Wahabis

Why people hate Wahabis?
Only because they follow the path of Quran and Sunnah. Is it wrong?

Mansoor, That’s what the Wahabis would like the average muslim to believe!

Here’s a link to the topic started by Logical a while back; pls read to understand aspects of their beliefs; how the prophet foretold of the greatest FITNA that will arise - referring to the Wahabis/SAlafis; how they have influenced the Deobandis and moulded them in their image.
http://www.pak.org/gupshup/Forum13/HTML/000825.html

Later, I 'll re-summarize what the Wahabis are all about!

The reason they are disliked so much is their attitude regarding the muslims in general and specifically muslims of Indian subcontinent. They charge them of commiting shirk and blindly following madhab of imam Abu Hanifa (RA). Taqleed of madhabs has been accepted throughout islamic history by ijma of scholars. To charge it with innovation or kufr is to charge all the scholars of past and majority of muslims with heresy and innovation. Keep in mind that majority of muslims today follow one of the four imams such as Abu Hanifa (RA), Shafi'e (RA), Malik (RA), Ahmad (RA) in matters of fiqh. Muslims in countries such as Pakistan, India, Malaysia, Egypt, Indonesia, Turkey, Bosnia, Algeria, Morroco and others follow these imams. In their zeal wahabis sometimes don't refrain from attacking the scholarship of said imams specially imam Abu Hanifa in hadith and fiqh as well. They believe that they are the only ones who understand the concept of tauheed while hanafis are ignorant in this respect. The topic of taqleed and wahabism is discussed among the scholars belonging to both sides many times. Up until now it has achieved nothing but dissension among muslims. I personally believe that taqleed has always been accepted by great scholars in the past and is not something that came up recently. Besides that they charge muslims from subcontinent of indulging in innovations, to which I agree with them to a certain extent. Its not their intention but their attitude and approach marked by hostility which is disliked by many. I'll give you an example. Whenever you will meet a wahabi, he will ask you where is Allah? What is this supposed to mean? The most basic fact is that Allah is One, the Self-Sufficient, does not begets nor is He begotten, and there is nobody equal to Him. This is enough to ascertain somebody's belief but the wahabis make it a philosophical discussion and then pronounce judgements of kufr on common people.

Well people do commite shirks people do things which are not in islam...people creat things in islam which islam does not approve of...in pakistan alone...people celebrate birthday of mohammad which is totally wrong..in pakistan people go on graves and bow to them which a muslims should nkow that its WRONG...only we should bow down to allah and only allah...people in pakistan and islam do thing which were part of hindus and jews...people do some stupid things that they dont realize they cant SEE that if they are making a sin or doing something good...i can sit here and talk and rave and rant about what is right and what is wrong...but stupidity can never be cured once its in some thick heads it stays until they face fire...so may allah help you see the right paths and may all open your minds and eyes to see whats right and whats wrong...not just whats right.
I have nothing to say...

Jaawan

Till next time**Keep_It_Simple_Stupid**©

You mention that wahabbis don't like taqleed of four madhabs, and also the majority of Muslim scholars accept it.
So can you tell me first four caliphs followed which path? They only did taqleed of Prohpet Mohammad (pbuh). They followed Quran and Sunnah and by doing so they are known as Khulfa e Rashdeen.
All four Imams were also following Quran and Sunnah, they never said in their life to follow them. Infact Imam Abu Haneefa said that if you find a Hadeeth against my decision, then follow the Hadeeth and throw my decision on the wall.
In his last sermon Prophet Mohammad (pbuh) said that today deen is completed. What does this mean? Its mean that there is no room for any Bidat, any idea or practice which we do under the influence of non-Muslims are wrong.
I have never seen any Wahabbi labeling Kufar to others, but can you justify being a Muslim doing sajda to graves, and ask help other than Allah.
My intention is not to create difference between Wahabbis and others (which is already there), may be some one gets a ray of right and follow the right path.

