issue its a provincial issue. Punjab gets a better deal out of Pakistan FACT. Bu then again many Hindkowans, Chitralis would accuse Pakhtuns of using NWFP to their advantage.

What sort of jobs do you expect uneducated people of whatever background to get? Maybe Punjabis, Sindhis, Urdu speakers should stop employing Pakhtuns in low paid jobs? Where else would they get a halal income from? We cant give uneducated people jobs in engineering, or other professional educations. I AM SO HAPPY to see pakhtuns doing a honest days work in Punjab or Sindh even if its not very well-paid than sit at home do nothing or turn to crime because their large families cant be supported by living off the land.

As for politics whoever Pakhtuns have elected over the last 9 years have always turned their back son them. Look at MMA, it really did nothing to stop Pakhtuns being killed in FATA by Americans. The ANP are the same. The difference is one uses the religion card, the other the race card.
Why did nt the MMA decide to do something solid to stop the Pak Gov to stupport USA? Why is nt the ANP doing anything to discourage drone attacks by Americans? They are both supportive of the goverments actions. Both the religious right and the secular left have failed Pashtuns miserably.

Maybe Pashtuns should wake up and realise that whoever they vote for will screw them?

The Pashtuns for now are going to bear the brunt of the American WOT simply because they are the border of Afghanistan and that si where the Americans, who this world currently belongs to, identify where the attacks are coming from. Whether you like it or not most of these terrorists/militants/jihadis will be Pashtuns as compared to other races. But at the end of the day we are ALL pakistanis and we should not call it a pashtun problem, punjabi problem , sindhi problem....Ifwe cant unite ove rthis threat then we cant unite over anything

I would appeal for the moderators to lock this thread because its derogatory and there is no meaningless discussion here.

PS nooristan is in Afghanistan and not pakistan. Nooristan is not a pakthun area and lies to the west of Chitral in Afghanistan. One of the Miss Uk's was originally from Nuristan in Afghanistan.

I do agree with some aspects of what you said but the daughter selling issue is just throw mud at ALL Pakhtuns, maybe if you the sociological reasoning and those who practice this custom, you would have better - not my job to educate you.

I do agree that in the spirit of unity we should not continue this discussion further. As for the terrorist issue, let me be straight up: When your checking in at Heathrow, they don't care whether your Pakhtun or not: Your Muslim and thus a potential terrorist. So go ahead and heap the blame on Pakhtuns but lets not forget that Pakistan turned its back it own child (the Taliban) at the behest of their big daddy USA.

PS: Your wrong about Miss England - she is from Kohistan and an ethnic Tajik.