VW or Volvo? Which is better?

Re: VW or Volvo? Which is better?

Faisal bhai - The only BMW I ever loved & still do is the one u drive. The only other person I know is Salman who drives this babette. This is the epitomy of German beauty the 745il, it is sleek, nimble, fast, luxurious, creamy & a delight to drive. It has all the usual BMW features - safety, firm grip like a cheetah & elegance. But what I dislike most is that BMWs are a little more Xpensive to maintain than Mercs. I can get ur same car 2000 model for almost AED 60K in Dubai, but a Merc S500L same year would cost me a lil over AED 75K. A slight difference in depreciation, although I adore both the German babettes a lot.

Its very pretty Faisal & I’ll let u in on a secret :rolleyes: I wanted to buy a 745il 2000 model a couple of months back too, but the parallel imports from Japan suck, so Im waiting till my dealer gets a babette from Germany in mint condition.

Parallel imports from Germany are a dream, if they are cars owned by CEOs & company maintained.

At the end of the day its always a personal choice as u rightly stated, so I’ll stick to my love for the mean time. Just keep observing Img 2 closely, I’ll be posting my babette soon iNshAllah

Tofi baba - :hug:

I try not to take pangas with any AMG's, but pretty much any other sedan offered by Merc is smoked by this one (ofcourse, the added advantage is that usually anyone driving an S500 here is 60+ with Parkinsons ;)). I wanted an 'iL', and not the simple 'i' cz of the extra leg space in the rear seats, which meant more time spent to find the one I liked. The color was the final clincher. Oh by the way, my wife totally does not like Beemers. She prefers the three-pointed star, so I guess at some point I'll have to get her one. C'est la vie.

Faisal Bhai, you got to change those rims… and the best part about keeping cars in CA is you can have the shine on your car almost all year around. You dont even have to take it in for a car wash for a good time. Here.. forget about it man… its like driving through ‘Mochi Gate’ or ‘Dataa Darbaar’ I am serious it aint no different… I just drive my Maxima… Beechari got 240K miles on it and still drives like a Charm…

PS: I is not a simple model of 740, It can have more options than an IL. I is the sportier verision for peopel like me who do not like the car swyin’g on tight corner’s. But to a family person like your self, an IL is nevertheless the best choice. I still remember a guy putting 6 speed engine imported directly from Germany and man it was a sweet ride… … 6 Speed 740 :mudhosh:

6 speed does not make it more fast Salman, in fact the modified camshaft & changing the gear ratios does make it go faster. Then there is the computer to unrestrict the top end speed too.

240K miles on the Maxi, woah, that is heavy stuff how much hp does it produce???

And what quality leather did u add on that babette, I remember it was red if Im not mistaken.

Over here a car wash is a must after every 2nd day :bummer: else ur car looks like it just did some dune bashing

That’s nothing. Right now I have a black volvo covered in salt downstairs :bummer:

Need to wait for the weather to improve so I can wash her down and up and drive her back without collecting more salt!

Depends actually. If you are talking about the sports package, then you can get it for the iL as well. However, iL is longer by a few inches (all of them used in rear seat leg space), so some people just want a simple ‘i’ as they think it can corner better. I didn’t see much difference in the kinda of driving I do. Ofcourse I didn’t push it to limits on a race track, or anything. Engine-wise, they are both identical, and option-wise all options are offered on both i and iL versions. My initial preference was 12-cylinder 750iL, but its very rare, plus 12-cylinder engine is more trouble than its worth from a mechanical standpoint, so eight’ll just have to do for now. Ofcourse, in my personal opinion, Beemers inlines are much better than others V’s.

12 cylinder ke saath ek petrol pump bhi khareed leyna :) ya phir yahan se ek haseen sheikha (princess) se shaadi kar lain, ek kuan dahej miljaye ga ;)

The new 12 cylinder Mercs come with a new function, switch off 8 cylinders & drive with only 4, thus saving petrol & maintenance.

Yaar bhai, jo banda 12-cylinder ki gaari lai ga, voh petrol bhi daal hi lay ga na... kiya! :D

^^ Mal1k That is a post and a half. That should tell you something about the person and his ‘Jaib’. :slight_smile: . I have custom leather in my car from www.customleatherseats.com . A stick shift always have the upper hand in drag racing. 90% car’s used in drag racing are stick. My car only produces 210 HP. Factory is 190.

-Salman

^^ Tum kaunsi duniya main ho salman, havent u heard about tiptronic & steptronic. Formula 1 cars have the supreme technology in tiptronics. Top end supercars are coming out with tiptronic gears all the time. Stick shift is a thing of the past now.

210hp, that thing produces less hp than my prev Merc, u shud import the MEVI that u asked 2 yrz back from me, probably would boost ur Maxi. We get 230hp from the stock engines in our Maxi's. Dad had a stick shift, & I still remember doing 245kph on that babette.

Faisal if u ever get ur wife a Merc, make sure its a C class. Compact, yet beautiful & has all the features a lady would want. If u want performance & class, the 320 would be a safe choice.

P.S - Of course jo 12 cylinder khareedta hai, us ki jaib ka andaza hojata hai :)

Amma Yaar, Look what I wrote ’ Drag Racing’. A lexus or acura with their so called ‘Triptronic’ do not stand a chance when it comes to stick shift cars like Subaru Imprezza and stuff. Yes Trip tronics in pro- racing is a different racing you are talking about $500K. I am talking about less than $18K cars and especially ‘Drag Racing’ and NOT on PRO level. :crying:

And I thought this thread was about VW and the best car in the world (Volvo). :)

Volvo is amongst the safest car in the world...not the best car in the world