Sorry I forgot to put iqadeer name in my reply.

iadeer,You mention that wahabbis don't like taqleed of four madhabs, and also the majority of Muslim scholars accept it.
So can you tell me first four caliphs followed which path? They only did taqleed of Prohpet Mohammad (pbuh). They followed Quran and Sunnah and by doing so they are known as Khulfa e Rashdeen.
All four Imams were also following Quran and Sunnah, they never said in their life to follow them. Infact Imam Abu Haneefa said that if you find a Hadeeth against my decision, then follow the Hadeeth and throw my decision on the wall.
In his last sermon Prophet Mohammad (pbuh) said that today deen is completed. What does this mean? Its mean that there is no room for any Bidat, any idea or practice which we do under the influence of non-Muslims are wrong.
I have never seen any Wahabbi labeling Kufar to others, but can you justify being a Muslim doing sajda to graves, and ask help other than Allah.
My intention is not to create difference between Wahabbis and others (which is already there), may be some one gets a ray of right and follow the right path.

Jawwan,

Bravo man. I hope our brother Abdulmalick would open his eyes and see the other side. Abdulmalick sahib, Wahabbis believe in Quran and Sunnah nothing else, and this is not what they will have an average Musilm believe. Please post an article from a neutral person, not another person like yourself who does not want to understand and comprehend the other side.

Wahabbis, do not go Mizar's, they do not believe that these dead people(no matter how pious they were) have any special rank in the eyes of Allah, hence they do not engagge in the practise commonly known as "Mannat Mangna". Allah has clearly said that nop body is allowed to ask him for any favors(including Prophet Muhammad) PBUH untill he allows the person to speak.

Wahabbi's do not celebrate 12th Rabi-ul-Awal, because Muhammad(PBUH) never celebrated this day.

Wahabbis are not the group that is dividing the Muslim community, it is people who start following in the footsteps of their elders without researching or trying to find out if certain action is actually a part of Islam or not.

So please do not call other Muslims Kafir or Fitna, because you and I(no body elese) knows who is right or who is wrong. Its Allah who will judge. BTW if you follow Quran and Sunnah I think you have a better chance of passing on the judgement day as compared to following traditions that cannot be proven by Islamic teachings (Khattma) included.

Allah Hafiz

Kaleem

Jawan,
who the hell are you to tell them that they're wrong. I'd like you to say that to their face and laugh myself to death when you get your ass kicked by them.

Jawan - Strange you can say all that, at the same time mention our beloved Prophet Muhammad's (S.A.W.) name without saying (S.A.W.) or (PBUH), just something I noticed.

if you just forgot, my apologies.......
Salaam

2PAK i happen to know a thing or 2 about islam unlike you..who is peethu of god knows who...its my duty to tell people when they are wrong in case of islam...its my duty to spread RIGHT words of god to people who do things wrong way...if you see someone praying, which is not according to hadith and quran, its my duty to tell that person that he or she is wrong...as matter of getting my ass kicked? you know i would really want to kick your ass...i can really kick have you got an ass or you use your face to sit? Yeah i figured. ;)
Strong man...my bad next time i ll keep that in mind thank you for letting this gunaa gar know his mistake.

Jaawan

Alright guys, calm down now. Let's not start profane bickering here, save your kicks and asses.

I agree totally with Abdul Malick…

Wahabism is the biggest fitna ever to hit this Ummah–they argue and label as shirk and bidah things which Muslims have been AGREED UPON for 1400 years!

Then they say “we follow Qur’an and Sunnah”–this is their excuse for following their own desires and not the scholars of Islam who based all their rulings on the Quran and Sunnah after a lifetime’s study of these two sources unlike these wahaabis who memorise a couple of hadith from an english translation of bukhari and think they are world experts on Islam..and they are ARROGANT AS HELL…

e.g. Jawaan saying that wobbs [wahaabis] dont celebrate milaad shareef…
well it has been celebrated for a thousand years and ALL of the scholars BEFORE the Wahaabis with the exception of only ONE or TWO (like Ibn Taymiyya) have said it is mubaaH and permissible to celebrate the blessed prophet’s birthday sal Allahu alayhi wa sallam. e.g. Imam Suyuti -one of the greatest scholars of this Ummah ever who lived hundreds of years ago and much before the heresy known as wahaabism came about–has written BOOKS about the permissibility of celebrating milaad. Now, before a wahaabi tells you it is wrong ask him how many hadiths by by heart he knows with their isnaad–Imam Suyuti alayhirahmat knew 100,000! So, wohm shall we beleive a silly pompous wahaabi or one of the great scholars of islam (who incidentally base their rulings on real understanding of hadith and qur’an).

