I do wish someone will explain to me what this sect or cult is. Because the way i see things 90% of the sunni world is wahabi and they dont even know it. The 10% are muslims from the sub-continent that cant read or write but are the foremost intellectuals on islam.
Edit: This is not a religious discussion. Rather a political one as the concept of being wahabi is linked to politics and miltant actions. So do not move this to religion. This is not a request.
Wahabi has become a convenient label for any kind of interpretation of Islam that promotes values or ideals different from modern-day Western values and ideals.
The label "Wahabi" as applied today covers, as you inferred, a broad range of beliefs that often lie in contrast to each other.
my understanding is that they're the mulims who hate americans and/or westerners "the most" to the point where it's ok to kill ones who may be commuting to work, flying across the country etc...
*Originally posted by CM: *
Edit: This is not a religious discussion. Rather a political one as the concept of being wahabi is linked to politics and miltant actions. So do not move this to religion. This is not a request.
to janab qibla sahib, if it is not a request, is it a order? koi aur hukam ?
*Originally posted by Stu: *
my understanding is that they're the mulims who hate americans and/or westerners "the most" to the point where it's ok to kill ones who may be commuting to work, flying across the country etc...
Bush is a wahabi revert? I thought he was a pro-zionist, right-wing, neo-con, christian fundamentalist? It's so hard to keep up on things nowadays. You need to keep all of us more abreast of these things Thappie.