Visit Visa For a Single Woman

Is it difficult for a single/unmarried/never married young woman to get visit visa for any country? If so, any idea why? And do I have to get married if i want to travel?

I tried applying business visa to US a year back and it was rejected. Though i had an invitation letter from our head-quarters in Pasadena. My other colleagues (indians n married) got the visa and mine was rejected :bummer: The lady at the counter said, " Sorry you are personally not eligible for this visa." I said its not a PERSONAL trip, its a business trip. She said sorry she cannot help me more and if I want to appeal I can do so thru so and so way. She refused to talk further (she was quite rude). Anyway that made me really pissed off not only that I was refused the visa but how did my other colleagues visa got approved. not only approved but they got 10 yrs multiple entries visa stamped.

My business justification was a training course on Assets Management which was only and only offered by one institute IAITAM in US and no where else in the world. I did appealed to visa chief at embassy but that didnt help either.Thanks God IAITAM offered their online courses later and ultimately I had to do it online.

I am just wondering what was about me that made them reject my visa?

Second instance, I applied for Jordan visit visa and that was rejected too :bummer: reason was not told. I have decent (i mean not bad) amount of cash in my bank account. so financial status cant be a reason. I am just wondering is it my marital status or my nationality :frowning: thats making countries like Jordan (just imagine) reluctant to extend their visas to me.

Re: Visit Visa For a Single Woman

That’s because you could potentially fall in love and get married to one of their guys or hide in a theater behind the curtains :snooty:

^ I know that can be one of the reasons but that cannot be every single lady's intentions isnt? Like me I was not going for a personal visit, it was a business trip. 2ndly how dare they can stop me marrying my would be husband if he is supposingly in US or somewhere else outside Pakistan?

And does it mean that single ladies cannot travel of their own? They allow single boys to travel who can very likely marry some gal in foreign country for nationality sake.

I thought marriage is not happening for me, okay not big deal but why am i putting a stop on my life by keeping everything for after shadi. Shadi ho gi tou yeh karoon gi , woh karoon gi all that crap. So I thought its never too late, lets enjoy life without HIM. lets travel a bit and meet new ppl, see new places, take a break and see life is beautiful even without HIM. And now this nonesense is what i am facing from the embassies. :(

Maybe they saw your pic and they felt threatened cuz you're pretty :@:

it has nothing to do with female............ US treat Pakistan male and female alike .......

beside gulf countries have imposed restriction, though with certain exceptions, for the issuance of visit visa for a single (male and female both) like state of dubai and KSA.

niksik thanks :) may be next time i ll click a pic with mun kaala lol

Maverick, its not about only US. US policies have been always strict but what was Jordan's prob. I wish Pakistan ban visas on Jordanians too ameeeeeen.

btw is it possible that countries are reluctant to give us visas coz of pakistan's current political situation???

OK jokes aside, I think they don't like to give visas because singles have a greater chance of "slipping" into their country.

i think u need to see the things in boroder perspective................ actually due to the financial crises to some extent global economy have been squeezed. so the countries from the west and even gulf states are not welcoming the foreigner as they do in the past. further so called war on terror is another possible reason for prudent issuance of visa.
further u need to appreciate this fact that pakistani's (specially single irrespective of their gender) have got history of getting slipped in the western countries.

by the way aap shadi kar hi lain. if the embassies of the world want so............ lols. as per ahadith it is recommended that female should get married as soon as possible.

secondly, i wud suggest u to develop some personal relationship with the staff of leading traveling agencies. they have connections in embassies that may be instrument to get ur visa early.

^ I am not stopping my marrige. Its just not happening.

True about history of our great ppl who slipped in to these countries and accepted to live there illegally. Koi acha kaam nahin kiya kissi ne :(

Is it not good or more advisable for a country's economy to allow more tourist/visitors to their country. Coz tourist bring money, they spend on their travels, visas , stays, shopping etc.

Niksik yes not denying that fact. I have usually, acutally always heard, not to show any friends or relatives link in country you are intending to travel to when you are applying for visa. is that right? I have so many relatives ( Mamoon, cousins, sisters etc) in US, AUS, UK, living there with their famlies and they are nationals. I never showed any one's name/refrences while applying. Would it be not better If i mention those links then showing i am independent, going all alone and will be staying their in hotels?

FairyTale… Shadi kar lo na… sare problems hal ho jaing ga… aur ager hamari koi help chahye to dont hesitate… :blush:
hehehe…lol

:smack:.. yaar thats exactly whats she wud like magar kambakhat koi milta hi nehi:bummer:…;)**

Pls poppies don’t say that… “”“”““Deikh lo mur ke aik bar main hooon naaa””“”“” ;).

oh hun allah swt bohat barre hai .. and inshallah sabar ka pal meeta hota hai:bummer:..:cb:..;)**

Of course… Bhai hum se to kisi ki mushkil nai deikhy jaty..Aur mauqa ke nazakat deikhte hoove yahi kar sakte hain"“”“”“”“”“”“”“” :cb:

:cb::lifey:..:wink:

:lifey:

its surprising that Course on Asset Management is not offered anywhere in the world.. :hmmm:

or is it How do U takeover and manage assets in Muslim countries.. :confused:

Okay so my sis and her family are going to US in Nov. She thinks I should join them too and i want it too.

We will be going to Mamoon’s place. He and his family are citizens and has got strong bank balance n properties etc.

Sis n BIL have been to US before and BIL and their son are citizens. Sis is not yet.

NOw my questions is, if i apply for the visa,

Should I mention my mamoon’s place (which is going to be my place of stay obviously) in application form and show my relation with him or should I not show this info?

I am told by many that I should not show any relationships in US. i dont know why though. Coz i think if i declare my relationship with my mamoon, it should make my case more safe. coz i am not randomly going to any state and staying in any hotel but i have got a proper address in US which belongs to my real meternal uncle. right?

btw i was reading at a US based site, where they had some instructions regarding different kind of visas. For visit visas, they said following factors can be taken as negatively:

1- your age is between 18-30. ( thats me :frowning: )

2- You are single, not married. ( thats me again :halo: )

3- You are not earning very well. ( obviously not “Very Well” )

4- You are not applying for visa from your own country. ( Yes i dont live in Pak.)

5- You do not have strong family and financial ties in the country of your stay. ( i do have finacial ties like my job, my car, my apartment which is a rented one though, also my end of services amount which i can only have from my company if i properly resign, cancel my visa with them and not abscond. Family ties i dont have as such, since i m not married, except that i have my sister here and i love my nephew like my own son.)

Give me some tips or suggestion that can help me making my case strong. :-S