It is known that the Holy Prophet sal allahu alayhi wa sallam used to fast on Mondays as it was the day he blessed the world with his presence.

Allah says also in the Qur’an we should rejoice at his blessings. What greater blessing is their than the Day Our Master honoured this world?

In a hadith it is written that a man [sahabi?] saw Abu Jahal in a dream in Hell. He asked him how Allah had treated him. He replied that he was in great torment but on Mondays Allah lessened the punishment and allowed him to drink some water BECAUSE HE HAD REJOICED WHEN RASOOL ALLAH ALAYHI SALAATO SALAAM HAD BEEN BORN AS HE WAS HIS UNCLE.

The ulama have said on this hadith that if a kaafir like Abu Jahil who was the biggest enemy of Islam can be given a drink just becoz he celebrated the birth of his nephew [Our Master Rasool Allah alayhi salaato salaam) how will Allah reward those who celebrate his beloved’s birth and are Muslims.

Wahaabis are the only ones who say it is bidah. The truthi s they do not understand Islam and not even what the proper definitions of bidah are!

They are pathetic and it is no secret that all of the fanatics and extremists who terrorise innocent people and thuis give Islam a bad name are ALL wahaabis.

The Blessed Messenger predicted the appearance of a fitna from Najd [the Wahabis] in the famous hadith of Najd when the Prophet prayed for Yemen and Hijaz (?) and a Companion said ‘and in our Najd’ yet our Rasool alayyi salaato salaam igonred him thrice and in the end when asked why he refused to pray for Najd answered that from Najd will emerge ‘al Qarn as-Shaytaan’ --the horn of the Devil or, a satanic fitna. ALL of the ulama of Ahle Sunnah * have said that this hadith refers to the wahabi fitna of the 18/19th century which was started in…NAJD.

forget them. the site www.sunnah.org is enough to silence all their arguments with evidences from Qur’an, hadith and the sayings of the pious predecessors.

Everybody read: http://ds.dial.pipex.com/masud/ISLAM/nuh/salafi.htm

and
http://ds.dial.pipex.com/masud/ISLAM/nuh/studyh.htm

and
http://ds.dial.pipex.com/masud/ISLAM/nuh/madhhab.htm

[This message has been edited by Asif (edited May 04, 2000).]*

Asif, I am not Wahabi but is there really that much of a difference? You make it sound just as bad as a shia/sunni differece. They pray at our mosques. They follow Quran and sunnat so why are they looked at so harshly?
'al Qarn as-Shaytaan'???????????
Ok, lets keep it simple, I myself am Ahle sunnat as well but have not gone deep into these differences. Do the scholars of Ahle Sunnat consider Wahabi as Muslim?? Kafir?
or just misguided muslims?

[This message has been edited by STRONGMAN (edited May 04, 2000).]

Jawan, You think Mohammad(pbuh) talked like so he could spread the word of Islam. If Mohammad acted like there would be no Islam. If you tell people that your belief is right and that theirs is wrong than you're just being rascist. If you tell them that they're wrong, they'll say you're wrong and then where will you go from there? Allright here's somthing for you: Prove to all of us that celebrating the Prophet's birthday is haram(even though every muslim in the whole damn world celebrates it). If you actually prove it then we'll see.

[This message has been edited by Roman (edited May 04, 2000).]

Oh well some people will never learn...asif i dont wana debate with stupidity of your mind and try to change it..i would waste my time on something more usefull and intelligent...
2nd thing...following quran and hadith and telling other to follow the same is not fitna my friends its RIGHT thing to do...you follow what yourr ancestor did which is fine you are honoring your ancestors and elders...but to my honoring allah is more important than honoring my grandfather...if my grandfather or father or some elder is WRONG about something in islam which does nto exist in islam and is not part of islam its my duty to call that elder of mine that he or she is WRONG and this is whats right...i am VERY strong follower of ONLY quran and hadith and if anyone one you THINKs that following those 2 things is wrong may allah bless you with hell!
Other thing about Milad-un-nabi its a innovation in islam people do it THINKING its a good deed but its not its bad thing to do and if was a good thing to do companions of mohammad(PBUH)would have done it...because they loved him more than we and muslims of our era ever will...if it was necessary to do such idiotic acts it would have been done by the khalifas(Abu bakar, Umar etc) WHO THE HELL ARE YOU TO DECIDE WHATS RIGHT OR WRONG IN ISLAM WHEN THE RIGHT AND WRONG IS ALREADY GIVEN TO YOU BY ALLAH AND HIS MESSENGER IN QURAN AND HADITH...WHO THE HELL ARE YOU TO DECIDE WHATS NEEDED IN ISLAM AND WHATS NOT NEEDED IN ISLAM...??? you are no better than dirt on the shoes of Mohammad(PBUH) and his companions if something like the things you people would be NEEDED in islam it would be clear in quran and added but they do no exist in islam and have islam has no place for innovation and people who think like complete idiots..may allah burn them in fire on earth and on day of judgement..and also may allah open their eyes and minds so they can see the truer side of islam...

What you THINK does NOT matter in islam...what should be done and what should NOT be done is already in quran and hadith..there is NO need for adding or subtractign stuff islam is a complete religion and the things you people do are part of hinduism and jews cultures....NOT ISLAM!!!
Show me ONE hadith where it says that celebrating birtydays are OK in islam?
Show me ONE hadith or ayat where allah says that you need a connection contacting him through dua..like most people in pakistan do they go to darbaars and they ask DEAD for their forgiveniss from allah...THAT IS JUST STUPID!!! allah says you do NOT need any connection contacting or asking him for anything..no matter how bad the person is he is alowed and he is being listen by allah for his requests and his asking for forgivness...i can sit here and write the MERE facts about what islam is but in your case if would be talkign to an OX....may allah show you the right path....

*boy longest reply i have ever written. :)

Jaawan

Jawaan–oh..forget it. it is evident you haven’t even read my post..to you your religion, to me mine. BTW, Allah says in the Qur’an that on Qiyaamat people will be called with their IMAMS–you guys with your parrot-like repetition of the phrase “we only follow Qur’an and Sunnah”(which is a deception as you really only follow Muhammad ibn Abd al Wahaab) don’t have an Imam–so who are YOU going to be with? (There is a well known saying ‘he who has no shaykh, his shaykh is satan.’ BTW, who the hell gives YOU the right to say that all the millions of Muslims who for the past 1300 years HAVE been following a madhhab are all wrong and only YOU WAHAABIS with your (fake) ‘Quran and Sunnah’ mantra who are less than 100 years old as a movement are right?!

For brother Strongman: brother, yes, the differences between the Ahle Sunnah and the neo-kharijite movement known as ‘salafis’ or ‘wahaabis’ is VAST. They do not do taqleed and they have major defects in their aqeedaH as well. Although the ulama have not said outright that they are kaafirs–they HAVE declared them to be DEVIANT Muslims and GUMRAAH and the technical term is ‘ahl ul bida’ or ‘laa-madhhabi’-they are one of the heretical sects yet they are still Muslims and we cannot say ‘kaafir’ for them generally.

Here is a fatwa about them written by a top scholar of Ahle SunnaH wa Jama’aH:

(from website: http://ds.dial.pipex.com/masud/ISLAM/misc/mhfatwa.htm))

Asif

Can you please quote the Ayah where Allah says that people will be called by their Immams ?

thanks

Kaleem

bismihi Ta'ala
assalam o alaikum ...

the aya is 17:71 ...

regards

abu Kumayl!

Assalamu alaa manitaba al Huda

Thanks Ali Abbas bhai :)
Yes this is the ayat I was talking of:

The translation by Shakir is:

Surat Israa:Ayat 71

Remember) the day when We will call every people with their Imam; then whoever
is given his book in his right hand, these shall read their book; and they shall not be dealt with a
whit unjustly.

How can you guys be sure that Imam refers to Imam that you believe in ? Could not it be referring to Prophets (Paygambar's).
Just something to think about.

Kaleem